We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views in unit 607”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We've been going to Sanibel Siesta for over 25 years- it is home away from home. Unit 607 has a perfect view - directly on the beach. Most units on Sanibel were not built this close to the beach so the view is either obstructed or far away. Not this unit! So close you can hear the waves- very relaxing especially as you are having your morning coffee or a drink at night. The unit is nicely decorated and I can watch the kids play on the beach from the screened porch. Rent bikes, go shelling, walk the beach, rent a boat, go to the habitats, pool is great, play tennis- never a lack of things to do. Highly recommend it for families or friends.

Room Tip: would suggest unit 607- it is directly on beach, on the third floor so a little more private as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 389 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went on a family trip and we had a wonderful time. The property is very well maintained. The condo was very clean, neat and had everything and anything needed. The staff is nice and polite. The pool was clean and relaxing. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The property is located in front of the beach and close to many restaurants. We look forwarding to returning soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for our first visit to Sanibel Island. The staff are very helpful and friendly & there to help in any way. Thank you Sarah for answering our many questions!! Our only glitch with the condo and it was a VERY small glitch was that we could not park in our garage due to the size of our SUV. That, of course, is no fault of Sanibel Siesta. The condo was very well stocked, clean and no matter which one you choose, they are all close to the beach. Friends of ours also rented a condo at the same time and they loved theirs as well. It is soooooo peaceful there. We just returned home and are already talking about a return trip! It may be a little louder during peak season, but I doubt it is too loud. Sanibel Siesta is very well located to shops and dining, if you choose to leave the resort. I would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Buildings 5 & 6 are closest to the beach but all are within a very short walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Sanibel Siesta is a great place by the beach. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Nice added feature with the BBQ's, shuffle board and tennis courts.
Accommodations are great. Perfect place for families. No worries about beach accessories as the unit comes equipped with chairs and umbrella etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPM575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We found our 2 bedroom condo to be exceptionally clean and well stocked with linens, towels, kitchen needs, etc.
An added bonus was the enclosed garage.
The property was well located within a short drive to many restaurants and only a very short walk to the beach.
We enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: No elevator needed for one flight up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Clean, Close and Convenient

First, Unit 603. The current owners recently (around 2011) purchased and completely renovated this unit and it far exceeded our rental expectation. It was very clean and everything relatively new. Although we were leery of the bright living room fabrics in the online pictures, once actually there we loved the furniture. The newly laid tile work throughout the floor plan and balcony was luxurious, beautiful and easy maintenance. The kitchen had all new appliances, the bathrooms completely renovated, and the decor with beach-themed wall decorations made the stay "beachy" that much more pleasurable. The owners put a lot of well-spent money and taste into decorating this unit.

Close. 603 is the top unit of two, there is an elevator, and only 1 condo unit away from beachfront. Although our views from the balcony and entry door gave ample ocean views, we did not have to pay a premium for ocean front end-unit. We were able to walk 15 feet on the upper walkway, down about 10 steps, and we could touch sand. A short 50-foot walk across a small dune of sea grass and we were on the beach. And the views! Amazing warm gulf beach and water so close. The large warm salt-water (uses saline instead of chlorine for water purification) is at the other end of the complex, but even so is only a 60-second walk. Beware and this is over the period of a whole week, we did see one small (12") black rat snake sunning himself on the path while walking to the pool (it quickly went into the bushes).

Convenient. Sanibel Siesta is literally 4 minutes from the causeway and less than that to several of the best restaurants and shops. The Dairy Queen is a 60-second drive, or a good 15 minute walk away. It is convenient to all of the stores on Periwinkle, but far enough away that you don't have the noise of the traffic.

Pros: Close, Clean and Convenient and Quiet
Cons: A minor inconvenience was the amount of beach traffic from the Holiday Inn right next door, but even that was easily overlooked once your toes hit the sand and water. Although each unit provides a beach umbrella and chairs, all were quite aged, rusted, and one chair broken/dangerous. Although pay washer/dryer on grounds, none in the units.

Room Tip: Be aware there are three levels but with a garage on the ground level, a unit above on the second le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EastCoastTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed 6 night in the Condo. The location is just perfect and the pool we liked a lot. As we are earlybirds we did not like the fact, that the pool ist only accessible after 9am. The infrastructure in the condos is OK, spacious rooms and good air conditioning, but especially dishes and cutlery are old and of lesser quality. The free WiFi access ist useless, a lot of interupts and a very very slow connection.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanibel2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,550 reviews
0 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
328 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,061 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanibel Moorings Resort
Sanibel Moorings Resort
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
795 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Siesta on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Siesta on the Beach

Address: 1246 Fulgur St, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $235 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel Siesta, located on world famous Sanibel Island in the Gulf of Mexico, is a crown jewel along the coast of Southwest Florida. Our seaside resort offers a private gulf front location featuring 2 bedroom/2 bath accommodations with spacious living rooms, dining areas, fully equipped kitchens, cable TV, free wifi and a large screened lanai --- the ultimate in vacation rental condominiums! Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and sugar white beaches, Sanibel Siesta offers a heated pool, tennis courts, shuffleboard and outdoor gas grills. A challenging golf course is nearby. You'll enjoy friend neighbors and a quiet charm at our island resort! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sanibel Siesta Condominiums Hotel Sanibel Island
Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Siesta Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing