We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sanford
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Last year this hotel was completing construction after transition from the previous chain and some recent reviews have been a bit off but we had a pleasant stay this year and no real complaints. Granted it will never be a fine hotel and it is still a little rough around the edges but we were happy with the accommodations. We had a handicap accessible room and a single room. The beds were comfortable, the water was hot, the AC worked ok, the staff worked hard. It wasn't perfect but, it was fine and the location is great for an early morning flight out of Sanford airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank GKMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are continually trying to improve to make everyone's stay a great one instead of a fine one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    130
    81
    43
    28
See reviews for
178
108
36
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Hotel was beautiful, room was very comfortable from the bed to the Club chair and ottoman. Staff was extremely accommodating from getting me into my room and coffee at any time to scheduling my shuttle service to the airport. Would definitely stay here again:)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank chaliced2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Good hotel would return. Pool in front next to highway and for kids OK but adults, not private. My room door would not lock. Very modern colorful decor in room and very relaxing, welcoming appealing. Quiet. Air works well. Smells clean but somewhat toxic downstairs like Fantastic spray cleaner. Room does not smell like that. Beds great. Breakfast good and eating area clean. Internet good. Not crowded.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your review! I apologize for the cleaning products smell, we will look into this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel is close to the airport so we stayed here because we had a late arriving flight. It was easy to find from the airport. The other pro is that the free breakfast was of good quality with many offerings. On the downside, my husband and I did not get a good night sleep because the AC unit and refrigerator were loud and the mattress felt lumpy. I thought the room smelled musty also. We've been impressed with Best Western Plus locations in the past and this one does not live up to that quality in our opinion.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
I am sorry for the loud A/C we have taken care of this issue and hope to see back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I will start with we were a group off six that had two reservation/two rooms that were placed on line through our company which they had pay for previously thru Best Western web site.
Checked In with one of the Most! Rudest Condescending Disrespectful person I have Ever met. I believe her name was Yardia.When I walked in the young lady was on her cell phone and gave me a look like I was disturbing what she was doing. No hello nothing but Last Name. Happily I provided her that information she requested, she then informed me that the reservation was not paid for and I had to give her my credit card and pay for both rooms. I kindly explained the situation to her and even called our boss; she felt the need to belittle me as if I was a child on her companies policies. Keep in mind I have 5 other people waiting on me and we just drove over 12 from Tennessee. I gave my cell phone to her to speak to my boss, but that didn't help me as she was just as unpleasant with her as well. To avoid any future altercations I gave her my credit. Another lady came out from the back and must have heard the conversation because she looked at her coworker with a face of disgust, She then quickly greeted me and said if I needed anything don't hesitate to call. It was like night and day.
I needed an extra bed as there was not enough room. I dreaded having to call down stairs. We stay in 315-317 which had 2 full beds but needed an additional cot. Called down and surprisingly got a very sweet person that answered the phone and said she would bring it up in 10 minutes. The Lady Eileen was at my door with in 5 minutes with pillows extra blankets and the cot, and apologized for whole check in process with Yardia. She said she was going to waive the fee for the cot for the inconvenience I received. Not sure if she was a manger but she should be. She truly understood the concept of customer service. I am not sure if I or my company will ever stay there again. At check out the next day I saw a gentleman that was also very aware of how to treat people Angel. It's a shame that one person can really ruin a business like that, especially with all that heavy airport traffic.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
I am so sorry for your experience with our employee, i do apologize for this! We have taken actions to make sure something like this will not happen again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LYNDON
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I have to go to this area of Florida to attend classes at AAA National. While this hotel is a good value for the area, this stay was a bad one for me. I didn't feel this property lived up to the higher standard that a Best Western Plus property is known for. I was told there are some planned changes to the rooms, but I guess I'll just have to wait for the next time ...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank dromine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we have just updated the mattress and rooms, hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etowah, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised how nice the hotel is. Definitely worth checking out. Very quiet rooms and phenomenal TV. Staff as very polite and helpful and the breakfast options are a bonus. The shuttle to the airport was prompt and the driver was very nice (and wide awake for 5:00 a.m.).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your reviews, hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanford
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Orlando / Sanford
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#5 of 6 in Sanford
3.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
3.7 mi away
Monroe's On The Lake Hotel & Banquet Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orlando North/Sanford
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Mary at Colonial TownPark
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orlando Lake Mary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel
Address: 3401 S. Orlando Drive, (US17-92), Sanford, FL 32773-5607 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Sanford / Lake Mary Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Sanford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 4 and is an easy drive from Orlando. You may feel like touring attractions like Disney World® and Universal Studios® Orlando or there is other nearby family fun, including the Central Florida Zoo, Marina and Daytona International Speedway®. Guest who stay at our hotel have perks like an airport shuttle (shuttle hours 5:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.), Internet access and a delicious hot breakfast every morning. So retreat to the sunshine state and experience the best of central Florida with a name you can trust and at a price you can afford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Best Western + Iniative so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sanford / Lake Mary Area Hotel Sanford
Holiday Inn Sanford
Sanford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing