We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great decor, but..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sanford
Florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great decor, but..”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Totally renovated and gorgeous. But they forgot one major thing-the beds. The pillows were good but the bed; not so comfortable.
In fact, the were very low to the ground and old mattresses. I would have given it better rating if beds were nicer.

Plus, prices outrageous! $199? Seriously?

Room Tip: Located on Prince St, not Orlando Drive, but clerk says that is mailing address. Very hard to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at Best Western Plus Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
I apologize for the beds, we had them replaced last year, but will check out the one in your room to figure out what the issue might be. I hope you will give us a try again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    151
    101
    58
    34
See reviews for
224
128
43
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maquoketa, IA, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Good value for the price. Convenient to the Sanford airport and pick-up available. Can be picked up and then rent a car from Enterprise (who will bring car to hotel) at off airport rates. Click on "Deals & Offers" to get discount on multiple day stays. Good hot / cold breakfast. A little mildew in the shower area but not bad.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at Best Western Plus Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We appreciate your review, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yadkinville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We arrived at the hotel to a clerk being upset due to the fact we booked the room through a booking agency, which saved us $100.00. Check in took longer because of that she said, but it has never taken longer in other hotels for us check in. After arriving to our room we decided to go get ice on the first floor after reading a sign that stated there was ice and vending on the 1st and 3rd floors. After searching the first floor with no ice in sight we asked at the front desk only to find out that the signs were all wrong and the ice and vending was the 2nd and 4th floors. Only one of their washing machines worked and everything else in the laundry room was out of order. For the price of the hotel I expected more from it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vls92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at Best Western Plus Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
I apologize for the check-in experience, i promise to make sure that is address to make the process must faster. I am sorry about the Ice machine, we had to move them, and the signs are on order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We stay Herr regualary and everytime it seems to get better. The rooms are clean and the staff is very helpful. We love the free shuttle and park and fly. Breakfast is out at 5am. We would stay here everytime we are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at Best Western Plus Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We chose this hotel since it was close to the sanford/orlando airport and it had supposedly been totally renovated 10 months prior. It is true that the hotel is about 3 miles from the sanford/orlando airport, but the hotel is in desperate need of a remodel/renovation. The floors and carpeting are very dirty and the walls need to be painted. The bathrooms need to be totally updated. The breakfast area would probably not receive a passing score from the health department.
The elevator made a very scary jolt type noise when going to the fourth floor. We chose to take the stairways after that. They were dirty and not kept up well. Sorry. This is not a good hotel. Much too expensive for a "dive" type hotel. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Concerningreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at Best Western Plus Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
I am sorry you didn't like the hotel, we just went through a huge renovation in June, new bathrooms,carpets, lobby, etc. Our breakfast area, i new, and we have a 100% score with the health department. I apologize for the elevator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I was assigned to room 201. The room was not acceptable. There were bugs in the room and in the beds.The room did not smell fress. The mattresses were not even on the beds properly and the bedding was hanging off. The air conditioner had what looked like peanuts and other debrey in it. The bathtub was mildew inside and out. There were holes in the walls. Yes the decor was pretty but when this was owned by Holiday Inn it was clean and the rates were much less! I asked if I could get a senior, AAA or AARP discount and they did not apply it. I called right away to ask for a replacement room and was not given one. I asked the daytime desk clerk to have the manager call me and he never did. He was not even available when I checked out which was after breakfast hours. I took photos of this room and am again requesting a refund. I live less than 5 miles away and used Holiday Inn for family emergencies in my home or guests but would never ever recommend or stay here again. There was so much wrong and no one cared! By the way the hotel had other available rooms that night so I don't know why I was given such an awful room. I will be glad to send you photo's but I expect a refund !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at Best Western Plus Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
I am so sorry for you experience during you stay, and i apologize for the inconvenience this caused during your stay. We will get this corrected ASAP.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rantoul, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We needed a place close to the airport, and we were able to check in late in the day. The place is very convenient to the Sanford Airport. It was great to have a comfortable king size bed and flat screen television. Of course, if one looks close enough, there is always room for improvement. A little deep cleaning wouldn't hurt. My husband said the patio need attention to. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lodalady_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at Best Western Plus Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanford
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Orlando / Sanford
3.7 mi away
Monroe's On The Lake Hotel & Banquet Hall
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#5 of 6 in Sanford
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orlando North/Sanford
4.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn - Orlando North/Lake Mary
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Mary at Colonial TownPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel
Address: 3401 S. Orlando Drive, (US17-92), Sanford, FL 32773-5607 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Sanford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 4 and is an easy drive from Orlando. You may feel like touring attractions like Disney World® and Universal Studios® Orlando or there is other nearby family fun, including the Central Florida Zoo, Marina and Daytona International Speedway®. Guest who stay at our hotel have perks like an airport shuttle (shuttle hours 5:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.), Internet access and a delicious hot breakfast every morning. So retreat to the sunshine state and experience the best of central Florida with a name you can trust and at a price you can afford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sanford / Lake Mary Area Hotel Sanford
Holiday Inn Sanford
Sanford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing