We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful area to bike through”
Review of Periwinkle Way

Periwinkle Way
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The main street running through Sanibel Island is lined with shops, boutiques, galleries and cafes.
Honesdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A wonderful area to bike through”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

This is a must see area for anyone visiting Sanibel. There is a bike path going through the entire area. There are many interesting shops and eateries on both sides of Pariwinkle Way that just beckon to be explores.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SRPFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    194
    77
    29
    17
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The 'HEART' of Sanibel Island”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

My family and I have vacationed on Sanibel Island since 1998. Other than the beaches, we spend most of our time on Periwinkle Way. Periwinkle Way is the HEART of Sanibel Island. Here is located most of the restaurants, shops, and sites. My family and I enjoy biking from one end of island to the other, most of which is transversed via Periwinkle Way. So, whether on foot, on bikes, or in your car, you'll find a lot to do, see, and memories to make on Periwinkle Way.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank mattmunyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“No stoplights!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

It can be difficult taking a left onto Periwinkle. Just take your time and wait your turn and all is well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice and Unique”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

As Sanibel has almost no chain businesses (only exceptions are a DQ, 7/11 and Holiday Inn, everything is one of a kind. The shops and restaurants are all privately owned and this is part of the charm of Sanibel.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Stop in at Periwinkle place”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Lots of shopping. Bought a puzzle at Toys Ahoy that shows all of the Sanibel/Captiva and all of the resorts, restaurants. Pleasant reminder of a wonderful trip

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Therese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Periwinkle Way also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Periwinkle Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing