We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Island Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ybel Resort(Sanibel Island)
$299
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$189
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)
$228
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanibel Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$239
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$199
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn & Cottages(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$120
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Kai Motel(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Song of the Sea(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,701)
Filter reviews
2,702 results
Traveler rating
1,313
819
352
157
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,313
819
352
157
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain poolmain buildingpaddle boardsping pongbedroom condofamily vacationfull kitchenspring breakpool bargulf viewgreat vacationgrocery storechairs and umbrellasocean frontbike rentalsfree bikespools
Filter
Updating list...
2,596 - 2,601 of 2,702 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the Sundial during January 2011, the water was really cold and it was very windy outside the whole 3 days we were there however it was a very nice trip, quiet and relaxing. We booked through Expedia and the Sundial qualifies as one of their VIP hotels (in case you have VIP status in expedia) so we got $50 credit for booking which we used in the restaurant and even to buy two small gifts in the gift shop at the hotel. We also received a room upgraded courtesy of the Expedia program, our room was very spacious, clean, modern enough and a few steps from the beach. We have no complaints but rooms vary so you might want to shop around with the several travel agencies to make sure you get a room you actually like.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizaCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Desk Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Tartle,

Thank you very much for commenting on your stay with us. We truly appreciate your valuable words. We do strive to find the best units for our guest’s. Since all our units are privately owned their furniture and décor varies from unit to unit, we always try to find the best accommodations for our guests.

Thank you again and we do hope to have you back in the near future.
Please do not hesitate to contact us any time for assistance at 239-472-4151.

Warm Regards,

Your Sundial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We choose the Sundial for it's open to the public tiki bar on the beach. We were looking for a nice sunset cocktail with some beachy sunset ambiance. The Sundial advertised a sports bar & a tiki bar open to the public in one of the little island newspapers. We passed on the sport's bar. It had the advertised billiard tables & customers at their tables but looked like it was closed. We walked on to the outside tiki bar next to a very busy pool area. We had a $10 fruity cocktail in a small plastic cup served by a harried bartender that said "she didn't usually work this area". We were handed a dinner menu copied on crumbled printer paper. After finding out the item we were going to order wasn't available we drank our cocktails & left. I had just expected more from a resort on an island like Sanibel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank AntKaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Tartle,

Thank you very much for commenting on your stay with us. We truly appreciate your valuable words. We do strive to find the best units for our guest’s. Since all our units are privately owned their furniture and décor varies from unit to unit, we always try to find the best accommodations for our guests.

Thank you again and we do hope to have you back in the near future.
Please do not hesitate to contact us any time for assistance at 239-472-4151.

Warm Regards,

Your Sundial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is the second time we stayed at the Sundial. The location and the view from our room was second to none. But the service and the cleanliness was worse than most. Great potential but changes need to be made.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank idocOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear idocOH,

Thank you for your valuable Feedback. Please accept our sincere apology for disappointing you the last time you visit. Depending on the Unit Type, our units offer different views from Garden to Gulf Views.
We can assure you all issues that you experienced, an appropriate action will be taken to resolve them. The Sundial just changed ownership, and we are planning to bring back the Sundial as it used to be and more. We hope we will get the opportunity to win back your confidence in the near further.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.
Please do not hesitate to contact us any time for assistance at 239-472-4151.

Thank you
Your Sundial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our reservation was made by a travel agent. We were coming from another hotel in Naples, so we called ahead for early check in. We were told they would try but no guarantees. We were told if we arrived early we could "pre check in" and our room would be ready asap.

We arrived at 11:15 AM. Quite early. We were told that check out is only at 11, but that they would get to our room as soon as possible. They took our cell phone. We went out touring. No call ever. When we got back to the hotel, it was raining. It was 3:30. We were told the room was not ready yet (4 1/2 hours later) but they didn't guarantee rooms until 4:00. They were unable to reach the housekeeping for an update. I asked, why if check out was at 11, and we had arrived at 11:15, our room couldn't be made up first. Some rooms had to be done before other. We were given the same answer, no guarantees until 4:00. Not even the words I'm sorry.

We hung around another 15 minutes. The ceiling was leaking in the lobby, the bathrooms smelled and we decided to leave. As of now, they have kept our first night's deposit. We will see if the credit card company helps with this one.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuxuryResorts, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Please be assured this guest will be contacted directly by me for resolution to this issue and sincere apologies are truly extended.

Anthonia Smith
General Manager
Sanibel Sunset Beach Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very nice location right on the beach. (No steps) Our two bedroom condo was very luxurious and clean. The restaurant was reasonable and good! Our $20 resort fee included bikes and kayaks.

We were in building F, and the closest pool was pretty crowded and small with lots of kids. (the only negative)

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Jane K,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about the Sundial. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our restaurant and amenities. Unfortunately on busy days, the condominium pools can get a little bit crowded, since this is the only pool access for guests booking outside of our program.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you again for your valuable feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact us any time for assistance at 239-472-4151.

Your Sundial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews