We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach front fun for the family”
Review of Sunset Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Beach Inn
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

As a returing guest, I had an idea of what to expect. Upon walking into the reservation area, I was pleasantly greeted. I was given detailed information about all of the included amenities - pool, tennis courts, shuffleboard, bikes, beach umbrellas and lounge chairs. The newly remodeled room was the exact beach feel we were looking for - the pops of yellow made the room very warm and comfortable. The staff was great. Kim in the reservation area was always pleasant and full of information not only about the resort but also about what to do on Sanibel /Captiva. Alain the groundskeeper was available to help with anything in the room from changing a lightbulb to resetting the safe.

This is a place to getaway from all of the hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: An upgrade to the garden view is well worth. These same rooms also offer a view of the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 719 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this property. From the minute you check in you are greeted by a friendly staff. The hotel room was very large and had an efficiency kitchen. Compared to most hotels on the island, this hotel was very updated, clean and offered everything you needed. The only complaint I had was the air conditioning. The unit couldn't keep up with the amount of cold air we wanted. Even with the air, I would stay at this property again. The property is right on the beach and the hotel has the biggest pool on the island. Thank you for making our stay a great one!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dlabrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Sunset Beach Inn exceeded my expectations. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out nothing but outstanding friendly service. The room had a full kitchen a private blacony plenty of towels and they were not stingy with the shampoos and soaps. The kitchen even supplied coffee as well as dish soap. I have stayed at alot of similar beach rentals and this is not always the case. Pool was wonderful always clean with plenty of seating. But best yet was the Inn supplies beach umbrellas with lounge chairs on the beach each day for their guests for free! There is no resort fee either. We enjoyed the continental breakfast it made an easy start to our days. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Betsy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here for just one night. Greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. Free bikes were great for exploring, very enjoyable experience. The beach side location was very handy, however there are nicer beaches on the island which are not to be missed. All in all this was a lovely place to stay and i would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliviam471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We came a Ross this resort by complete chance but were very impressed.
The staff were very helpful and the rooms were beautifully presented with good sea views.
There was direct access to the beach and it had lovely kept pool area.
There is plenty of choice for good places to eat and visit locally within short distance.
I would highly recommend this to anyone who who is looking for a relaxing break on Sanibel.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room and the staff will do what they can to find you a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

it was our first time staying on sanibel island, and maybe our last. we were so bit up by those no see ums, sand fleas, we could not enjoy ourselves. i had over 200 bites. we tried skin so soft, bug spray, benadryl ointment and pill form. the two bedroom, two bath was clean and comfortable for three adults and 2 children. the pool was clean. just steps from gulf of mexico. i would stay at sunset beach inn again if i knew i would not get bit by those no see ums.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tammy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Sunset Beach Inn is our favorite place to stay on Sanibel. Holly, Kim and all the staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. The location on West Gulf Drive is perfect for shelling or just relaxing on the beach. It is close to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grill when you are ready for great food and drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
3.4 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
291 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,389 reviews
4.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 20 in Sanibel Island
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 20 in Sanibel Island
707 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Inn

Address: 3287 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $161 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Beach Inn includes forty-six guestrooms and suites nestled on 4.5 acres of tropical Sanibel Island. Our 360 feet of beach along the Gulf of Mexico offers beautiful shells, tranquil sunsets and pristine sand. Relax by the pool with the Gulf of Mexico across the horizon.Each morning prepare for an activity filled day with a complimentary Continental breakfast, with an assortment of fresh fruit and breakfast breads. Play a set of tennis or ride a complimentary bicycle and explore the 23 miles of bike paths throughout Sanibel Island. Play a friendly game of volleyball with the beach just within view. Two shuffleboard courts await a challenging game near the picnic area. The resort offers two gas grills and picnic tables-perfect for a family dinner out under the graceful palms. Whether relaxation or fun filled activities are in your vacation plans, The Sunset Beach Inn provides the perfect beach getaway for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Sunset Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Sunset Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing