We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So. Much. Goodness.”

Pinocchio's Original Italian Ice Cream
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Description: A Sanibel tradition since 1980,Pinocchio's is a landmark for islanders and visitors alike. All ice cream, frozen yogurt, gelato, custard, sorbet and sorbetto is made fresh daily in "Pinocchio's Lab" on premises from the finest & freshest ingredients. Family owned and operated, we serve 37 flavors of our 130+ repertoire daily. 10 Time Winner BEST of the ISLANDS BEST ICE CREAM including 2014, '14 BEST GELATO and '14 BEST FROZEN YOGURT, Nat'l Geographics Top 10 Best Ice Creams in Gulf Coast America and many more accolades from events, organizations and local food critics. We appreciate our Customers and consider Customer Satisfaction carefully. To our new Customers, Thank You for Coming In and Trying Our Signature Ice Creams. To our returning Customers, Welcome Home. Gustare! The Puma Family
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So. Much. Goodness.”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

What else can you say? Good ice cream and lots of it. Sat outside, ate our ice cream, and watched people drive up and walk in, non-stop business for this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,266
    412
    182
    40
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mason, OH
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Given the long line to get in, I expected better”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

First impression is walking into a cattle herd, with no organization, no line, we had several people who obviously had been before cut in front of us prior to figuring out the "line". It would help if they had the ice cream flavors listed somewhere other than ONLY in the freezers, so the entire family needs to wait inside a tiny cramped area to wait their turn and then be forced to make a "quick" decision on what they want because they know there are 20 families behind them waiting... So the experience was blah... but the ice cream was even more blah... I find it hard to screw up ice cream, but really the generic ice cream we buy at the grocery has more flavor than what we ordered. Not one of the six of us said, that was really good or let's go back and try that again. My oldest went with her favorite of birthday cake ice cream, she tasted it and said this tastes like lemon, I tried it and agreed that it did (not sure if they used a scooper without cleaning it or if the flavor is that off). When I asked them if it was lemon flavored cake batter, they got defensive and said no and that we should have asked for a sample first... they did give her another flavor that was better, but were very rude about it. My mango sorbet tasted nothing like sorbet and nothing like mango, it was an overly sweet imitation flavor. My husband tried the tiramisu gelato, which again was not very flavorful and really didn't taste like either tiramisu or the consistency of gelato. I love gelato and was planning to order that, but they have like 4 flavors of it, hard to advertise themselves as having a variety of gelato... The only thing I can say positive is that they have huge portions, the kiddie size were plenty big for 9 and 6 year olds, otherwise I recommend picking up a carton of ice cream at Jerry's and eating it on the beach...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank carrie9678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wemyss Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Plus the great Gepetto's Beach Foodies on the same premises”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a great place to get lunch. Fresh baked bread and plenty fillings, pastries; everything you would want. Even has breakfast stuff for the early birds. Well Worth a visit if you are in the neighbourhood and with all the benefits of ice cream from Pinocchio's for desert, what more could you want.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 837DavidD837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Tasteless”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Three of us had small cups of ice cream here and there were totally tasteless. The staff was very friendly but the ice cream was not at all creamy like ice cream should be and lacked any kind of flavor. I'd recommend Rosie's in a flash. I had three flavors and they were all outstanding. My two friends loved theirs too

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BelmarGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum! Can't Miss!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A wonderful selection of flavors! We went with basic milkshakes, but they were fantastic. Make sure to stop here!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlaireLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinocchio's Original Italian Ice Cream also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pinocchio's Original Italian Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing