We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We want to go back”
Review of Song of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Song of the Sea
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We want to go back”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were here in March of 2014 and want to go back. We had a a great room which was perfect for the two of us.

The room was clean and well kept, there was not a lot of room in the bedroom. The king size bed took up the entire room.

We had a view of the beach and it was a short walk to the beach. The beach chairs was included and the breakfast was exactly perfect for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_Linker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda L, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We're delighted your recent stay at Song of the Sea was a positive experience, and we look forward to your return visit! The continental breakfast is a big hit with our guests as are the complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas that you mentioned. We'll see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    219
    62
    25
    18
See reviews for
99
483
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

If you prefer smaller hotels to larger resorts, then you will like this hotel. The rooms are ok, they could do with a little modernisation, and some mats for the tiled floor. The bathroom is also quite small, but it's functional. The free breakfast is surprisingly good, with a good range including fruit, cereals, bagels, pastries and even make your own waffles. The free bikes to hire are also great - the island is flat with lots of cycle paths; it is the best way to get around. It is about a 15 minute walk to the nearest restaurant (although there may be some hotel restaurants a bit nearer at some of the neighboring resorts), but this is pretty standard on the island as all the hotels and resorts are on the beach with the restaurants lining the main avenue that runs down the middle of the island.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrevsterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We visited for a three day escape from winter weather and loved it. Our goal was to both see Sanibel and also have a base from which to visit Spring Training Red Sox games at JetBlue Park in Fort Myers. Song of the Sea was perfect and we will look forward to returning to the same hotel when visiting the area in the future. Since it is close to the causeway it was easy to get to and from Fort Myers. Song of the Sea feels almost like a bed and breakfast. The staff is friendly, the hotel is not big, and the breakfast area is a perfect place to meet other guests.

The Song of the Sea is perfect not only for adults but also for families (if the kids don't mind a quiet place without many other kids there and without planned kids' activities). We loved the breakfast and the free use of bicycles to get around. Locks and helmets are provided free of charge. We also thought that the bottle of wine at arrival was a wonderful touch.

The staff was very friendly, and we particularly want to recognize Natalie who was there when we checked in after a late arrival. We were hungry and she found a place that was opened late, called them to make sure we could get dinner and then gave us directions on how to get there.

The shells that wash up on the beach in front of the hotel are fantastic. Go on-line to learn when low tide is... There are many more shells to choose from at that time of day.

The screened porches were a highlight. The kitchens are small but very handy, as they include stove, microwave, and refrigerator, and are furnished with plates, glasses, silverware and some pots, pans and cooking utensils. The stove didn't work correctly one day. But when we told the staff, maintenance was immediately dispatched to our room and they fixed the problem right away. The bathroom was modern with a granite countertop, and there was plenty of hot water for the tub/shower.

We will look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: All rooms seem nice and have garden and at least a partial ocean view. First floor rooms seem to al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soxfan1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

'Song of the Sea' is what Goldilocks was looking for: Just right! This quiet, comfortable, friendly hotel is perfect for adults looking to get away for a break. Everyone is very helpful, rooms are large and well-equipped with a mini-kitchen, comfortable beds (that means medium firm) and a nice nature view. The pool is heated, breakfast is real (real juice, fresh fruit, waffle maker) and cozy eating on the patio. Walk down to the beach to commune with nature and a few other beachgoers - plenty of room for everyone. Next door property has cabana bar and restaurant. Be careful not to develop an addiction to shell collecting on the beach!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DanmomBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
177 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Eight of us got together for a long girlfriend weekend. We reserved the 4 ground floor adjoining rooms, which had us right on the beach behind a small sand-dune. This allowed us to walk the beach at dawn and do some amazing shelling. Trust me shelling and dawn were not on my agenda but they were just fabulous. I will start with the positives...

#1 Location and ambiance. We felt like we had gone back in time, a more peaceful and serene time. Loved sitting outside our rooms on the screened in porches as well as outside on the table and chairs the hotel provided, having lunch and evening cocktails. It was such a treat to be on the, grass adjoining the beach, hearing the waves.
#2 Staff, everyone from housekeeping to reception were over the top helpful and friendly especially Natalie with her warm and welcoming spirit and can do energy.
#3 Despite being short staffed, the rooms and bathrooms were remarkably clean, and any requests we made for additional towels, pillows etc were immediately met.

the only negatives were cosmetic
#1 the rooms all need updating, love going back in time spiritually not necessarily comfort wise ;).
#2 inconstancy, 2 rooms had make-up mirrors, some rooms had complete set of dishes (4) others did not, etc
#3 the king size beds were squeezed into tiny sleeping areas with barely any room to walk around the bed, hats off the the cleaning staff who have to make those beds
#4 while I loved the tile floors they were in serious need of more attention than a simple mopping between guests could provide.
#5 in the room I was staying in the AC made some bizarre sounds all night

With all that said, this was my first time to Sanibel Island, I will for sure be returning and I have such lovely memories made at this site that more than likely I will return.

Room Tip: If you stay in the beach side rooms fo for the middle rooms. The corner rooms are smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed for two nights in February, and enjoyed it thoroughly. The sandy beach had plenty of shells and remarkably tame bird life -- posing for dawn portraits in perfect light. Breakfast on the patio was comfortable and plentiful. The only hitch was checking out. Although we were all paid up, no one was available to check us out for a half hour -- the single desk clerk had gone next door on some hotel errand and no other employee could handle this task.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor poolside a short walk from the beach. Very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have stayed at the Inns of Sanibel 's other facilities and Song of the Sea is the best in our book. We liked having a fully tiled room (no carpet) . The room was quiet, kept clean by excellent housekeeping staff. Bath room is a bit small but tolerable. Furniture needs updating, chairs uncomfortable. The location is perfect, easy access off of Lundgren st., and steps to the beach. The screened in Lanai, made for a comfortable spot for breakfast and lunch. The quiet atmosphere made for a very enjoyable vacation. We will be back!

Room Tip: first floor rooms have door access to the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank healinghands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
669 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,285 reviews
4.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song of the Sea

Property: Song of the Sea
Address: 863 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Song of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Song of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Of The Sea Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing