We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“GREAT STAY”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Sundial Resort for a few days over the holidays and were pleasantly surprised. Our room was a large two bedroom suite, with a king bed in one room and two queens in the other. The suite had been renovated, so was clean and updated. The kitchen and dining area was a nice size for the five of us. There were three TVs and plenty of dresser and cupboard space. The balcony was a nice size.

The bedding was brand new and the beds were very comfortable. We had plenty of new towels and toiletries in our room and when we called for more towels, someone delivered in minutes.

Because each section of the resort has its own pool, they were never over-populated. Our pool and pool area/washrooms were brand new. The water in all the pools was warm and clean.

The grounds were nice and clean and right on the beach, which was beautiful. There was tons of parking. And the bikes we used to ride around the island were working perfectly.

We had a great experience at this resort. But it is under construction, so we may have been lucky that we got an already updated suite. The only negative was that the bar and restaurant service was slow. But I can imagine when they are finished this renovation, it will be perfect. I can't wait to return when everything is finished.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanetteKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear JeanetteKD,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sundial, you are right! As we complete our renovations our Food Beverage Service will improve significantly, as well as the variety of items that will be offered.

Our team strives to deliver the best service in Sanibel, we look forward to your next visit; we are certain that we will exceed your expectations.

My Best,

Luis Arellano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    714
    291
    127
    44
See reviews for
1,211
680
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

we when to this hotel for new year eve and it was amazing how great was our stay fantastic people working in there and the weather was great,the activities availables like bike rental,kayak and the heated pool where great.
definitly a must go hotel

Room Tip: ocean view rooms out of this world
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tazmania76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The front desk was friendly enough but that was where it ended. Our condo was well stocked but had a musty smell, which I could have overlooked because it's at the beach. However, the hotel staff at the bars and rental place were very unfriendly, the rooms weren't serviced until 5PM, they don't give you any more shampoo, conditioner etc unless you go to the front desk and there was a 'resort fee' added to our bill. The resort fee was $20 per night, why wouldn't they just include that in the price? It makes me feel like the resort amenities should be better if they are going to charge a fee. Most of the buildings don't face the ocean which seems odd to me but that isn't a huge deal. The lobby building and pool are under construction but it didn't really impact our stay. On the positive side the food was fantastic at the wedding and the wedding coordinator seemed great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paymoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Paymoto,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sundial, the only full service condo hotel in Sanibel. We are sorry to hear that you found some of our recreations and Food & Beverage personnel not as hospitable as other team members around the resort.

Your valuable feedback is used during our daily shift meetings to improve services around the resort.
We saw pictures of the wedding and they looked magnificent.

We look forward to your next visit, please contact us for personal assistance, main phone number 239 472 1451, my extension is 6006.

My Best,

Luis Arellano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Service is horrible!
Bugs everywhere.
No soap shampoo or supplies supplied unless you call front desk.
Not enough towels supplied!

There was Smoking allowed had to close windows and could not enjoy outdoors!!
Room serviced not until 4pm.
Not a vacation unless you like to beg for service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Skanclarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Skanclarks,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for your inconvenience you and your family experienced during your recent stay. We have taken note of the items you mentioned in your review and addressed each and every one of them. Our team strives to deliver the best lodging option in Sanibel and exceed guest expectations.

All of our units are non-smoking, but for our guest convenience, we do allow smoking in many areas around the Resort. Currently we are updating our Resort, and truly hope we will get another opportunity to welcome you back at Sundial.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time for further assistance at 239-472-4151.
Once again, thank you for your feedback

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We booked a trip to Sanibel in late October. In December, 8 days before our trip, Expedia notified us that the Sundial had overbooked and bumped us. We have stayed here before and were looking forward to a return visit. Now, I will never stay at the Sundial again, and will be hesitant to book any hotels through Expedia. Expedia worked with us to find a new place. It was a struggle on the phone with them over a two day period, but, they came through and found us a great substitute, and, Expedia paid the extra fee for the new condo. Sundial is now at the bottom of my list for places to stay in Sanibel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank ititravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear ititravel,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are deeply sorry for your experience. Sometimes an overbooking occurs due to circumstances beyond our control. We are happy that Expedia was able to find you a similar accommodation. Unfortunately Travel Agent Reservations do not provide us with your contact details; however we would love to take the opportunity to speak to you directly.

Please know that this is not our usual service level and accept our sincere apology.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back at the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa. Please do not hesitate to contact us at 239-472-4151!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Have stayed at Sundial at least 15 times. Best feature is how close it is to the beach. The property is always well maintained but there was a problem last week during our stay. The swimming pool next to building E would be taken over by 200 crows. They would hang out in the trees around the pool. They would caw. They would drink water in the pool. They would go to the bathroom all over the place until they decided to leave.This happened 3 or 4 times a day for hours. We complained several times to the grounds crew. They said you need a permit. On Friday, they finally put some ineffective metalic strips around the middle of the palm trees. The crows made the pool unusable and the management was very slow to do anything( airhorn,pellet gun..) .Very bad black mark for this property

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank SuperAtomic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear SuperAtomic,

Dear SuperAtomic,

Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear, that you have been with us for so many years and had enjoyed our beach location. The Crows usually pass by Florida at the end of the year and normally do not affect our Island. Sanibel Island is a sanctuary island with very strict wildlife protection, which gives us only limited possibilities in taking action.

We hope this ambience will not affect your returning to the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa.

Should you need further assistance of any kind, please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime.

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Sundial has recently changed hands and they are trying to fix things up. The plans that they have on display indicate a number of solid improvements but until they insure that all the units are up-to-date and clean, then a stay here will be either a hit or a miss. The units seem to be owned by individuals and then rented out. Our first one-bedroom unit was large and seemed clean but the only "modern" piece seemed to be the television. When we discovered ants on our countertop we were told that this is common at the time of year and we were in Florida. They came and sprayed but we were not comfortable staying there. We were moved to another one bedroom which was pretty dingy with some type of stain on the bedroom rug, however it did seem free of ants. There is construction going on so the main entrance was blocked off and there was construction noise throughout the day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JESVancouver_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear JESVancouver:

Thank you so much for your feedback, indeed it is an excitement time at our beautiful resort. When we are completed with the renovations, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa will be the best resort and the only one with meeting room facilities on Sanibel.

We are sorry to hear that the units you experienced were not acceptable, through a very detailed condo improvement plan, we are working with each individual owner to improve their units for the enjoyment of our valued guests. We expect to complete this project within 2013.

My team and I would love the opportunity to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us any time for assistance at 239-472-4151.

Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
268 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
3.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,781 reviews
12.2 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6521
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "BEST FULL SERVICE RESORT ON THE ISLANDS" and "BEST STAYCATION IN SOUTHWEST FLORIDA" for four years in a row, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa is the centerpiece of Sanibel Island, a unique barrier island on Florida's southern Gulf Coast. The island is a natural playground where visitors enjoy miles of pristine beaches, nature preserves, water sports and award winning bike paths. Awarded TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa offers a wide array of activities and amenities for all ages including swimming in 5 heated pools, HydroGrid tennis courts, 12 new pickleball courts,cabanas, kayaks, paddle boards, bike tours, golf, organized activities, a marketplace, spa and sea school. One,two and three bedroom residences feature options for views with the conveniences of home in a tranquil, tropical setting. These Residences offer a full kitchen with housewares, living/dining area, full baths and ample space that is ideal for couples or larger families. Best of all, Sanibel's world-renowned, shell-dotted beaches are just steps away from your door. Voted Best Waterfront Dining in Southwest Florida, the resort's restaurants offer indoor and outdoor dining options and delicious menu selections. Look forward to an authentic experience as your dinner is artfully prepared right before your eyes at Shima Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, the area's only Japanese steakhouse. Shima's Grab N Go provides take out sushi for those on the go. Sea Breeze Cafe offers casual dining and local, fresh ingredients with a true Sanibel Island tropical flair overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Sundial's tiki-style poolside eatery, Turtle's Pool & Beach Bar, serves up delicious signature drinks at the bar and family-friendly patio. Slice of Paradice provides the perfect poolside venue for tasty treats such as pizza, ice-cream, hotdogs and salads- perfect for beach-goers and sunset strollers. A daily resort fee includes the use of beach umbrellas and chairs, beach towels, kayaks, paddleboards, bicycles, beach volleyball, fitness center, wifi, organized activities and tennis & pickleball court access. In addition to being voted Best Full Service Resort and Best Staycation, the resort has been regionally recognized for Best Event Facilities, Best Chef, Best Server, Best Happy Hour, Best New Restaurant, Best Sushi, Best Tiki Bar, Best Waterfront Dining and Best Tennis on the Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing