We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing!”
Review of Song of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Song of the Sea
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Booking accommodations during a holiday weekend can be stressful - especially last minute. We booked the Song of the Sea after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were pleasantly surprised! With only 30 rooms, this was a smaller inn than I'm accustomed to. The room we stayed in had a view of the pool with two queen beds, a balcony, kitchenette, and bathroom (albeit small). We were greeted with a bottle of red wine which wasn't very good in the end, but the idea of it was nice. We only took advantage of the continental breakfast just once. They had waffles, cereal, fresh fruit, coffee, yogurt, and assorted juices. It was satisfying, but we wanted to explore other restaurants on the island. They provided just enough bath towels and beach towels. We were told that there were limited chairs and umbrellas due to Sanibel Island regulations. We got to the beach early each day and never had an issue. However there was one day when there weren't enough lounge chairs for the guests. The staff is super friendly. The beach is only a 2 minute walk. The shelling is good, but not fantastic. For the price and location, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pammy_4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for Song of the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 705 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Not the same as the pictures. The place was nice and quiet and the staff was friendly, but the tile floor in our room was filthy. We arrived late on our honeymoon night and none of the staff was on site. We had to check in at the hotel next door. No signs or instructions were posted for check-in after 6pm. We get to our room and see that it is outdated and the floors are very dirty. I call the check-in desk to get another room or something and the lady says "No one is here to help. Go see the manager in the morning." Just what I needed on my honeymoon. My wife said that she was too tiired to go look for another hotel, so we reluctantly stayed. The manager had our room "deep cleaned", but I saw no difference. I booked our honeymoon through Travelocity and was on hold for over an hour trying to get customer service. DO NOT USE TRAVELOCITY!

Room Tip: We were told that the beachfront rooms were small. All upper level rooms have good views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaJohn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel advertises with the words "intimate" and "couples." So why were there so many kids here, especially when there is a large kid-friendly sister property right next door? That was the one (huge) disappointment in an otherwise great stay. The grounds were pleasant, the staff was always helpful, and the room was clean and well appointed. The standard continental breakfast was made delicious by top-quality fresh fruits. Free bottle of wine a nice romantic touch. The pool and spa areas were clean and attractive. There were always enough lounges available on the sandy beach, which is right at the end of the property.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a great time on Sanibel Island. Shelling, swimming, and shopping. The Song of the Sea was excellent. Our room was very nice, with 2 double beds and a kitchenette. Service was excellent and so was the breakfast (muffins, doughnuts, cereal, bagels, fresh friut, coffee, juices, and made to order waffles). It was the most relaxing vacation that we have had in years. We hope to go back again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tommy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Back again for another great week,Had a poolside 1st floor room which I recommend,you can walk right out your back door just a few feet to the pool.Service with a smile is really top notch from check in to any requests are handled in a friendly matter.Small intimate resort feel to the place,very quiet.Breakfast is a plus with tasty waffles,and it's really great to use of the bikes,not having to rent them from somewhere else.

Only recommendation as last time,while definitly not dirty,rooms could stand an upgrade

Room Tip: 1st floor poolside for sure
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tojo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We chose Song of the Seas from trip advisor reviews. Once again we were happy with the results. They were ready for us as a late check in. The room was very clean and the screened porch overlooking the pool was a plus. The beach was a short walk away and the pool was clean and refreshing afterwards. The breakfast (waffles,cereals, bagels,muffins, fruit and juice) was fresh and there was plenty for everyone. Free bicycle use and pleasant workers made our first stay in Sanibel wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I along with 2 other couples chose "Song of the Sea" for a week stay in Sanibel. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. The resort was quaint and very scenic, gave a true tropical feeling and the rooms were very nice and clean. The screened porch had a nice view of the Gulf. The breakfast every morning was really a plus - we had a little bit of everything. The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially Natalie. We definitely want to come back! This was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darlette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 20 in Sanibel Island
690 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 20 in Sanibel Island
382 reviews
4.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song of the Sea

Address: 863 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $201 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Song of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Song of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Of The Sea Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing