We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway”
Review of Sunset Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Beach Inn
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Spent anniversary weekend there. Nice hotel. It's not luxury but still nice place to stay. Staff is extremely friendly. Every staff member I passed had a smile and said hello. Continental breakfast is offered. Worth staying.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ceciliaW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you so much for your positive and candid review! We do take great pride in our service and our teams have a sincere love for people. Please know that your comments will not only be shared but celebrated with our team. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 727 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

Thank goodness I'm coming back in July! I got super lucky, my room was on the 2nd floor 1 room from the beach. Great view of the pool and the beach. Super clean room, had dishes, silverware, coffee maker, fridge, microwave, oven and stove. DVD player. The grounds were clean and quiet. Chairs and umbrellas on the beach. We "borrowed" bikes and rode further west on W Gulf to catch another great sunset. (I am admittedly "over the top" OCD so check out my "makeover" to the bike rack!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gidget911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you so much Gidget911 not only for your amazing review but for our bike rack makeover! We are so glad that you not only enjoyed your visit with us but that you'll be returning to see us soon. We'll be sure to take great care of the bikes for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel is a bit dated, but our room was acceptable and clean. We were not in the room very much, except for sleeping. It was quiet and we had no problems.Good location and we were able to get a good price. The pool was kept very clean and there were places for shell washing made available to us.

Room Tip: Don't expect Hilton type rooms... this is a Florida hotel on the water and with a great beach ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneheart58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you oneheart58 for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, found great value in our property, and took the time to share it with others. We do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We really liked this place a lot. We paid 84 a night and they upgraded our room to one with a garden view. The room was large, quite clean and had a full sized fridge, stove pots & pans, dishes, utensils a coffee maker, filters, salt & pepper. The beds were large and comfortable. The best thing about this place is the location as is it is right on the beach and there are a ton of shells here. The second best thing is the pool which is large with ocean views. We also really liked that we were able to do laundry. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are a few basement rooms that look awful. Cinder block and 1/2 underground. I would book a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdllives1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night (a Friday to Saturday) and I was very pleased. We were actually upgraded to the one bedroom suite (though we didn't need all that room) and the suite was really nice. It had a full kitchen (stove w/ oven, toaster, microwave, full size refrigerator, 12 cup coffee maker) and it had basic eating and cooking utensils and pots and pans. There was a sitting area with tv, a roomy one bedroom with king bed and tv, and of course the bathroom. I don't know how many of these types of rooms they have, but ours was right above the office. The only downfall is that there is really no "nice" view from this room. Nice meaning like beach, gardens, pool, etc. We were fine with that though. An FYI: This Inn sits just about perpendicular to the beach, not parallel with it. So though some rooms may have somewhat of a beach view, only the rooms on the very end have a direct beach view. My choice of this particular Inn (hotel) was based on location - as it was right on the beach, price, and that it included a continental breakfast. I was wondering how the continental breakfast was going to be because of some of the reviews I read, but the breakfast was very nice and sufficient. There were danishes, two kinds of bagels, cream cheese, fruits, donuts, cereal (there may have been other things that I don't remember), milk, juice, and coffee - oh, and flavored creamers :o). The large pool was nice as well. Oh yeah, they also have bikes for their guests to use (free of charge) which is also a plus. I'm not sure if they are for beach riding, but you can ride them around the island. We didn't get a chance to use the bikes, but definitely would have if we had stayed another night. Overall, great place and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gottagocampin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We decided to go to Sanibel for Memorial Day Weekend on the Tuesday before, so this hotel was one of the few options available. I have been to Sanibel half a dozen times, so I was happy to see that this hotel is located on West Gulf Drive, as we like the quiet west side of the island better than the east side. We usually stay right by the bridge over to Captiva, and have actually never driven down to this part. We were very pleased with the quietness and lack of commercial development (besides hotels and condos). Also we were a quick ride to Bailey's (for all of our groceries and sundries) and to Tarpon Bay, and also to our favorite restaurant, the Lazy Flamingo (the one near Captiva). Also very close to Doc Fords, which is another one of our faves on the island for dining.
The room has been updated recently, very clean and comfortable. The two double queens were fine, and we liked having a full kitchen. As we have young kids we usually prefer to have our own bedroom (we try to get one room suites), but although not available on short notice, we were totally fine with the room arrangements. Also we had a lovely screened in balcony overlooking the pool.
The pool was large and clean, and we used it often. I even taught the kids how to play shuffleboard. We didn't use the tennis court or the kayaks or bikes, but they are all available for free.
The hotel puts out chairs and umbrellas on their beach front each morning. We loved our slice of beach! It was clean, the water was clean, there were lots of shells (which we spent a couple of hours searching thru), and it was uncrowded. We got great sunrises and sunsets on the beach as well. The staff was both efficient and friendly, and the continental breakfast buffet served all of our needs (hot chocolate/tea/coffee/juices/milk/yogurt/fresh fruit/bagels/donuts/pastries/cereal, and more).
We would certainly stay here again, though we will look at other options for the next time. But if your experience is close to ours, we think you will be very pleased with the Sunset Beach Inn.

Room Tip: I liked the view from the second floor. If possible, ask for the room that is at the very end by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank xxxtripguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonia S, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I'm happy to see that you and your family enjoyed your time and the great amenities we have to offer.

We look forward to your return.
With warm regards,

Anthonia Smith
General Manager
Sunset Beach Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The property looks nothing like the promotional pictures. There has clearly been little to no upkeep or maintenance of the rooms for years. Previous paint colors show through the paint on the walls. Several joints of caulk were missing in the bathroom. Molding was incomplete. The curtains covered the air conditioner and prevented it from working well when they were closed. An electrical panel was uncovered and accessible on the wall in our room. The room had only one small mirror in the bathroom which made getting ready difficult. A visit to the front desk found either no employees or the employees searching for other jobs. The breakfast was store-bought mini donuts and cereal. Location right on the beach was the highlight and single redeeming quality of stay here. We wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid basement rooms at all costs. Get a suite on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanne60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonia S, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I'm embarrassed and dissappointed to read of your arrival experience and understand how that would impact your experience. Please email me at asmith2@southseas.com so we can discuss your stay further.

With warm regards,

Anthonia Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
3.4 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
3 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,448 reviews
4.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,964 reviews
4 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Inn

Address: 3287 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $163 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Beach Inn includes forty-six guestrooms and suites nestled on 4.5 acres of tropical Sanibel Island. Our 360 feet of beach along the Gulf of Mexico offers beautiful shells, tranquil sunsets and pristine sand. Relax by the pool with the Gulf of Mexico across the horizon.Each morning prepare for an activity filled day with a complimentary Continental breakfast, with an assortment of fresh fruit and breakfast breads. Play a set of tennis or ride a complimentary bicycle and explore the 23 miles of bike paths throughout Sanibel Island. Play a friendly game of volleyball with the beach just within view. Two shuffleboard courts await a challenging game near the picnic area. The resort offers two gas grills and picnic tables-perfect for a family dinner out under the graceful palms. Whether relaxation or fun filled activities are in your vacation plans, The Sunset Beach Inn provides the perfect beach getaway for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Sunset Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing