We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful seaside location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Margate, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful seaside location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a staple in the seaside resort scene on Sanibel island. We have stayed here before and have always found it pleasant. My wife and I recently spent a weekend enjoying an on-the-beach apartment at Sundial. The sounds of the surf were fantastic in the evenings and the sunrise and sunset views were great. A really wonderful place to spend some serious downtime.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Steven M.,

Thank you for your kind review and sharing your valuable feedback.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your downtime with your wife during your most recent stay with us and we are looking forward providing you with even more relaxing moments and breathtaking views on Sanibel Island.

Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance for you by contacting us directly at 239-472-4151.

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    594
    237
    102
    32
See reviews for
964
557
17
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and our two adult children and one of their friends stayed for a week at Sundial, and we loved every minute! We had a condo on the top floor, with a great view, very quiet. The condo was one of the few we found that would accommodate five people comfortably--it had three bedrooms and two bathrooms. The rooms were spacious, nicely furnished and decorated. All the kitchen appliances and the washer and dryer worked. There were a few minor examples of wear and tear--a cracked bin in the refrigerator, a landline phone that didn't work, some cracked plastic tumblers--but nothing that would spoil a vacation.

We enjoyed the beach and the pools, both the one directly on the grounds of our condo unit, and the larger main pool. Sharky's, the condo restaurant, and Crocodial's, the beach bar, were within easy walking distance, and the staff were friendly. There was construction at the main offices, and the small convenience store that normally was there was closed. Sundial is pretty well located, for a place on the Gulf beach. We rented bikes from Billy's and enjoyed biking about to the shops and restaurants and up to Ding Darling--we didn't have to rent a car.

We rented our condo via Select Vacation Properties, not from the condo association, so we couldn't charge anything to our room, and I think we probably were not supposed to use some of the condo's outdoor equipment, although that was never an issue. We only received three keys for the five of us. We had to be mindful of who had a key, but it was never a real problem.

We all had a great time--how could you not--and left wishing we could stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kboyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear kboyken,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. You are correct that we are currently undergoing constructions and I can ensure you that once finished, we will offer you even more exciting amenities like a brand new shop and new restaurants with fun and fresh new menus. We also offer great complimentary amenities like bikes, kayaks, beach umbrellas, fitness center and more within our Recreational Program.

Since you rented through Select Vacation Properties we are unable to fix the minor issues in your room directly, however we are glad you had the change to enjoy the whole property.

We would love to have you as our guests the next time you visiting Sanibel Island. For more information on our rates and availability, please contact as any time at 239-472-4151.

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a great stay at the Sundial Resort! We loved the beautiful beach! The location was perfect and made it easy to bring the kids to and from the beach. Looking for seashells became a favorite hobby. With friendly service and a relaxing atmosphere, Sundail Resort is definitely on our "return to" list!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Amy J.,

Thank you for your review about you recent stay here at the Sundial. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff and the relaxing atmosphere.
I can ensure you that we will continue to strive for excellency and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back, in the near future.

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at 239-472-4151.

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit County, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Let me preface this review by stating that the resort is going through a renovation of the main facilities. I think the resort will be amazing when the construction is complete. The amenities are fantastic - the main pool was large with a slide for kids. The hot tub was relaxing as well. Included in the resort fee was beach chairs and bike rentals. The front desk staff were friendly and very welcoming.

Each condo is individually owned so decor varies from unit to unit. Our one bedroom condo featured a remodeled kitchen with granite countertops. We enjoyed a gulf view from our screened in balcony. Overall the condo was very comfortable and we would return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AWJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear AWJ3,

Thank you for your great feedback. After our renovation is completed, we agree, our Resort will be beautiful with a great new look and new amenities. We are very happy you liked the plans of our new main building and your gulf view unit and we are fortunate to have a great Team, who strive to exceed every guest expectations.

We are looking forward to have you back in the near future.
Should you have any questions, or would like to speak to us directly, please do not hesitate to contact us at 239-472-4151.

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I modeled for Sundial in 1979, Our family fell in love with this beautiful resort on Sanibel Island. All these years later my family and friends make this resort and annual event, we visit and stay at Sundial, we always enjoy ourselves. Enjoy the Gulf View and beautiful beaches, (bring sunscreen). My kids love the amenities, and the shell pool too.
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa is as beautiful as the day this photo shoot was taken. Thank you for you constant efforts to renovate.

Room Tip: Most rooms have kitchens which helps traveling with picky children. Bring sunscreen and sunglasses!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kgaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear kgaddie,

We are excited to hear, that you have been visiting us for so many years and we love your story about modeling for the Sundial in 1979. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We truly strive to be #1 Resort on Sanibel Island with our amenities and service alike. We can’t wait to welcome you back and present to you the new look for the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa.

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, nj
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our fifth time to sanibel- we love it there!! Tried Sundial for the first time. We were traveling with teenagers so were looking for a place with some activities. Sundial is going through some major renovations since they were bought out and I can honestly say they ate going in the right direction but right now it is in a bit of a transition and some info on the website is not accurate. There is no spa, no jogging strollers, and only one restaurant. That being said the pool is great, the beach location is amazing and it's activities were enough to keep my teenages happy. I do not like the charge to use the tennis racquets since you atte paying a 30 a day resort fee but I will let that slide. Had an amazing view and will definitely be back. If you haven't been to sanibel yet you must go and sundial is a good choice. Just be prepared.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbloom1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear mbloom1917,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to have you as our guest on your 5th trip to Sanibel Island and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Yes, you are correct, we are currently remodeling our main building and will have an exciting new look including new Lobby, Restaurants, Pool Deck, Spa and great amenities to offer in the near future.

Thank you for your patience during your stay. But we are very happy you enjoyed your time at our Resort and your teenagers were happy with our activity program. Our daily Resort Fee currently includes pool and beach chairs, towels, bikes, kayaks, certain kid’s activities, tennis courts and wireless internet. We are planning on adding more fun amenities including a new tennis program after our renovation is completed.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you back with our new look. Should you have any questions, or would like to speak to us directly, please do not hesitate to contact us at 239-472-4151.

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Have stayed at the Sundial a couple of times each year since 2008 and cannot rave enough about it. The hospitality and attention to detail from Tiffani and Marina at the front desk is unparalleled, and the staff is professional and highly responsive. The rooms are all different, since they're individually owned condos, but our experience has been that they are all nicely appointed and well cared for. Direct access to a beautiful beach on the Gulf is great, and there are plenty of swimming pools and on-site activities for the kids. The location is fantastic and is within proximity to absolutely everything on the island. We're looking forward to the renovations and upgrades being made to the property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FTLFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear MandicFAM,

Thank you for visiting us so many times in the last few years and for your valuable feedback .
We are always excited to welcome you back at the Resort.

We truly strive to be #1 Resort on Sanibel Island with our amenites and Service alike. We can’t wait to show you our new exciting look when you will return to Sanibel Island.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel Island's most luxurious resort has completed a multi-million dollar renovation. Voted "BEST FULL SERVICE RESORT ON THE ISLANDS" and "BEST STAYCATION IN SOUTHWEST FLORIDA" for four years in a row, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa is the centerpiece of this unique barrier island off the southwest coast of Florida. Sanibel is two-thirds nature preserve providing visitors with an experience of Florida the way it used to be. Sanibel Island is a natural playground where you can feel the white sand between your toes, take a refreshing swim in the blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico or one of Sundial's pools and bike the miles of paved paths around the island. The Resort offers a wide array of activities and amenities for all ages including swimming in 5 heated pools, HydroGrid tennis courts, cabanas, kayaks, paddle boards, bike tours, golf, organized activities, a marketplace, spa and sea school. One,two and three bedroom residences feature options for views with the conveniences of home in a tranquil, tropical setting. These Residences offer a full kitchen with housewares, living/dining area, full baths and ample space that is ideal for couples or larger families. Best of all, Sanibel's world-renowned, pristine shell-dotted beaches are just steps away. Voted Best Waterfront Dining in Southwest Florida, the resort's award winning restaurants offer indoor and outdoor dining options and delicious menu selections. Look forward to an authentic experience as your dinner is artfully prepared right before your eyes at Shima Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, the area's only Japanese steakhouse. Sea Breeze Cafe offers casual dining and local, fresh ingredients with a true Sanibel Island tropical flair over looking the Gulf of Mexico. Sundial's tiki-style poolside eatery, Turtle's Pool & Beach Bar, serves up delicious signature drinks at the bar and family-friendly patio. Slice of Paradice provides the perfect poolside venue for tasty treats such as pizza, ice-cream, hotdogs and salads- perfect for beach-goers and sunset strollers. A daily resort fee includes the use of beach umbrellas and chairs, beach towels, kayaks, paddleboards, bicycles, beach volleyball, fitness center, wifi, organized activities and tennis court access. In addition to being voted Best Full Service Resort and Best Staycation, the resort has been regionally recognized for Best Event Facilities, Best Chef, Best Server, Best Happy Hour, Best New Restaurant, Best Sushi, Best Tiki Bar, Best Waterfront Dining and Best Tennis on the Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing