We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiki Bartender Overworked and Very UNpleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Visiting the wonderful outdoor Tiki Bar was enjoyable. We ordered food that was "warm" and cold beer. Having to wait for the only bartender who was clearly overworked was no fun. When he did finally get to us he brought little joy to our visit. He was not rude but he clearly didnt enjoy what he was doing and that translated into our visit and meal being less than joyful. Eat and leave is what we did. The bartender needs coaching and assistance. Management is responsible for this poor attitude from staff. No excuses.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Bee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin S, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Bee A,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Sundial Beach Resort.

It is regrettable that your visit to the Resort did not live up to your, nor our standards for our guests experience. We have high expectations of our staff members regardless of their positions and we do apologize that this individual let both yourself and the Resort down.

The appropriate review and training will be provided to the individual in question. On behalf of the management at the Resort I can assure your your next experience will be a memorable one for all the right reasons.

Join us again in the near future during Sundial “Winterfest” as we offer great live entertainment at the main pool deck and Sea Breeze Restaurant. There will also be dining and activity specials for kids of all ages available.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort. Please contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,199 - 2,205 of 2,502 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

second time staying at this resort and could not believe how incredible the newly renovated resort and restaurant were. The chandeliers in the grand lobby reminded me of the lobby at the Atlantis in the Bahamas.
My family and I love many of the fine restaurants in Sanibel and Captiva.
On the last night of our stay we dined in the Sundial resort's restaurant overlooking the gulf because of its convenience and did not have high expectations. The meal we had at the resort was by far the best we had that week. I had a New York Strip Steak which was very good but after trying my son's marinated Skirt Steak and my wife's seafood pot I am sure that on our next trip we will dine there more than once. Our room was the big surprise. We have stayed in many resorts including Beaches, Sandals and Atlantis and have never had such incredible accommodations. My kids went crazy when they saw the enormous TV in the living area. My wife and I were flawed by the beautiful decor including a granite island and glass tile in the kitchen. The furniture looked brand new and they had a coffee table made of drift wood and sea shells. You would have to see it to believe it. best vacation ever The room was J107 Lanai situated straight out to gulf . Gulf view is a ground floor view not as nice a being up a level but great to be able to walk right out to the beach about 60-80 Steps.

Room Tip: J107 This room was incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skrompier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin S, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Skrompier,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Sundial Beach Resort. It is so rewarding to hear of the great time you and your family had enjoying the Resort and all the Islands of Sanibel & Captiva have to offer.

The renovations in the main lobby and the cuisine being offered by Chef Menassa at all three dining outlets makes a lasting impression whether your staying on property or visiting for one of our can't miss happy hours or live musical events.

Join us again in the near future during Sundial “Winterfest” as we offer great live entertainment at the main pool deck and Sea Breeze Restaurant. There will also be dining and activity specials for kids of all ages available.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort. Please contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had chosen this resort as a place to celebrate christmas with our adult children. It was quite a disappointment
The resort advertised that it had been newly renovated,but that did not include the condo that we stayed in! It was very dated, the dishwasher didn't work, bathroom had black??? where the tub was calked to mention a few things. The daily cleaning was minimal at best and the balcony was not swept the whole time we were there.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank 973cathyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

In honor of my mother's 90th birthday, our family made reservations through a travel agent for 2 units. Each unit was supposed to have a bedroom with a king bed, a bedroom with 1 or 2 double beds, and a den with a queen size pull out sofa. Each unit was supposed to be able to sleep 6. The units were to be in the same building so our family, 11 people ranging in age from 4 months to 90, would be close together. We made the reservations for 12/26/13-1/2/14 at the end of July, 2013. One week before departure our travel agent was notified that the reservation could not be honored. One of the units had been withdrawn by the owner, allegedly because of a disoute with management, and no other similar unit was available. We were given 3 studio units instead, which were on the opposite end of the property from the remaining larger unit. On arrival, we found that the remaining larger unit did not have the features promised - instead, it had one bedroom with a king bed, one bedroom with twin beds, no den or pull out sofa- so it could not sleep the number of people anticipated, necessitated putting the infant's crib in a closet, and was extremely uncomfortable for the couple sleeping in the twin beds- what kind of vacation is that?!? In addition, on arrival, the hot water didn't work, the stove didn't work, the bedroom fan did not work, there was no phone to connect to the resort, It took the better part of a day to get things fixed, never got a land line. On 12/28, a unit matching the description of what we reserved became available, so family members moved out of the 3 studios into that unit. So 2 days of our precious vacation time was spent getting settled, which was a real pain. Most of the people who we dealt with in trying to fix things were very nice, apologetic, particularly the manager Ben, who agreed to waive the daily resort fees because of the mix-up. However, at check out time, the bill included the resort fees. When this was questioned, the person who handled the check-out was totally grouchy, unhelpful, making an already trying experience worse.

The fitness center is a joke. Room is dark, smells bad, has limited old equipment, no weights or mats. The tennis courts are good quality clay. There is water in coolers adjacent to courts, but no cups for the water (despite requests made each day of the vacation to have cups available). Resort says it has rackets and balls, but rackets have no grips and balls are dead. If you want to play, bring your own equipment and balls. Court scheduling is haphazard. There is no chart so frequently courts are booked for 2 parties at once. One court had no net but was booked to play on.

Several good features:

-breakfast buffet is great, with wide variety, wonderful fresh fruit, great omelette makers, and best bacon

-resort is clean and nicely landscaped

-pool is large, warm, nicely situated; poolside restaurant and bar have good food but service really slow

-free bicycles and helmets (don't know if there are bikes with attachments for toddlers or bikes for children), kayaks with life vests readily available and in good condition

-people who work there, ie- waiters and waitresses, pool attendants, landscapers, housekeepers- all friendly

-food in restaurant very good and well-priced, but service slow; our family thought the chocolate cake was the best we ever had

-gulf beach beautiful

-resort well-situated to reach other island attractions

In summary, Sanible is a great vacation destination. This resort has potential, but would not go back anytime soon.

Room Tip: 1- If you want quiet, stay away from rooms around pool and main building 2. Make sure that the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doreetb719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin S, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear doreetb719,

Thank you for your sharing your recent experience at the Sundial Beach Resort.

While you and your party did experience an unprecedented experience and one beyond the Resort's control, we are relieved that you were able to take advantage of the opportunities that staying at the Resort offers. We value and appreciate your feedback and will inspect the items mentioned in your review needing attention.

The Resort's Management takes the commitment to customer satisfaction and the overall experience very seriously and we hope you will give us the opportunity to prove that for you in a follow up visit.

Join us again in the near future during Sundial “Winterfest” as we offer great live entertainment at the main pool deck and Sea Breeze Restaurant. There will also be dining and activity specials for kids of all ages available.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort. Please contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed over Thanksgiving 2013 and had a great time. We were in a beachfront 2 bedroom unit in building K. The location was great and it was a very short walk right onto the beach. I found that our building was much closer to the water than any other resort up and down the beach. The pools were great and heated. The staff was very helpful, cheerful, and accommodating to our needs. The restaurants on site left something to be desired but the bar by the pool and inside the main building had great service and a good selection with lots of TV to catch a game. We had a great time in all and would definitely recommend it to anyone, especially families.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HawkMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin S, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear HawkMD,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your last visit at the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa.We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed their stay during the recent holiday.

Our goal is to make your stay as memorable as possible and it sounds as though our staff was able to accomplish that for you.Located right on the beach our location is second to none and with five heated pools and a hot tube there's fun to be had even on the coolest of Florida days.

Join us again in the near future during Sundial “Winterfest” as we offer great live entertainment at the main pool deck and Sea Breeze Restaurant. There will also be dining and activity specials for kids of all ages available.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort. Please contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent four nights in December 2013 in a two bedroom, two bath, den, kitchen and LR/DR rental right on the beach at the Sundial Resort and Spa on Sanibel Island. The location was very handy to get to many places, and we took advantage of a stay three get one free offering. There were two couples, and it cost about $600 a couple with all costs, fees, taxes added on. Many amenities available such as spa, bikes, pools, kayaks, and more. The suite was very roomy, with large open areas opening onto a very large screened lanai, and since we had a second story unit in the East Section, we also had a large screened lanai on the ground level. Privacy was good, at least in our end, oceanfront unit, and quiet if you choose the Eastern End of the resort. Staying in the main building or close by could be less quiet during the season, with the main pool and recreation area being located there also. If there is music, it might be too loud. The unit had obviously been recently renovated, and was attractively done, although there were some finishing touches that had been overlooked. Some missing floor tile, and one of the three TVs was not functioning. We reported the needs so it would be ready for the next guests, but it did not detract from our experience. Walking out the lanai directly to the beach across a small board walk was very nice, the full moon on the ocean at night was even better! A very romantic setting, and well worth the price. We would return at another time, and make it a point to be there in the pre-Christmas rush again as well.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the middle of the resort. Try the ends, and end units on the ends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatureTravelers778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin S, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear MatureTravelers778,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your last visit at the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa.

We are happy to hear that the accommodations on property fit your needs. As we have a variety of unit sizes there is sure to be a unit for every individual, family or groups needs.

Join us again in the near future during Sundial “Winterfest” as we offer great live entertainment at the main pool deck and Sea Breeze Restaurant. There will also be dining, and activity specials for the whole family available.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort. Please contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

After being closed for about 5 years, the restaurant is a highlight on the island. The outdoor seating overlooks the pool and gulf. This is the best restaurant view of the gulf on the island. The food is reasonable and good. Service was friendly and relaxed. The renovations are beautiful.

Room Tip: We haven't stayed there, bur will visit the restaurant each time we are on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin S, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Laura M,

Thank you for sharing your dining experience from your recent visit at the Sundial Beach Resort.

Our culinary team has taken advantage of the new dining options and the fantastic views to incorporate many of the great flavors that originate here on the Gulf Coast. With a wide variety of dishes available from breakfast to dinner, there's something on our menus for everyone.

Join us again in the near future during Sundial “Winterfest” as we offer great live entertainment at the main pool deck and Sea Breeze Restaurant.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
312 reviews
10.1 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,351 reviews
12.2 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,485 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Ybel Resort
Casa Ybel Resort
#13 of 20 in Sanibel Island
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6521
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $278 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the barrier island of Sanibel off Florida’s southwest coast, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa is a unique tropical island destination with miles of shell-strewn beaches. Guests select from spacious fully-equipped condominium style accommodations in various sizes, complete with kitchen, living room and dining area. Voted Best Full Service Resort on the islands for five years in a row, Sundial offers an island lifestyle coupled with an abundance of resort amenities and services. Directly onsite are award-winning restaurants and shops with panoramic views of the Gulf of Mexico. Resort amenities include tennis and pickleball courts, multiple heated swimming pools, organized activities, a spa, sea school, marketplace and much more. A daily resort fee includes the use of kayaks, paddleboards, bicycles, beach umbrellas and chairs, beach volleyball, tennis & pickleball equipment, fitness center and wifi. Sundial is a 2017 Certificate of Excellence awardee and Florida Green Lodging designee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing