We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel at luxury prices”
Review of Seaside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seaside Inn
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2009

When we checked into the Seaside Inn the man behind the counter was VERY helpful. We let him know it was our first time at the island and he gave us a map and recommended some places for us to visit. He also told us about the complimentary bikes the hotel allows guest to use, which we then used the rest of the time we stayed there. Very convenient.

But to be honest, at $300/night (with taxes), I expected a bit more of the Seaside Inn. The room was clean, but smallish with two full-size beds (though I requested one king). The "kitchenette" with sink, mini-fridge and dishes were nice, but very small. It was just my DH and me, and I cannot imagine staying in this room with two other people. There would be no room for suitcases and clothes and whatnot. The room was that small. Oh, and the phone didn't work. We told the people at the front counter but nothing was done to repair it. (We didn't really care, as we use our cell phones.)

But what a location. It's situated right on the beach and you can see the water of the Gulf of Mexico from virtually any room's balcony. This balcony also overlooked a (small!) pool and another set of units, which in my mind looked like trailer homes that the Seaside also owns. (My husband told me they're not trailer homes but "manufactured homes." Whatever. I didn't expect the view from my room to include trailer homes or whatever for $300/night.) And the pool? Well, if you're up early enough you just might get a lounge chair. People were getting up and staking out their chairs with towels early in the morning, planning to return 5-7 hours later to actually use the chairs. Irritating? You bet. You'd think the employees would say something to these people. But no. I got the impression this was standard practice.

Also, the free wi-fi is spotty, at best. It's just slow enough to be irritating, and I was constantly losing the signal. My husband's laptop had the same problem.

Everything in Sanibel is pricey, so maybe I'm expecting too much from the Seaside Inn for $300/night. All I know is I don't plan to go back to either the hotel or the island. It's too much money for what you get, IMO.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charky1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 715 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2009

We were charged in excess of $400 per night, and couldn't even get a decent beach chair or towel to sit on. The pool is about the size you might find in someone's back yard. The "breakfast basket" consists of stale sara lee bagels, bruised apples, oranges, folgers, and small containers of peach yogurt ... blah.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rooedawakening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

We stayed two nights. A nice hotel, clean and pretty, pleasant staff, right on the beach! What more could you want? Breakfast basket is fun if you like bagels and cream cheese.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

My husband and I were looking for a quaint beachside inn and found it at the Seaside Inn. The staff was wonderful and the view off the beachside room was fantastic. The beach was great for long walks and not at all crowded.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbwp9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

This was our first time visiting Sanibel Island and it certainly will not be our last. My husband and I were extremely pleased with our accommodations at The Seaside inn with its welcoming and comfortable rooms and incredible views of the beautiful white sand beach and the Caribbean blue/greens of the Gulf of Mexico right outside our door!
The service was first-class including fresh fruit, chilled water and snacks left in our room daily as well as the other amenities in the room such as the luxurious spa quality linens and towels.
The staff was very helpful in providing information regarding local activities and settling us on the beach with towels, setting up our beach chairs and providing us with umbrellas.
Although we were only able to stay for two days, the Inn allowed us to forget about the world and to be totally indulged!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank novdogsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

We needed an escape from the chilly north and winter.
Have stayed on Sanibel several times before. Based on trip advisor ratings - this time we picked the Seaside Inn. We had a wonderful time. The property, though not big and new, is beautifully maintained. Lovely grounds, attractive rooms all furnished quite nicely with terrific amenities including the morning breakfast basket and the comfy beds. Best of all was the gracious, ever attentive staff who went out of their way to welcome and assist us, including daily setting up lounge chairs, towels and a beach umbrella right at the beach front. Very nice pool to swim - but with the beach....didn't even use that.
Quiet and laidback but still with all the amenities of a lovely inn vs. a big, flashy property! An up to date place but still with that "old Florida" charm. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank agemmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

We made a wonderful choice when we picked this hotel! The room was compact yet spacious. Quality towels and linens with feather pillows. We slept as well in these beds as we would have at home. The ocean was steps away from the pristine pool and upon request an umbrella and very comfortable chairs were set-up for you ocean-side. You can enter the ocean very easily and the water is shallow for quite a distance. Great for older guests and small children. We had a pool view but most hotels would call this partial ocean-view since you could sit outside your room on the balcony or patio and see the ocean as you read the paper. The landscaping was beautiful. I enjoyed watching little lizards play and bask in the sun and then run to hide in the safety of the foliage. The ambience and quiet was relaxing and appreciated. The breakfast basket delivered each evening provided a good start to our morning routine and allowed an early start at the beach or pool. All of the employees were friendly and helpful. From beach towels to bicycles this hotel provided it all. Excellent value for the services offered.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank tarantula81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
313 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#8 of 20 in Sanibel Island
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#19 of 20 in Sanibel Island
217 reviews
4.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,022 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Address: 541 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $188 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Inn invites you to rediscover the charm of a quaint beachfront inn on beautiful Sanibel Island where life’s pace is slower. Unwind by the pool or enjoy a day at the beach looking for shells or soaking up the sun. Seaside Inn offers personalized service along with 32 newly renovated guestrooms, suites and cottages with interiors inspired by the sun bleached sand beyond the dune. Each guestroom and suite is furnished with a comfortable king or queen beds with views of the pool or beach. The cottages offer a separate living area with a new sleeper sofa, full kitchen and one bedroom with a king bed. Each cottage has a deck just off the living area to enjoy the Florida sun with family while overlooking the pool. Each day a complimentary continental breakfast basket is delivered to the rooms for the next morning’s enjoyment. While on Sanibel enjoy the wide variety of outdoor adventures. Spend time exploring the 23 miles of paved nature trails that wind through the wetlands with one of the bikes provided by Seaside Inn. Visit the J.N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to view a wide variety of migratory birds and explore an unspoiled mangrove ecosystem. For more active play, Sanibel Island offers 18 holes of golf on 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands at the Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. For play and relaxation, let Seaside Inn welcome you to the pace of island living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Sanibel Island
Seaside Inn Sanibel Island
Seaside Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing