We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

When booking, we were not told about the construction which was all around the pool and main recreation areas. The beach chairs were Mildewed and the umbrellas were tattered. The "free" wi-fi was non-existent and the condos were poorly equipped. Their saving grave is their location. However with so many options on the island - I would choose elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mmfoley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Mlmfoley,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about our Resort. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you have had during your stay. We have taken note of the issues and concerns and can assure you we will address each and every one of them.

Our team strives to deliver exceptional service to be the best lodging option on Sanibel Island. We are currently working close with our Reservation Department to ensure all of our guests, will be advised about our ongoing renovation. Our Housekeeping Department ensures, that all units are fully equipped with kitchen and bathroom amenities.

Once our renovation of the main building is completed, we will offer several great dining options, a new Lobby and Front Desk Area, relaxing new Spa and recently we added new pool furniture and beach furniture is slated to be renewed in the near future.

We truly hope we can gain back your confidence and present to you our new Sundial Beach Resort & Spa. Once again, we apologize for our shortcomings.

Should you like to speak with us in person, please feel free to contact as at any time at 239-472-4151.

We look forward hearing from you.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    647
    256
    106
    37
See reviews for
1,050
634
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We recently stayed at the Sundial for our spring break family vacation. Coming from Illinois, we were excited to leave the snow behind and spend time on the beach instead! We stayed in a two-bedroom coastal residence, and it was perfect for our family. Our condo was beautiful and seemed to have been recently updated. We had a view of the gulf from the balcony and we were just steps away from the main pool and the beach.

While we were at the Sundial, we enjoyed checking out bikes in the morning and riding around Sanibel, exploring. We also played tennis on the resort tennis courts--it works well to reserve your court time in advance at the front desk. Also, my husband & son did some kayaking, as kayaks are also included in the resort fee. Our whole family enjoyed playing sand volleyball--the sand volleyball court is located right between the main pool and the beach!

We very much enjoyed walking along the beach, finding shells & just relaxing. We were always able to find enough chairs on the beach for our family, and Sundial staff even would set up a large beach umbrella for some shade, which was very nice.

Housekeeping always provided extra towels and shampoo upon request, and they were very accommodating. The recreation staff who checked out bikes, kayaks, pool towels, etc., were also friendly and helpful.

We did not eat at the hotel restaurant (we used our kitchen a lot to save money), but we did get drinks from the bar a few times during our stay. The bartenders were all very friendly and they would even make frozen smoothies for the kids (strawberry or chocolate/vanilla) which was fun and a treat for them to have as they sat on the beach! You could tell all of the staff at the Sundial strive to provide this family-friendly environment.

Although construction is going on at this resort, we were aware of that before we made this reservation, and the construction itself did not negatively affect our stay at all. We will look forward to seeing the Sundial when all of the updates are complete!

I would like to especially mention Marina & Ra'Jarra, two of the front desk/reservations personnel who assisted us prior to our stay. They were very helpful in sharing information about the resort and answering any questions as we planned for this vacation. Also, while we were at the Sundial, all of the front desk people we met were helpful, I just do not have all of their names.

We would definitely recommend the Sundial Beach Resort as a place for families to stay while visiting Sanibel Island!

Room Tip: The two-bedroom coastal residence had plenty of space for a family of four, and there was a nice vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyAdventures4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Family Adventures4,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your last visit at our Resort. We are so excited that your stay was a perfect one. Our Team always strives for excellent service and exceeds our guest expectations.

We look forward welcoming you and your family back and present to you our new looks at the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa.

Please feel free to contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Thank you,

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

They don't even allow beach chairs in front of your condo. The individual condo is nice but they do not maintain the beach and the pool area is a dump. I would recommend another place of stay for the money spent.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cmartinez28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Camrtinez28,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your recent stay. We have addressed each and every one of them; housekeeping will ensure, that our pool deck is spotless.

Sanibel Island is a true sanctuary Island with strict wildlife protection regulations, which, unfortunately prohibit resort beach furniture anywhere besides in front of our main building.

Once again, we sincerely apologize and truly hope we gain back your confidence in the near future.

Please to not hesitate to contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Thank you,

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Overall, our stay was enjoyable. We arrived early, around 11 am, and our room was ready for us! Nothing beats that for first impressions!

The condo was in bldg C on second floor. It was plain but was appropriate for a resort lease out. Our kitchen could have benefitted from a full set of pots and pans. We had to be creative with cooking! There were plenty of outlets for electronics with kids' ipods/ipad/phones. The internet worked well for us entire time.

Service was wonderful! We called front desk around 9pm for extra towels, shampoo/conditioner and sink stopper. All arrived within 15-20 minutes with way more supplies than we asked for!

We used 2 of the pools, the main one and the west end pool. Both were within expectations for spring break. They even installed a new foot sprayer while we were there. Although there were no towels supplied at littler pools, we had ours with us at all times. This could be a problem for other guests. Resort could provide clean towel stations at smaller pools as an added resort amenity.

Bikes were in shorter supply in afternoon. We were easy going and gladly accepted 2 tandem style bikes for our family of 4 (kids ages 10/8). Not much of a selection for number of guests housed. But we were happy.

My biggest overall let-down was the children's activities offered daily. EACH craft was between $6-$12, with most at $6. They were kite building, painting a wooden dolphin or coconut. Given a resort fee, these should have been free or at most, $1. So we did not do any crafts. My kids were again easy going and did not fuss when I said no. However, it would have made their experience way more enjoyable to be able to do them. They could have a play-maker leading beach volleyball, hula hooping, bean bags, etc. Not very kid-orientated activity minded.

Bottom line, we would come back. We packed as though we needed everything so we didn't have to rely on the resort heavily. Service was wonderful and that makes a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellibean_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear jelibean_jo,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are happy it was a perfect one for you and your family.

Our team strives to deliver the best lodging option on Sanibel Island and exceed guest expectation. We are excited to hear, that we were able to honor an early check-in for you and you enjoyed our great amenities.

We are currently working on improving our kid’s activities, and once our renovation is completed we will have more fun activities including a great kids splash area at the main pool deck.

As you mentioned in your review, we provide beach and pool towels at the main pool deck. With the unique setting of our property, different companies manage several Condos and our smaller pool areas are open to all guests on the property.

We are looking forward welcoming you back at the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa and hope to present to you our Charm with new looks.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed just 2 nights at Sundial on the recommendation of friends, who admittedly hadn't been there for 12 years or so. We were very disappointed. It's recently changed management hands and although they were making improvements to the reception area while we were there, the apartments are really quite bleak. The whole place has the look of a group of 1960's soviet apartment blocks. Eating facilities are really limited on site.
Overall, the place is in very serious need of updating.
We won't go back in a hurry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RonP365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear RonP365,

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience you experienced during your last visit.

We can assure you, that we have taken note of all issues you mentioned in your review and addressed each and every one of them.

The main building of our resort is currently under renovation. Turtles Café is serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, daily from 7 am until 9 pm, with live entertainment on weekends on the main pool deck. As soon as our renovation is completed we will have more great inside dining options for our guests.

Additionally the condition of the units is being addressed through a quality assurance process that helps the unit owner maintain a better value of its investment.

We truly hope we will get another opportunity to gain your confidence back in the near future. Should you have any questions or would like to speak to us directly, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

When booking this hotel I selected a two bedroom based on the size of our group. When we arrived we were placed in a one bedroom. Our room is nice, the furnishings are okay, however the aren't of the best quality and drawers hang askew on the dresser and the eight hangers in the closet filled up fast. Our first morning we thought the coffeemaker was broken, but instead the power outlets were not functioning, this is unfortunate as there are very few outlets available to charge electronics. The location of Sundial is nice and Middle Gulf Road is a great shortcut to getting around without having to use congested Periwinkle Road.

If you want a good spot at the pool, beach cabanas, bike, or other amenity you need to be at the desk when they open as the resort has a very limited amount of availability for the number of guests they serve. This makes me question the value of paying a resort fee, it seems to be another way of the resort to squeeze money from their guests, who are visiting a resort under construction. Before we arrived we checked the website and were happy to see restaurants and spa listed as open, however the front desk staff reports it could be months before that happens, everything is under construction.

The staff is nice, they can't be blamed for poor owner management. The beaches are what we expected them to be. We are in J building, close to everything and easy to get to with plenty of parking. Ask for extra towels at checkin, our one bedroom has a full kitchen and is stocked as such, so plan to shop for needed items for the week as room amenities aren't abundant. The coffee cups are very small, almost teacups, so are the water glasses. There is silverware and dishes but plan to run the dishwasher often as they aren't abundant. The internet is free but very slow and extremely spotty, often unavailable in the afternoon and evenings.

Room Tip: - ask for towels at check-in - Bowmans Beach is great with good shelling, parking, and comfort stat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodynsoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Bodynsoil,

Thank you for sharing your experience about our last visit to the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa. We apologize for all your inconvenience you and your family experienced during your last visit.

We have taken note of all issues you mentioned in your review, and can assure you that we addressed each and every one of them; housekeeping will make sure, that each unit has enough towels and amenities in the units. Engineering ensures all outlets and equipment is properly function.

Additionally the condition of the units is being addressed through a quality assurance process that helps the unit owner maintain a better value of its investment.

As you mentioned in your review, the main building of our resort is currently under renovation, but soon we will have two more insight dining option, a beautiful Lobby and new Front Desk Area, relaxing Spa and we will add more amenities to our recreational program.


Our team strives to deliver great service to exceed our guest expectations and we are very happy to hear, that our team made a difference during your stay.

We hope we can gain your confidence back and welcome you back in the near future after our renovation is completed.

Thank you again, for your valuable feedback.

Your Sundial Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at Sundial recently- it is going through renovation so I can't say what it will look like but the picture in the temp reception area suggests the pool deck will be a lot different. Club house closed. The check in process was fine but at check out our bill was not up to date and the resort credits had not been applied and we were charged for an extra night. Our one bedroom was updated and very nice in the Q building. It had a microwave and DW and enough dishes. The beach was great and shelling terrific as always. The big pool is OK but all the chairs are taken early (towels placed on them but only 1/2 used at any one time). Our daughter is 9 and the crafts were OK (resort credits!) but we had to find the staff to help us rather than them being ready to go. half of the clay tennis courts are undergoing renovation so only 3 are available and the courts across the street are not usable. Overal a good time - stock up on groceries before you hit the island is possible and enjoy the beach!

Room Tip: Download a map of the resort and when you book the room ask which building the room is in to get a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear renmi,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are excited that you have enjoyed your stay, but we would like to apologize for your inconvenience at checkout. We can assure you, this issue has been addressed and our Front Desk Team ensures, that the guest’s bills are correct.

As you mentioned in your review our main building is currently under renovation. The majority of our renovation will be completed very soon, than with new dining options with insight and outside seating, new beautiful Lobby and Front Desk Area and Spa. As our renovation progresses, we will add more exciting recreational programs to our activity schedule.

We hope we can welcome you back in the near future to present to you our new charm at the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa.

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact as at any time for further assistance at 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
10.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel Island's most luxurious resort has completed a multi-million dollar renovation. Voted "BEST FULL SERVICE RESORT ON THE ISLANDS" and "BEST STAYCATION IN SOUTHWEST FLORIDA" for four years in a row, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa is the centerpiece of this unique barrier island off the southwest coast of Florida. Sanibel is two-thirds nature preserve providing visitors with an experience of Florida the way it used to be. Sanibel Island is a natural playground where you can feel the white sand between your toes, take a refreshing swim in the blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico or one of Sundial's pools and bike the miles of paved paths around the island. The Resort offers a wide array of activities and amenities for all ages including swimming in 5 heated pools, HydroGrid tennis courts, cabanas, kayaks, paddle boards, bike tours, golf, organized activities, a marketplace, spa and sea school. One,two and three bedroom residences feature options for views with the conveniences of home in a tranquil, tropical setting. These Residences offer a full kitchen with housewares, living/dining area, full baths and ample space that is ideal for couples or larger families. Best of all, Sanibel's world-renowned, pristine shell-dotted beaches are just steps away. Voted Best Waterfront Dining in Southwest Florida, the resort's award winning restaurants offer indoor and outdoor dining options and delicious menu selections. Look forward to an authentic experience as your dinner is artfully prepared right before your eyes at Shima Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, the area's only Japanese steakhouse. Sea Breeze Cafe offers casual dining and local, fresh ingredients with a true Sanibel Island tropical flair over looking the Gulf of Mexico. Sundial's tiki-style poolside eatery, Turtle's Pool & Beach Bar, serves up delicious signature drinks at the bar and family-friendly patio. Slice of Paradice provides the perfect poolside venue for tasty treats such as pizza, ice-cream, hotdogs and salads- perfect for beach-goers and sunset strollers. A daily resort fee includes the use of beach umbrellas and chairs, beach towels, kayaks, paddleboards, bicycles, beach volleyball, fitness center, wifi, organized activities and tennis court access. In addition to being voted Best Full Service Resort and Best Staycation, the resort has been regionally recognized for Best Event Facilities, Best Chef, Best Server, Best Happy Hour, Best New Restaurant, Best Sushi, Best Tiki Bar, Best Waterfront Dining and Best Tennis on the Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing