We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful family place”
Review of Song of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Song of the Sea
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Mason City, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful family place”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our children 21 and 18. All of us had a great time. Enjoyed the room and the beach was fantastic. Everyone was very helpful and curtious and liked the fact of the laundry facility! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bradandlori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    222
    62
    26
    18
See reviews for
104
487
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2014

A nice beach hotel on a nice island. Not fancy or state of the art, but adjacent to the beach with a nice pool and spa (hot tub). Beach chairs and umbrellas provided by hotel. Complimentary breakfast was very basic and after first day went out for breakfast. There are a number of shops on the Sanibel Island, but they closed too early and by about 7pm or so. 8pm would be better. Not much too do after dinner. Bridge to island from mainland is $6.00 charge onto island (no charge getting off island). Must use public beaches if you want to go to a beach other than the one the hotel is located at unless you are ok with paying $2.00 per hour to park (24/7 as per the signs in the parking lots). There are some other beach areas on the island that are not privately owned or designated public beaches, but they appear to be limited to property owners as the parking at those beach areas is restricted to permit holders only. Sanibel Island seems to welcome tourist money, but it also wants to limit and control where the tourists can go and that is a little troubling. Nice hotel, but I probably won't be back because of the island itself and the ridiculous toll to get onto the island.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooserme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We are headed home from our 5 day stay at Song of the Sea. We came here to join close friends (who have been coming here forever!!) We all had a fabulous stay!! The experience was so pleasant and relaxing and carefree. Loved Cindy in the office, she was wonderful. Loved everything about this small, quaint, beach front property. We are ready to book for next summer's family trip!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKBAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently. We arrived a couple of hours early for check-in, but the room was ready. We had a"gulf view" room with a kitchenette. It was a nice view, overlooking the pool and the grounds and had a decent view of the gulf. There was a screened-in balcony, but we never sat out there long because it was too muggy and too buggy (no-see-ums). The bathroom was very small and the drained backed up every time we showered. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. A continental breakfast comes with the room and is fairly substantial. My only complaint was that it didn't start until 7;30 and we're early risers (usually by 6:30). The hotel is right on the beach. Towels (which you must ask for), beach chairs and umbrellas are on a first-come, first-served basis. We usually got to the beach by 8:30 only to find several chairs already saved (they usually set up enough for 8-9 rooms; the inn has 30 rooms), so get there early if you want chairs and an umbrella. If you arrive on the beach by 10 am, you're out of luck.

We enjoyed our stay there, although we're inclined to try one of the more modern, sister inns next time we stay in Sanibel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buddysdad0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Export, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was our first trip to Sanibel Island and we weren't disappointed. We decided on the Song of the Sea from reading other reviews. What we really enjoyed about staying at Song of the Sea was the feel and ambience of being in "old Sanibel." Yes, this facility was built 45 or 50 years ago so you aren't going to find all the latest and greatest amenities that you would find at a modern, 5-star chain hotel in Naples. But you will find a relaxed, comfortable, retro-style facility that brings back the feel of times that were slower and much more simple. Did you read other reviews that say that the bedroom was to small for the king-size bed? Well, just remember that there weren't king-size beds when this property was built. So, just be realistic when you set your expectations. We were not disappointed at all.

Song of the Sea serves a continental breakfast each morning which was delightful. Be sure to make your own waffles! As we sat outside on the patio at breakfast, we chatted with other guests who had stayed at Song of the Sea previously....some for many years. One couple told us that they have come to the island for almost twenty years and that Song of the Sea was the absolute best place to stay.

Cindy, our innkeeper was very helpful and friendly as was the staff we encountered each day. We'll come back to Sanibel, and when we do, we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: The second-floor ocean front room was worth it and gave a nice view of the beach. There are only tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Changed hands last year slightly disappointed, VERY limited items to work with in kitchen and not each one has the same stuff. More families this year crammed into one unit, unruly kids, loud parents. Also with room price comes a free breakfast, but we noticed people came from other hotel ( they own that one also), for breakfast which was not free at their hotel, so it's not a perk if they eat my breakfast and there is not enough food for patrons at song of the sea. We will keep track of changes on website for next year.

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here last weekend. Paid extra for a second floor ocean front King suite. What a nightmare !! Totally deceived by the pictures on the website of the room and the layout. The picture we saw on the website is not the room we got. The bed is not in the main room with a water view as pictured. It is stuffed in a claustrophobic box farthest away from the view I paid a premium for. The view itself is half obstructed because of the poorly designed wood sliding doors. Had to move the couch to the middle of the room to get half a view ! Room also came with free half eaten dirt pretzels behind the couch ! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY ON THIS MUSTY OUTDATED NIGHTMARE OF THE SEA !!!

Room Tip: Your best bet is to choose a room anywhere but here !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wayne z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
684 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song of the Sea

Property: Song of the Sea
Address: 863 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Song of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Song of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Of The Sea Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing