We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Higgins House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Sanford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2012

My wife and I were extremely pleased with our stay at

Higgins House. The room was large and comfortable, the innkeepers
Lou and Sharon are warm, helpful and friendly. The are true B & B people. They do it for the love of the art. The breakfast was delicious and abundant. The hosts informative and plugged into the city. It is evident that they really enjoy what they do.

Sanford is a great town with fun things to do. We highly recommend it,.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tonylofaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 54 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

Sanford's been in the news lately, all the time. We had booked a room in Higgins House late in Feb for Mar. 31, so at that time it was just a lovely central Florida town. Believe me, it still is. All the hype is just that -- hype. The Higgins House faces a park several blocks from the center of town. It was built in the late 1800s, and is the first "historic" B&B that we've been to that doesn't smell the least bit musty. It's a lovely comfortable house and lovely comfortable owners -- in residence, I might add. Lou and Sharon went out of their way to make us feel pampered. Lou made us tasty appetizers to accompany our late afternoon wine. He's quite a cook, experimenting to make unusual, delicious foods. (Try the cornbread -- it's to die for!)
Our bed was very comfortable. A claw-foot tub made it a little difficult for my bad knees, but that's part of historic homes. We stayed there in order to take the autotrain the next day. We went to the station in the morning, got our seat and dinner assignments, then returned to the B&B for several hours. "No problem," said Lou, "stay as long as you'd like." What a nice way to end our 3-month Florida stay.

Room Tip: There's one room on the first floor that we stayed in. Two on the second floor, with a TV in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbara70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I was greeted by owners upon arrival. My dog Baylee and I were welcomed and shown to our room. We were oriented to the backyard area for Baylee as well. I had a dog training clinic I was traveling for, and so happy to find a nice, comfortable accommodation for me and my dog.
Thank you Higgins House!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joni E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I came to Sanford visit a family member and was very pleased with the inn and innkeepers. Actually it's a Bed & Breakfast and the breakfasts were delicious. Lou and Sharon were excellent hosts. Higgins is House is cozy, with its antiques to see, and lovely to visit. Sit out on the porch or go upstairs to the sitting area where there is a smaller porch. I was in the Wicker Room, which I enjoyed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ktraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Was recently in Sanford for their "Love your Shorts" Film festival and stayed at the Higgins House B&B. What a treat. Lou and Sharon are wonderful hosts. Spent part of one day just sitting on the front porch reading. Don't miss the homemade raisin bread french toast for breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank akruckemyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here very much. The wicker room was fantastic and so was the food. The owner/hosts are wonderful, friendly people.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kaalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stopped for a night on our way to Autotrain which is 5 minutes away. Very comfortable & convenient. Lou & Sharon are perfect hosts. Breakfast was terrific. Relaxed on the front porch & watched life go by. Sanford is an interesting town with a good German restaurant, the Willow Tree.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gramps55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanford
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Orlando / Sanford
0.6 mi away
Monroe's On The Lake Hotel & Banquet Hall
4.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orlando North/Sanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Mary at Colonial TownPark
3.0 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#5 of 6 in Sanford
174 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn - Orlando North/Lake Mary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higgins House Victorian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higgins House Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Address: 420 S Oak Ave, Sanford, FL 32771-1826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Sanford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sanford
Price Range: $80 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't miss our backyard Botanical Garden! Sit on our large comfortable front porch overlooking the park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing