We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes great, sometimes nothing”

J.N. "Ding" Darling National Wildlife Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1945, this wildlife refuge occupies one-third of Sanibel Island and is a prime spot for birdwatching. Fees are required for Wildlife Drive. Wildlife Drive is closed on Fridays. There's an extensive and informative FREE visitor center, a fantastic wildlife drive, tram tours, kayaking, fishing opportunities, picnic benches, and even a free scavenger hunt style game and wildlife spotting app (Discover Ding) if you prefer a self-guided tour.
Captiva Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Sometimes great, sometimes nothing”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We have driven through Ding Darlings many times. If one is lucky, there will be roseate spoonbills, egrets, and even alligators. However, in recent years, Sanibel has been aggressive in removing alligators on the island, which is sad, as it is increasingly rare to ever see one.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Grayjay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,155
    1,142
    398
    99
    39
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Alright to waste some time”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We did the $5.00 car tour. It was fine... the best part was when we actually saw 2 alligators. We're from Canada so that was awesome.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lizzbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“You will probably see alligators”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We liked being (safely) upclose to alligators in the wild and the many, many birds. The trail trip should be made by car, not walking or bicycles as there are strips that are just mangrove after mangrove, and hot and not interesting.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Thekansaspyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Lots of birds, saw 2 alligators, racoon. Nice afernoon ride while checking out the area.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank fourcruisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McFarland, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must do on Sanibel”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We had a great time doing the 4 mile drive ($5 per vehicle). We saw a ton of birds and an alligator sun bathing on the side of the road (that was a huge hit with the kids!). Would love to return when the kids are older and we can do the bike tour.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Massamule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J.N. "Ding" Darling National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to J.N. "Ding" Darling National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing