We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sanibel Island
Post
Inbox
Search

“Good Eats”

Dante's Coal Fired Pizza
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Description: To sell delicious and remarkable food and drinks. That the food and drink we sell meets the highest standards of quality, freshness and seasonality and combines both modern-creative and traditional Italian styles of cooking. To consistently provide our customers with impeccable service by demonstrating warmth, graciousness, efficiency, knowledge, professionalism and integrity in our work. To have every customer who comes through our doors leave impressed by Dante’s and excited to come back again. To create and maintain a restaurant that is comprehensive and exceptional in its attention to every detail of operation. To provide all who work with us a friendly, cooperative and rewarding environment which encourages long- term, satisfying, growth employment. To keep our concept fresh, exciting and on the cutting edge of the hospitality and entertainment industry.
Restaurant details
Description: To sell delicious and remarkable food and drinks. That the food and drink we sell meets the highest standards of quality, freshness and seasonality and combines both modern-creative and traditional Italian styles of cooking. To consistently provide our customers with impeccable service by demonstrating warmth, graciousness, efficiency, knowledge, professionalism and integrity in our work. To have every customer who comes through our doors leave impressed by Dante’s and excited to come back again. To create and maintain a restaurant that is comprehensive and exceptional in its attention to every detail of operation. To provide all who work with us a friendly, cooperative and rewarding environment which encourages long- term, satisfying, growth employment. To keep our concept fresh, exciting and on the cutting edge of the hospitality and entertainment industry.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Best breakfast on the Island (and we've tried them all) - Garden Omelette is tops! Vegetable coal fired pizza is loaded with fresh vegetables and the buffalo wings are juicy - don't need any sauce (take out is great)!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travel148195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful restaurant. Service...I really do not even know where to start. Sweet tea and the opposite...non sweet tea seemed to be a real curve ball for our wait staff...Three orders of ribs and spinach salad...all delicious...also seemed to bring difficulty with not only the order and to whom it should go to. Two people in our party got their order with the other couple wishing for just a cracker or a piece of bread. EVENTUALLY...it was time to bring in SOMEONE to help. Management...and magically the rest of the order was delivered with the attitude of the waitress improving significantly. When it was time for checks...we initially requested checks for 2 and 2... this too proved to be nearly impossible. Things were wrong...again I go back to...there just are no words. This was a Sunday evening...no crowds. We never got angry or upset and remained calm and polite.
As things progessively snow balled this entire experience into a comedy. We had to laugh. Guess what...they comped the iced teas...but...trying to split the bill cost the couple with us an additional $2...no big deal, but again...WOW!!! How did you people even find your way to work??? This place needs an improvement also of their menu choices, sides, etc. There are NO sides except fries.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank nancyelainep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff has not a clue what they are doing. Took the waitress three times to get drinks for four people, 3 sweet teas, 1 unsweetened tea. Brought the food for two of the party but nothing for the other two. Order was for 3 ribs dinners, 1 salad. Got salad and one rib dinner. Buy the way, nothing on the menu tells you what comes with the ribs. Had to ask and all they have is french fries. The salad come with nothing either, no crackers or bread. After a time I asked the waitress where the rest of the food was. She goes to check, comes back and tells us someone stated they were delivered and we are sitting there with nothing in front of us. I get up, go to hostess stand and ask for manager. Not sure who arrived but she asked what the problem was. I explained the issue and we finally got our food. Note, the two others In our party had finished their meals by now. When bill came it was one even though from the start I had asked the waitress for two separate bills. She agreed. I asked he bill to be separated. At least three different people attempted what must have been a very difficult task because when they brought the two bills they were identical and wrong. We paid what was shown given prior efforts to get anything right and left never to return.
Another interesting aside, the waitress kept bringing empty plates to our table and stacking them. At the end we had eight plates. We had no need of them. Also, tea refills were also at a premium.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nashvillebeerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Horrible service and food. Since it took so long for our food to arrive, another server told us our server was "messed up" and they were scrambling to serve us. Our bill was cut in half, which was kind, but the food was horrible. We had gone last year and wanted to try again. Other diners were irritated and couldn't believe the service and food. It's a shame because The Sanibel Inn is an excellent place to stay.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank nancyw691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The pizza was outstanding. The sauce was perfect. Neither too acidic nor too sweet. Same with their pasta sauce. Good service for the dinner crowd. Breakfast there was good but there was only one server to cover the entire place. This woman literally ran between the kitchen and table. I wish I knew her name but she did a great job under the circumstances. That is a management problem.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Begin325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante's Coal Fired Pizza also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dante's Coal Fired Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing