We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother!”
Review of Sanibel Grill

Sanibel Grill
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Worst meal we have had in a long time. Was there on Tuesday night 13 th August. Dreadful service, poor quality food, all round just poor! Would not recommend this to anyone!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARDGLondon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    192
    49
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mahwah, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice little sports bar.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed dinner here on a Wednesday night around 7:30. Restaurant was near full, but our party of four was seated right away. Buffalo shrimp appetizer was tasty and enough for all of us to share. The buffalo chicken sandwich had an impressive amount of chicken. We also enjoyed shrimp quesadillas and the crunchberry salad with additional garlic shrimp on top. Service was very good, too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAFlo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft.Myers
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Thursday Sushi Night”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I went here for Sushi Night.

We shared the spring rolls for an app, she had the California rolls and I had the grilled tile fish with rice pilaf and sauteed veg. All dishes were well presented. The spring rolls had a nice crunchy wrap filled with fresh veg. The California rolls had perfectly cooked rice and were tightly wrapped. The Tile fish was grilled nicely and the vegetables were tender-crisp without being over or under cooked.

Service was very good; attentive without being rushed.

Another good meal in paradise.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ft_MyersFrankieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We usually eat at the condo while staying on the island just to save money. We are a family of five, so eating out can add up quickly. However, we do go out one time during our week vacation. After scouring reviews and menus, we found Sanibel Grill. We chose it based on good reviews but mostly because one of the owners is a fellow Buffalo, NY native.

My son and I had the bourbon marinated salmon with Asian veggies. It was absolutely delicious. However, the veggies had a spicy kick that was a bit too spicy for my son. After the waitress found out, she graciously asked if she could replace them and my son chose to indeed. My husband had the blackened salmon and also enjoyed every bite. My girls had chicken which they enjoyed.

The ambiance was nice and we liked seeing the paintings which are Sanibel inspired, for sale (out of the range of our pocketbook though) and done by a local artist.

All in all, it was a very enjoyable dinner with very delicious food. Yes, the prices are a bit high but that is expected on the island. I didn't think they were outrageously over priced. In fact, for the amount of food received and the quality of the food and service, the prices were just right. We would certainly return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank binbunch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food and interesting place”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We visited with our 13 year old twins on a Wednesday night and we all enjoyed the food but it was quiet and not much atmosphere that particular night. Plenty of televisions showing sports and we had a booth with its own small tv which the kids enjoyed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grahamarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanibel Grill also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sanibel Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing