We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The customer is always wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I live on the Island and had guests so we decided to go to lunch at the Sundial which has recently been refurbished. We entered and no one was in the restaurant patio. We asked the employee there if we could have a place in the shade. (We had 5 people in our party). She said I can't move a table...I am not allowed. Her boss showed up and repeated that statement. Two of us were quit sun sensitive and we all wanted to set at the same table. I repeat...there was NO customers in the restaurant. We said "fine" and left and went down the road a mile to Thistle Lodge where we had a wonderful shady outside table.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank don m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,183 - 2,189 of 2,496 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

My family of 5 enjoyed a weeklong stay in a 2BR Beachfront condo (building K). The beach was great for shelling and swimming. The kids loved the pool, ping pong, shuffleboard,kayaking and the adults loved the Tiki bar! The resort was very clean. The staff was very friendly but sometimes moved a little slow. Overall it's a nice place and Sanibel an Captiva are beautiful islands. I give the resort 4 stars - an upgrade such as having waitresses/waiters around the pool area would be a big upgrade and the only Spa on premises is the hot tub. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capebum51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Even if the place had been crummy, it still would have been a pleasure to be there rather than in upstate NY. My husband and I had a garden view 1 king bedroom condo, and it was very nice, clean and up-do-date. It was somewhat sterile in the way that a hotel room usually is, no personal touches, so I'm not sure if there is a private owner or if this is resort property. However, the condo had everything we needed and more. We used the kitchen for our breakfasts and lunches (get your groceries before you cross the bridge or shop at Jerry's, as we did). The beach was wonderful, with great shelling. The pool was beautiful and there was afternoon entertainment at the Tiki Bar daily, but we opted to sit on the beach most of the time. The pool would be great for kids though. Our stay included kayaks, the beach towels, chairs, and umbrellas, and the bicycles, which we really enjoyed. The resort has several dining options. We ate once at Turtles (great waitress, sorry I don't know her name), which was good, and since we were there for Valentines Day we did the special holiday dinner deal at the Waterfront Grille, which turned out to be an awesome meal (see my separate reviews of these and other restaurants). I would definitely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We wound up in a condo next to the elevator. It turned out to be a non-issue - we seldom heard it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at Sundial Building P and O for my mom's retirement vacation. We loved the bikes, happy hour, steps to beach, and beauty of the grounds. My kids loved it too. They did need to move us mid-stay to another room but were very nice about it. The GM Julio was very apologetic since the second room was not as nice as the first. My only negative is we wish we would have stayed longer!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank weiskyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Its not a bad place for beach and shelling. dont be fooled by the "newly renovated" term. The kitchens have been updated but the bathrooms are still small and dated 1972.
Our check in guy Matt checked us in but every question was a project to him. Very little smiles from employees. For the price you pay to stay here.........u can do better on fort Myers beach for less money. Probably won't go back to this place

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank djaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Sundial has a lot to recommend it. Great location, large heated pools, lovely beach, free bikes, Ping-Pong, kayak rentals, entertainment, and a really friendly and helpful staff. Our 1-bedroom 1-bath apartment was clean, spacious, nicely furnished, and the well-equipped kitchen included a dishwasher and coffee maker.

The food service, however, was terrible and is to be avoided. The staff was short-handed and so service was interminably slow. The food was good, but the orders never came out right, e.g. the grouper sandwich came out without its tartar sauce, bread came but no butter, eggs came without ordered sausage, coffee was cold, etc. The ambience in the Waterview Restaurant is also terribly outdated and depressing. New management has taken over and promises marked improvements in the next 2-3 months. In the meantime, eat elsewhere!

There is no spa, unless the name refers to the inground hot spa near the pool, and the gift shop was closed.

We hope to return and trust that in the future the food service will rise to the standard of the rest of the resort.

Room Tip: G105 on the ground floor is a great apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The four star rating is pushing it a bit, but reasonable. You have to understand that these units are quite variable in quality from one to the next. I was first given a 'Grand Beachfront' unit and it was far from 'Grand', with rusty drawers/cabinets and other issues you would rather not hear about. After complaining, we were put in another 'Grand Beachfront' unit which was terrific. These units appear to be privately owned, with the resort handling guest stays. So you might assume that the more an individual had to pay for the property, the greater chance the unit will be of high quality. So a top floor beachfront, which we ended up at, may be nicer than a ground floor unit. Obviously this will not be true in every case. They seem to try and have a fair amount for the family/kids to do. And I must give them credit for heating the pool nicely. Not exactly sure, but the pool felt about 83 degrees on a chilly day, which was nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Discerning1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
311 reviews
10.1 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,350 reviews
12.2 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,479 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Ybel Resort
Casa Ybel Resort
#13 of 20 in Sanibel Island
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6521
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $278 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the barrier island of Sanibel off Florida’s southwest coast, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa is a unique tropical island destination with miles of shell-strewn beaches. Guests select from spacious fully-equipped condominium style accommodations in various sizes, complete with kitchen, living room and dining area. Voted Best Full Service Resort on the islands for five years in a row, Sundial offers an island lifestyle coupled with an abundance of resort amenities and services. Directly onsite are award-winning restaurants and shops with panoramic views of the Gulf of Mexico. Resort amenities include tennis and pickleball courts, multiple heated swimming pools, organized activities, a spa, sea school, marketplace and much more. A daily resort fee includes the use of kayaks, paddleboards, bicycles, beach umbrellas and chairs, beach volleyball, tennis & pickleball equipment, fitness center and wifi. Sundial is a 2017 Certificate of Excellence awardee and Florida Green Lodging designee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing