We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can I Give 0 Stars?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had a business meeting there and my wife came along for leisure. They are in the middle of a renovation project which they had assured us would be done in February. By mid-April, it was still not completed. They didn't care. Room was ok. Service was poor. Noise was incredibly loud. Staff was not helpful. Prices were high and they screwed them up. If you have an option, do not go there under any circumstances. They charged us about $200 per night. It might be worth $50, but it might not be.

Room Tip: You won't get the room you want even if you request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank johnlowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Desk Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear jonlowell,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced on your last visit.

Unfortunately we did experience some delays in our renovation, however on May 8th, 2013 we reopened our main building with a beautiful new Lobby, two fantastic new restaurants overlooking the Gulf of Mexico.

We can assure you, that all issues you mentioned in your review have been address. We continuously train all team members to ensure our guests receive excellent service.
We do our very best to honor our guest requests, but since all our units are privately owned, we are not able to guarantee requests.

We truly hope to gain your confidence back and introduce to you our brand new Sundial Resort.

Should you have any questions, or would like to speak to us about your past experience, please contact as at any time at 239-472-4151.

Your Sundial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,367 - 2,373 of 2,549 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

A major disappointment and an overpriced product to make it worse (I paid over $200/night). Major renovation under way means that the place looks like a war zone. Hotel cleanliness is terrible. My (supposedly) clean room contained a used bar of soap in the bathroom and a sheet rolled into a ball in the middle of the bed. My friend's room was infested with insects. And so was the second room they gave him.

Beware - On-site dining is very limited due to the renovation.

On the positive side, the rooms are large (although the bathrooms aren't) and the bedding is great. However they are not well maintained (scratched tables, holes in the wall, etc.).

Stay here at your own risk! You can find better value elsewhere.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank NumbersAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear NumbersAtlanta,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience you experienced during your last visit.

We can assure you, that we have taken note of all issues you mentioned in your review and addressed each and every one of them; housekeeping will make sure all bathroom amenities are replaced after check-out and the insects have been address with our pest control company.

As you mentioned in your review, the main building of our resort is currently under renovation. Turtles Café is serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, daily from 7 am until 9 pm, with live entertainment on weekends on the main pool deck. As soon as our renovation is completed we will have more great inside dining options for our guests.

Additionally the condition of the units is being addressed through a quality assurance process that helps the unit owner maintain a better value of its investment.

We truly hope we will get another opportunity to gain your confidence back in the near future. Should you have any questions or would like to speak to us directly, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Your Sundial Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at sundial during 2nd week of April in R206. Wonderful 3 bedroom 2 bath condo. The unit was ocean front and right next to pool. The kids loved the pool and I though it was cool since it was salt water. Unit had large kitchen and two levels of screened in porch. My only complaint was that some of the dishes were dirty- very dirty. Especially the blender. Might be time for a new one since it had mold in it. Other than that we had a blast and will definelty go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPH7916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were leery of staying here after reading some of the reviews. We were told at check-in that our unit had been renovated. Well, perhaps it had been at one point, but not recently. Despite that, our major concern was the beds & linens and general cleanliness, which met our expectations. The beds appeared to be close to new and the linens were pristine - snowy white - as were the towels. Staff were friendly and helpful, very accommodating. Internet service was spotty and when we asked, they were honest: the resort was full and too many people were trying to access it. The Red Box movie rental for $1 came in handy on a couple of rainy evenings, containing many new releases. I would stay here again. I think management is doing a great job with this family resort in a fabulous location! Value for money probably better at off-peak times but as we went at spring break we had to pay the big bucks.

Room Tip: We were in J-307. Good ocean view, right by tennis courts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardersan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear cardersan,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your last visit at the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa. We are very excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Team strives to deliver the best lodging option on Sanibel and exceed guest expectations.

We are excited to hear that our new edition of our DVD Rentals was a successful evening entertainment for you and your family. As our renovation progresses we will improve our wireless Internet connection to serve all of our guests.

Once again, thank you for your great feedback and we look forward welcoming you again at the new Sundial Beach Resort & Spa.

Please contact us at anytime, should you have any questions or to make your new reservation at 239-472-4151.

Your Sundial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Decent rooms. Ours had a great view of Gulf. If I went back I would get a room in bldg A,K,E or one of the end units east of the main buildings. I wouldn't go back til the renovations were finished since your choices of restaurants are very limited. The Tiki bar was nice with a good happy hour deal. Staff was very nice and accommodating. Response to calls quick. The value is pretty good since you get bikes, beach towels, beach chairs and umbrella as you need them. We checked other places and all of those items are extra. Only thing that would have been nice would have been laundry soap in units.

Room Tip: If you want quiet stay away from pool areas. If you want Gulf view ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragonflyArtist55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear DragonflyArtist55,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about your recent stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Team always strives to provide the best service and lodging option on Sanibel Island. All units in our A, K and E Building are 2 Bedroom Beachfront Residence with spectacular Gulf & Beach views.

As you mentioned in your review our main building is under renovation. After completion we will offer even more fun activates, a kids splash area, great new restaurants, new Spa and much more.

We would love to welcome you back at the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa. Should you have any questions regarding our renovation or would like to make a reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Thank you
Your Sundial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We went in the middle of summer, remembering fond memories of a previous Sundial vacation many years ago. Apparently, those days are gone. The resort fee is a HUGE joke. You can use the little boats in a tiny area along the beach. There are hardly any chairs available for beach or pool. The kitchen area was not very functional, and surprisingly, there aren't any good fish markets on the island anyway. (The prices are the same as you would find in the midwest for fish that often isn't even local!) The view was very nice, but not worth the extra cost. The pools closed early. The staff was not overly accommodating-- although there were a couple of people who helped with the activities that we really enjoyed. We spent twice as much coming here as we did going to a beach in NC and the kids have never asked to return.

Room Tip: Views are better higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamusigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Lamusigal,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologize for our shortcomings you and your family experienced during your last visit. We can assure you, that we have taken note of the issues you mentioned in your review and addressed each and every one of them.

As we renovate the resort, new pool furniture was recently added and the beach furniture is slated to be renewed in the near future.

Currently our Resort Fee includes, Bikes, Kayaks, Beach and Pool Chairs, Beach umbrellas, exciting kids activities, Fitness Center, Tennis Courts and Wireless Internet. Once our renovation is completed we plan on adding more fun recreational activities to our guests.

We are excited to hear, that our Recreation Team made a difference in your stay.

We truly hope we can gain your confidence back and present to you our new Sundial Beach Resort & Spa in the future. Once again, we apologize for our shortcomings.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at the Sundial on two other occasions and been MORE than satisfied. Apparently, the third time is not a charm. Aside from the obvious inconvenience of all of the renovations, we had a MAJOR ant infestation in our very outdated Studio Suite; clogged toilet upon arrival; sliding doors that did not slide, a dishwasher that had racks that would not pull out. NOT a happy camper, especially at over $400.00 per night! I will definitely return to Sanibel, but I will not stay at the Sundial. So sorry to come to this decision, as we have had great experiences and memories on two prior trips.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Steph0313,

Thank you for taking a moment and sharing your experience about our resort. We truly value the opinion of our guests and we apologize that we did not exceed your expectations.

Please be assured, that we addressed each issue you mentioned in your review. The tiny ants are being addressed with our pest control company and the condition of the units is being addressed through a quality assurance process that helps the condo owner maintain a better value of its investment.

As you were able to see we are renovating the resort, and once renovation is completed Sundial will be the world-class resort it once used to be.

We truly appreciate your loyalty and hope we can gain your confidence back in the near future.
Should you have any questions, or would like to speak to us directly, please contact the Resort at 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
327 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 20 in Sanibel Island
724 reviews
10.1 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,059 reviews
1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,368 reviews
12.2 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6521
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $252 - $721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the barrier island of Sanibel off Florida’s southwest coast, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa is a unique tropical island destination with miles of shell-strewn beaches. Guests select from spacious fully-equipped condominium style accommodations in various sizes, complete with kitchen, living room and dining area. Voted Best Full Service Resort on the islands for five years in a row, Sundial offers an island lifestyle coupled with an abundance of resort amenities and services. Directly onsite are award-winning restaurants and shops with panoramic views of the Gulf of Mexico. Resort amenities include tennis and pickleball courts, multiple heated swimming pools, organized activities, a spa, sea school, marketplace and much more. A daily resort fee includes the use of kayaks, paddleboards, bicycles, beach umbrellas and chairs, beach volleyball, tennis & pickleball equipment, fitness center and wifi. Sundial is a 2017 Certificate of Excellence awardee and Florida Green Lodging designee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing