We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in a beautiful spot!”
Review of Song of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Song of the Sea
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice stay in a beautiful spot!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My husband stayed at Song of the Sea during our first visit to lovely Sanibel Island. The staff was welcoming and helpful, and the grounds are lovely. Breakfast on the patio was delicious, too. Free bikes provided to guests make touring the island easy. (There's way too much vehicular traffic, so bikes are definitely the way to go!) I would definitely recommend Song of the Sea for a special getaway!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank csjwkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    219
    62
    25
    18
See reviews for
99
483
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Song of the Sea for one night after Christmas, and I loved it. The grounds are beautiful -- palm trees, a nice pool area and a few tiki huts with chairs. Our first floor room was very comfortable with the added convenience of a kitchenette. My favorite part, though, was our room's small screened-in porch that overlooked the pool area. It was just so relaxing to sit there in the evening and enjoy the warm air and the sounds of the sea. Breakfast featured a lot of variety with a nice outdoor seating area. On the beach in front of the hotel, we had a really good shelling morning. I hope to return someday!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Chalupamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent three nights at Song of the Sea (just after Christmas) and had a very relaxing time. The room was beautiful and the grounds were nicely manicured. We could walk right from the property onto the beach. The continental breakfast was great. Even though we did not use it, there was an attractive pool as well. The first day we went shelling in the morning and relaxed in the sun in the afternoon. The second day we took a full day cruise to Cayo Costa State Park through Captiva Cruises (located on Captiva Island). The shelling was even better there! Just piles and piles of them. We enjoyed our stay at Song of the Sea very much.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and the screened in porch overlooked the pool and grounds. Note...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We just got married and are pretty much broke, so found this hotel. On the beach, had pools, looked ok. I was surprised when we arrived! Loved our stay here. I abhor chain hotels, so this was perfect: the room was very nice, beds were super comfy, bathroom a bit small but definitely clean, the room had a lanai (porch) where one could sit and eat breakfast/etc. We had a pool side room and could see the beach from our room, which worked out very well. We went the week before Christmas and it was relatively quiet, which was wonderful! The staff was so nice and welcoming! Rochelle at the front desk was so personable and we had a lovely conversation. The staff were real people, not the over-professional detached type which was very refreshing.

I bought the rooms on Hotels.com primarily because they had a $75 food voucher included in the rate. The food was pretty good at the restaurant: Hubby had Steak which was really good and I had the Hawaiian Chicken which was good, but not as good as the steak. Note: DRINKS ARE NOT INCLUDED IN THE VOUCHER. It was a lovely cheap dinner.

Our room had a kitchenette with fridge (essential for leftovers from our dinner at the Bubble Room on Captiva), stove, pans, dishes, and silverware. Very useful if you are planning a long stay.

Great value for the price and includes all the standard amenities for Sanibel:
High Speed WiFi
Private Beach with umbrellas and chairs
2 pools
2 hot tubs
Pool Bar (Not very good drinks though and overpriced)
Restaurant (Great with voucher, more money than I would spend otherwise)
Complimentary fresh breakfast on patio
Complimentary bikes with keys and helmets
Cable
Air Conditioning
Spacious rooms

Definitely staying here again! Can't beat $119 a night + $75 food voucher. On checkout they also gave us a 10% coupon for our next stay.
Only regret: We only stayed 2 nights, should've stayed 3

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honeymooner842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Nice little place! Enjoyed our stay except for toilet running every 20 minutes however it did not ruin our experience. Loved the free use of bikes! Breakfast was a nice amenity and well stocked. Our room was on second floor which was nice for a view. Maybe more chairs on the balcony rather than 2 when traveling with family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthegomom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I was very surprised at our recent stay at Song of the Sea. While I must admit we were only there one night while returning from Christmas Holidays! This hotel "used" to be one the the BEST hotels on the east end of Sanibel Island.......it has really lost it's shine! The room was old, small and lacked any style old or new! The bedroom was so small you had to squeeze between the bed and the wall to close the blinds or get in the bed from the other side! The kitchen was barely equipped for a longer stay and no wine glasses to go with the complimentary bottle of wine!

The room we selected was for a romantic getaway .....They really missed the mark on that!

Next time I will stay at a sister property; spend a little extra money and get a whole lot more!

If you don't mind the room or the furnishings just looking for beachfront this is your place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Floridawillsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Such a nice little place!! We stayed here last week which could be why it was so peaceful...time of year and mostly over 55 crowd. We were happy to see that the place looked just like in the pictures, maybe even a little better. :) We had a 2nd floor corner room with 2 queen beds not directly facing the beach but we could see it from a far. The view out the large blinds was gorgeous...palms trees and lovely pool. :) We have stayed in other older small resorts that have been done over like this and this one compared well with the exception of the kitchen being small and very basic. Loved the beds...so comfy! Shower, water pressure - great!, Continental breakfast - such a nice touch! All staff - so pleasant! Loved the free chairs and umbrellas on the beach. A couple of days they were all taken but we found a nice fellow who brought some out for us. :) We would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jewelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,284 reviews
4.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song of the Sea

Property: Song of the Sea
Address: 863 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Song of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Song of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Of The Sea Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing