We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach”

Sanibel Island Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This lighthouse, built in 1884, offers a storied history, unusual architecture and quiet spots for romantic interludes.
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Nice beach, nice pier, nice sites of lighthouse, small fee to park, has restrooms available, typically plenty of shells for shelling. Great location, would def go back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    841
    665
    429
    115
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wow.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great location in east end. Look up for the osprey nest. Cool fishing pier. Pay to park. You can walk the gulf for miles. Dolphins are often seen.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brookie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice beach for shelling”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We found plenty of unique shells on this beach. Though the sand is mostly broken shells which are troublesome to get out of your suit. There are several parking lots that access this beach so if you do not find parking in the first lot, drive around a bit. Parking was $2/hour and there was a bathhouse close by which was clean. I recommend rinsing off here so as to get rid of some of the shells which get all over your skin and clothing. As we were driving home in the 45 minute traffic jam we all broke out in laughter as one of my sons declared, "Oh no, I have a shell in my pants!" We did see a dolphin in the water and several birds. There was also a jet ski sinking in the water which another boat towed in to shore and many people including my husband went to help them get the water out of the engine. There was also a wedding taking place on the beach. The best part was the weather!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamaweb5ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A Must Visit”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The lighthouse overlooks a beautiful beach. Great place to visit to catch a sunrise and sunset. Make sure you look for shells. There is no fee to visit the lighthouse, but you do have to pay for parking.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank P F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Working lighthouse, wonderful beach!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

PUt your chairs in the sand very close to the parking lot which is hidden from view…gaze up at the super cool old lighthouse that is still going strong and then look for shells…doesn't get any better.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank clairann2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanibel Island Lighthouse also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sanibel Island Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing