We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay!”
Review of Song of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Song of the Sea
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
waukesha, wi
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

While Song of the Sea is not "wow" like some other places we have been to in other parts of the country, it was very clean, quaint, quiet and perfectly relaxing. Breakfast is quality and delicious. The pool was clean and refreshing--not at all crowded when we were there. Always plenty of towels--beach and bath. It is scenic and just steps to the beach. We rode bikes one day and the selection of bikes is plentiful. Cheryl at the front desk is super helpful and always made us feel welcome. The only thing they could improve on would be to provide more chairs and umbrellas on the beach. When we were there, there weren't enough for all that wanted them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suechucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    221
    62
    25
    18
See reviews for
103
486
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at the Song of the Sea for our 25th Anniversary. Our friends had joined us and we enjoyed wonderful shelling the lovely setting of the resort. Enjoyed setting ourside on the screened porch or on the well manicured lawn having our wine that was awaiting us in our room. We would recommend it to older couples and families. Jet setters, most likely, would not enjoy the quiet setting.
We would return.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty equal, facing the lawn and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toto2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a romantic Tuesday - Saturday vacation at Song of the Sea. The front desk and cleaning lady were both so friendly. We always felt as if we were being acccomodated in every request or question we had. The continental breakfast was very good and eating al fresco each morning was absolutely the best way to start the day. The bikes are free, but not in great shape. The shelling was amazing. We shelled every beach on Sanibel and Captive and by far the hotel beach was the best. Very quiet hotel and the beach view room has a nice balcony to sit and have coffee in the morning. The hotel room was small but perfect size for a couple. The bed wasn't comfortable at all. Neither one of us slept well and had sore backs.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngVil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We just celebrated our 20th anniversary on Sanibel for 3 days and stayed at Song of the Sea. We were very pleased with our choice of locations. We are the type of people who like to relax on vacation and don't busy ourselves with all the extras. Song of the Sea was all we expected and more. The room was quaint with the "old Sanibel" feel that we hoped for. It was a big room with a kitchenette (regular size fridge & micro, small stove/oven and sink along with needed kitchen utensils). The room was clean upon arrival and cleaned daily (including the dishes) which was greatly appreciated. We were on the ground floor with poolside view and had a screened in porch with 2 chairs and table. It is geared more towards couples and very quiet. It is also on the quiet end of the island. Their self serve continental breakfast had plenty of choices along with a belgium waffle maker. We took advantage of the free bikes which were in working order and Sanibel is flat so gears aren't necessary. We played shuffle board and spent most days by the pool and hot tub which was always clean. We went to the beach one day to sit the rest of the days just to walk. There were always plenty of lounge chairs & shade at the pool. The beach was clean and there were plenty of shells to be found. We will return to Sanibel but next time with our Son. We will find another location because he is busy & loud and will certainly consider another one of the Inns of Sanibel. Maybe one day we will again look forward to our return to Song of the Sea. Until them we will hold our memories close to our heart. Thanks for all you do to maintain this hotel and make everyone feel welcome!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaiserbtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for a few nights at an average price of $400 per night. We expected quality accommodation for that price. Song of the Sea is a 1960's motel that has never been renovated. At some point they put in terra cotta floor tiles, added a couple of wicker type chairs and a duvet, and represented themselves as an intimate, romantic getaway! We felt ripped off. On the plus side, the location is good, the courtyard very pretty, and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great hotel, not too fancy, very well done. Service was very very good. Pricing was fair.

Good Breakfast - was Continental type. This location is close to many restaurants and places for evening entertainment. The beach is a few steps away as well. The management was very helpful with restaurant recommendations that were "right on"

Room Tip: like the room with view of the Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 372RichardF372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wonderful vacation. A lovely property with very nice people on staff. I would call this a couples location. Not a lot of kids here. You'll need a car unless you really, really enjoy biking.
Pros:
Rooms are large and bright.
Lots of large towels including beach towels.
Central A/C and heat.
Perfect location directly on the Gulf.
Well-maintained pool with comfortable chairs.
Screened-in porch in every room.
Lovely continental breakfast every morning.
Lots of complimentary bikes.
Cons:
Bed are very soft...really soft.
Could use more chairs and umbrellas on the beach. It's a scramble to get them.

We will definitely be back. Loved every minute of the vacation.

Room Tip: We spent two nights in a pool-front room and 5 in a gulf-front suite. Both are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,296 reviews
4.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song of the Sea

Property: Song of the Sea
Address: 863 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Song of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Song of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Of The Sea Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing