We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Add this to your to do list”

J.N. "Ding" Darling National Wildlife Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1945, this wildlife refuge occupies one-third of Sanibel Island and is a prime spot for birdwatching. Fees are required for Wildlife Drive. Wildlife Drive is closed on Fridays. There's an extensive and informative FREE visitor center, a fantastic wildlife drive, tram tours, kayaking, fishing opportunities, picnic benches, and even a free scavenger hunt style game and wildlife spotting app (Discover Ding) if you prefer a self-guided tour.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Add this to your to do list”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We visited late in the afternoon and took a slow drive through the refuge in our minivan (it cost $5), we stopped often along the way, got out to view the wildlife and take pictures. There were lots of birds, fish jumping, crabs in the mangroves, raccoons, and I think we might have saw a small alligator.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank originalkeithb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,093
    1,113
    388
    96
    38
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“ding darling”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

we did the scenic drive, only saw a couple of birds. Indoor exihib is informative. will return to do the kayak tour on our next visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank healinghands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“No luck this time”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

We went around noon in August a few hours before low tide. The birds and wildlife were nowhere to be found on this trip. The drive costs $5 and you can go as many times as you like in the same day. We were planning to do the drive again that evening but did not get the chance to go back. The education center and road were well maintained. Worth a visit and hopefully you'll have better luck.

Helpful?
Thank Mubbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barefoot Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Doing Great Work”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We took the tram tour of the refuge. Our guide was fun, knowledgeable and stopped often to look at flora and fauna. The gift shop/Refuge Center had something for anyone, and prices were reasonable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DanDrollinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theydon Bois, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wildlife may not be visible”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We visited here on an August afternoon walking the Indigo trail. We saw a couple of different birds but that was all. The actual trail is not particularly interesting. Later we drove the wildlife drive. We saw many more types of bird and a lot of fish jumping but again no reptiles or other animals. The $2 we spent on the walk was taken off the $5 for the drive so worked out good value

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cllr_John_Philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J.N. "Ding" Darling National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to J.N. "Ding" Darling National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing