We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a gem!”
Review of Song of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Song of the Sea
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
North Canton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still a gem!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in October staying at Song of the Sea. We were so excited to get the same room as 4 years ago. We had a queen poolside room. Literally 15 ft. from the pool. The room was clean and well attended to every day. The staff friendly. We only had breakfast as a snack. We went to Jerry's to buy a few groceries the first day. The room has a full refigerator and microwave. Chair and umbrellas at the beach are handy. We did have some children at the hotel, but they were always with their parents and were not disruptive at all. We rented bikes from Billy's and was given 1 free day because they delivered the bikes the same day to the hotel. They deliver and pick up for a small fee. Wonderful! Doc Ford's and Sandbar were 2 new restaurants we tried, that were both awesome. The Island Cow is always Great! I must say that upon check out we were able to use the hotel computer to get our boarding passes printed, awesome!!!! Hope to be back in Sanibel again soon! Thanks for a GREAT stay Song of the Sea!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwilkerson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    222
    62
    26
    18
See reviews for
104
487
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our last visit to Song of the Sea had been 15 years ago, so we were delighted to find that it was just as wonderful now as it had been then! After disappointing vacations to other Alabama and Florida gulf coast resorts, we were so glad to have a real island experience again. High rise condos cannot compare to this small intimate retreat. It's a beautiful step back in time where bicycles are the ride of choice and fast food and franchise restaurants do not exist.

The one problem we had with our room was addressed immediately and cheerfully, breakfasts were always delightful, and the walks on the beach were shell-filled! Wish we were there now!

Room Tip: Ground floor room was good on the knees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredlibrarian2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our recent September visit to Sanibel and Song of the Sea was wonderful. The hotel itself was comfortable, clean and quiet, no frills but very nice. The staff was outstanding, very friendly and helpful. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The breakfast was good, not a lot of choices but enough to keep us going until lunch, and the outside eating area was a pleasant touch. The atmosphere was very calming and relaxed. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We had an ocean view suite which was lovely, but the pool view rooms had nice views of the grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifesaBeach2Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, IL.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

my wife and I have stayed at the song of the sea two years in a row 09/2012 and 09/ 2013 both times we felt very welcome. breakfast each morning was great, the room was well keep, pool was great, the grounds were well keep. Cheryl made us feel like we were part of her family, and I noticed that she was very very nice to everyone. We had a great time and will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights and got engaged at sunset. It was beautiful, clean and the staff very accommodating. The complimentary wine In the room was a nice touch. We hope to come back again on anniversaries to come.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MI
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Accommodations on Sanibel Island can make or break your trip to this idyllic, eco-friendly destination. Song of the Sea is a terrific property to help you relax and unwind. Suited best to adults, I've stayed in their poolside rooms (the least expensive category). Each good-sized room has a full kitchenette with a full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, toaster, coffee pot and dishes for four. A complimentary bottle of wine at check in is a nice touch. The rooms have ceramic tiled floor to help with the sand that you're going to track in from everywhere. The staff is very friendly and remembered me after my very first stay. The full breakfast includes your usual continental, plus waffles and hard-boiled eggs. Use of bicycles are included in your stay, should you want to explore the island without moving your car. A pool and a hot tub are at the center of the property, but the real draw is the immediate access to the beach. This is my "happy place"; whenever I need a smile, I close my eyes and imagine myself walking the path down to the shore. I would recommend Song of the Sea to anyone heading to Sanibel.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool on the second floor for a view (over the trees) of the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was the second time we had stayed at Song of the Sea and again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was upstairs and looked over the pool, with views over the sea. The room was a good size and the complimentary bottle of wine was a nice touch. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. Each morning we sat on the patio to eat a very good breakfast. The swimming pool is heated and was kept very clean. Bicycles are available for guests to use and are a great way to explore the island. A highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song of the Sea

Property: Song of the Sea
Address: 863 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Song of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Song of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Of The Sea Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing