We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice !”

J.N. "Ding" Darling National Wildlife Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1945, this wildlife refuge occupies one-third of Sanibel Island and is a prime spot for birdwatching. Fees are required for Wildlife Drive. Wildlife Drive is closed on Fridays. There's an extensive and informative FREE visitor center, a fantastic wildlife drive, tram tours, kayaking, fishing opportunities, picnic benches, and even a free scavenger hunt style game and wildlife spotting app (Discover Ding) if you prefer a self-guided tour.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice !”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We are not really into birds, but had a great time at this wildlife refuge. We picked up a brochure and toured on our own. Beautiful scenery ! Thoroughly enjoyed spotting birds and other animals there. Great value for 5$.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Srbk2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,125
    1,130
    391
    97
    38
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bikes & unspoiled beauty”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nice one-way road/trail through the refuge. You need to share the bumpy road w cars, but since it is one-way and wide, and folks are driving slowly, it's not a big deal. We saw lots of birds. A hit w kids and adults.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CCYtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bike and/or drive the Wildlife Drive”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Fantastic! Birds galore! Even saw a gator....be sure to look off the road any chance you get. Also, spend some time out of the car....walk/bike the other path....it's worth it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank halekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Ride through Ding Darling”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Just completed a great ride down the Indigo Trail and on out the Drive down by Bowman's Beach. Saw an osprey, a gang of cormorants and assorted other water birds. No gators or other reptiles on this trip...maybe later.

Helpful?
Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Closed on Fridays”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were very disappointed to find out that the only day that we were on Sanibel that the Darling refuge drive thru and trolley are closed on Fridays. Be sure to check before you plan your outing. We enjoyed the visitor center but we sad that we couldn't tour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J.N. "Ding" Darling National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to J.N. "Ding" Darling National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing