We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Beach Inn”
Review of Sunset Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Beach Inn
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

First the bad news, hurricane Wendy has wiped the entire beach in front of the hotel. The good news is you have great views of the nighty sunset over the gulf. The room was very large and clean. It had a nice living area with a large kitchen and nice dining room table. Also there were two screened in porches to relax on. The outside is in need of a remodel but it's ok for an older property, and it has a large swimming pool. I would go back again if and when the beach comes back

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rbrown59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 727 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Since we lost our original reservations due to Hurricane Sandy, we had to split lodging this week. The Sunset Beach Inn was our destination for the last two nights. The room we had #200 is the size of an apartment with a separate bedroom and full kitchen. There is a lovely screened in porch. The property is nice with a large pool. Each morning they serve a continental breakfast in the front office. There are laundry facilities and decent free wifi. The facility is very quiet and when we returned from dinner at 10pm, it appeared that everyone was already sleeping. My only complaint is that no one told us that the beach washed away recently and there is no beach or beach access.

Room Tip: They have a few beach front rooms but all seem to have some beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjerzelady_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I am shocked to read all of these positive reviews...?? The location is wonderful although we never ventured out to the pool, tennis courts, or the beach as we were joining family at another upscale resort and only using this as a place to sleep. It appears our room had an attempt at a minor face lift...the bed was very soft but comfortable, linen nice, bath towels nice, large room, but everything else was rather old and out dated. The granite counters were truly just a top placed on top of old cabinetry and the bathroom sink was reinforced by unpainted plywood support pieces.The furniture and lighting looked like it was at least 30+ years old. Although it appeared clean my sandals were on my feet the entire time. The sliding glass doors were missing the locking Hardware on one side so your room was not secure. Thankfully there was an in room safe and anything else of value I took with me during the day. The staff appeared attentive, most notably the housekeeping ladies. HOWEVER, neither my husband nor myself could get past the overwhelming dank, mildew smell. We did not notice any mildew or water damage but from the minute we entered the room we were coughing and it made my chest hurt. The second night I sprayed the bed and pillows with perfume to make it bearable. We would never consider staying there again. Nor recommend it to anyone. We live in a beach community about 2 hours away and are aware of the humidity but I cannot understand how a family could stay and enjoy this resort for a week...???? Based on the website and the mostly glowing reviews, we were greatly disappointed the minute we opened the door to our room. We stayed in room 102.

Room Tip: The smell in #102 was overwhelming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Copendane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hotel guests beware! If you plan to leave the premises and return after 10pm on a Friday night you run the risk of being berated by the night auditor acting as hotel security. We were in town for a wedding and the resort where the wedding was taking place was booked. We choose Sunset Beach because it was close by and received good reviews. Each employee we encountered was beyond accommodating and made us feel right at home.

Friday night (our second night at Sunset Beach) we traveled to the other hotel for the rehearsal dinner, upon returning to Sunset Beach we were startled by a man aggressively accusing us of not being hotel guests as we entered the parking lot. This was an alarming way to be greeted back at your hotel where you are a guest. The man was insistent on contacting the authorities though we had our room keys in hand and looking back we should have let him. Where I come from two women in cocktail attire don't typically pose a threat to society. The harassment continued as we made our way to the front desk to "prove" we were paying guests. The man yelled, threw things, and charged at us as we decided to remove ourselves from the situation and retire back to our room. To his benefit Sunset Beach does not have surveillance on the premises, it would be my recommendation to the establishment to invest in something that will ensure your guests safety from your explosive night auditor. As a business owner myself I would never wish this experience on any of my customers let alone a stranger. If you plan enjoy what Sunset Beach has to offer I would advise booking your travel for a Saturday to Thursday stay and you will have a delightful experience.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank AT L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This review is a bit overdue. My family (including 2 teens) stayed here this past July, and overall this hotel is a great value for the money. We stayed in a beach-front corner unit that had 2 screened-in porches, and the room was nicely decorated and very functional. And, the location is outstanding! However, housekeeping was slow and spotty, beach towels were kind of "icky" and small (wished I had brought my own), and the beach chairs were in poor shape. Don't count on the continental breakfast unless you're OK with sad looking bagels being served in the office/reception area. So, if you're the kind of traveler who needs quality amenities, this isn't the place for you - and this is why I can only give it 3 stars. But if you want a clean, nice room in a fabulous location for a good price, you can't do much better than this.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nodice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

A lovely quiet,relaxing hotel. Complementary breakfast was basic, but welcome. Rooms were clean and spacious. Sunbeds around the pool are plenty but some have seen better days as the beds on the beach provided by the hotel. It was still lovely and would love to return.

Room Tip: Better view if you go first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We took our kids here for a one night stay on the beach. The rooms are nice and well kept. Beds were comfortable, and it was nice having a kitchenette and table in the room. There's also a screened in porch which was great. Access to the beach is a 2 minute walk, and it's not crowded like some touristy places which makes it a nice relaxing time. They have free chairs and umbrellas, access to bikes which you simply sign out at no charge and free breakfast with coffee, cereal and danishes. Shelling is some of the best activities with the kids.

Room Tip: Higher rooms to the back give you an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoreyMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
3.4 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
3 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,453 reviews
4.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,965 reviews
4 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Inn

Address: 3287 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $163 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Beach Inn includes forty-six guestrooms and suites nestled on 4.5 acres of tropical Sanibel Island. Our 360 feet of beach along the Gulf of Mexico offers beautiful shells, tranquil sunsets and pristine sand. Relax by the pool with the Gulf of Mexico across the horizon.Each morning prepare for an activity filled day with a complimentary Continental breakfast, with an assortment of fresh fruit and breakfast breads. Play a set of tennis or ride a complimentary bicycle and explore the 23 miles of bike paths throughout Sanibel Island. Play a friendly game of volleyball with the beach just within view. Two shuffleboard courts await a challenging game near the picnic area. The resort offers two gas grills and picnic tables-perfect for a family dinner out under the graceful palms. Whether relaxation or fun filled activities are in your vacation plans, The Sunset Beach Inn provides the perfect beach getaway for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Sunset Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing