We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Song of the Sea(Sanibel Island)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanibel Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$250
$219
Sanibel Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn & Cottages(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$153
$138
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$239
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parrot Nest(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn(Sanibel Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,635)
Filter reviews
2,635 results
Traveler rating
1,279
805
341
151
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,279
805
341
151
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain poolmain buildingpaddle boardsping pongbedroom condofamily vacationfull kitchenspring breakpool bargulf viewgreat vacationgrocery storechairs and umbrellasocean frontbike rentalsfree bikespools
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,443 - 2,448 of 2,635 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Staying fully open during extensive renovations an interesting choice for such a gorgeous beachfront property! Quite frankly, I think we're all entitled to a do-over! That being said, how did they ever find such great, friendly and competent staff! Unlike the decisions of whoever makes the choices for this property relative to these renovations and the concern for our comfort, the staff are beyond wonderful, truly! Sherley at the front desk is patient and knowledgable. Miranda at the poolside dining is quite remarkable. Claude at the pool is helpful and happy. And the grandkids are having a ball!!! So are the adults! beachfront comfort, and no worries about the sand we drag in from the beach. Hay gang, it's no Ritz Carlton...this is Sanibel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmaduke3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Desk Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear marmaduke3,

Thank you very much for taking the time and comment on your stay. We are happy, you had a perfect one.

We are proud that Sherly, Miranda and Claude made a difference while you where our guest, they are a true assest to our Resort.

We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future and present to you our beautiful new Lobby and restaurants with breath-taking views over the Gulf of Mexico.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had a business meeting there and my wife came along for leisure. They are in the middle of a renovation project which they had assured us would be done in February. By mid-April, it was still not completed. They didn't care. Room was ok. Service was poor. Noise was incredibly loud. Staff was not helpful. Prices were high and they screwed them up. If you have an option, do not go there under any circumstances. They charged us about $200 per night. It might be worth $50, but it might not be.

Room Tip: You won't get the room you want even if you request it.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank johnlowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Desk Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear jonlowell,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced on your last visit.

Unfortunately we did experience some delays in our renovation, however on May 8th, 2013 we reopened our main building with a beautiful new Lobby, two fantastic new restaurants overlooking the Gulf of Mexico.

We can assure you, that all issues you mentioned in your review have been address. We continuously train all team members to ensure our guests receive excellent service.
We do our very best to honor our guest requests, but since all our units are privately owned, we are not able to guarantee requests.

We truly hope to gain your confidence back and introduce to you our brand new Sundial Resort.

Should you have any questions, or would like to speak to us about your past experience, please contact as at any time at 239-472-4151.

Your Sundial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

A major disappointment and an overpriced product to make it worse (I paid over $200/night). Major renovation under way means that the place looks like a war zone. Hotel cleanliness is terrible. My (supposedly) clean room contained a used bar of soap in the bathroom and a sheet rolled into a ball in the middle of the bed. My friend's room was infested with insects. And so was the second room they gave him.

Beware - On-site dining is very limited due to the renovation.

On the positive side, the rooms are large (although the bathrooms aren't) and the bedding is great. However they are not well maintained (scratched tables, holes in the wall, etc.).

Stay here at your own risk! You can find better value elsewhere.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank NumbersAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear NumbersAtlanta,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience you experienced during your last visit.

We can assure you, that we have taken note of all issues you mentioned in your review and addressed each and every one of them; housekeeping will make sure all bathroom amenities are replaced after check-out and the insects have been address with our pest control company.

As you mentioned in your review, the main building of our resort is currently under renovation. Turtles Café is serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, daily from 7 am until 9 pm, with live entertainment on weekends on the main pool deck. As soon as our renovation is completed we will have more great inside dining options for our guests.

Additionally the condition of the units is being addressed through a quality assurance process that helps the unit owner maintain a better value of its investment.

We truly hope we will get another opportunity to gain your confidence back in the near future. Should you have any questions or would like to speak to us directly, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Your Sundial Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at sundial during 2nd week of April in R206. Wonderful 3 bedroom 2 bath condo. The unit was ocean front and right next to pool. The kids loved the pool and I though it was cool since it was salt water. Unit had large kitchen and two levels of screened in porch. My only complaint was that some of the dishes were dirty- very dirty. Especially the blender. Might be time for a new one since it had mold in it. Other than that we had a blast and will definelty go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPH7916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were leery of staying here after reading some of the reviews. We were told at check-in that our unit had been renovated. Well, perhaps it had been at one point, but not recently. Despite that, our major concern was the beds & linens and general cleanliness, which met our expectations. The beds appeared to be close to new and the linens were pristine - snowy white - as were the towels. Staff were friendly and helpful, very accommodating. Internet service was spotty and when we asked, they were honest: the resort was full and too many people were trying to access it. The Red Box movie rental for $1 came in handy on a couple of rainy evenings, containing many new releases. I would stay here again. I think management is doing a great job with this family resort in a fabulous location! Value for money probably better at off-peak times but as we went at spring break we had to pay the big bucks.

Room Tip: We were in J-307. Good ocean view, right by tennis courts.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardersan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear cardersan,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your last visit at the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa. We are very excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Team strives to deliver the best lodging option on Sanibel and exceed guest expectations.

We are excited to hear that our new edition of our DVD Rentals was a successful evening entertainment for you and your family. As our renovation progresses we will improve our wireless Internet connection to serve all of our guests.

Once again, thank you for your great feedback and we look forward welcoming you again at the new Sundial Beach Resort & Spa.

Please contact us at anytime, should you have any questions or to make your new reservation at 239-472-4151.

Your Sundial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews