We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Higgins House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Sanford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I was greeted by owners upon arrival. My dog Baylee and I were welcomed and shown to our room. We were oriented to the backyard area for Baylee as well. I had a dog training clinic I was traveling for, and so happy to find a nice, comfortable accommodation for me and my dog.
Thank you Higgins House!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joni E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
31
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I came to Sanford visit a family member and was very pleased with the inn and innkeepers. Actually it's a Bed & Breakfast and the breakfasts were delicious. Lou and Sharon were excellent hosts. Higgins is House is cozy, with its antiques to see, and lovely to visit. Sit out on the porch or go upstairs to the sitting area where there is a smaller porch. I was in the Wicker Room, which I enjoyed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ktraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Was recently in Sanford for their "Love your Shorts" Film festival and stayed at the Higgins House B&B. What a treat. Lou and Sharon are wonderful hosts. Spent part of one day just sitting on the front porch reading. Don't miss the homemade raisin bread french toast for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank akruckemyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here very much. The wicker room was fantastic and so was the food. The owner/hosts are wonderful, friendly people.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kaalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stopped for a night on our way to Autotrain which is 5 minutes away. Very comfortable & convenient. Lou & Sharon are perfect hosts. Breakfast was terrific. Relaxed on the front porch & watched life go by. Sanford is an interesting town with a good German restaurant, the Willow Tree.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gramps55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed here to be within walking distance for an event in historic downtown Sanford. The hosts were wonderful, very welcoming and gracious. We enjoyed delicious homemade treats and wine in the afternoon and a fabulous breakfast in the morning. We stayed in the Cedar Room, which was very comfortable. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who will be staying in or near Sanford.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnloric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

High quality bed and breakfasts have at least two good features: wonderful places to rest your body and restorative foods to fuel you. The Higgins House has both -- and more. The beds are beautifully appointed and the rooms comfortable and well-stocked. The breakfasts were sumptuous. Our hosts were gracious and accommodating, ready to fulfill our needs and wishes. We loved sitting on the front porch in the late afternoon with a cup of tea or coffee, rocking in a wicker chair, reading a book before heading out for dinner.

My husband and I spent several days at this B&B while we explored central Florida, a location new to us. Higgins House is within easy walking of downtown historic Sanford with lovely restaurants, antique shops, entertainment and scenery. Like the Higgins House itself, the streets around the B&B are filled with beautifully restored homes from the late 1880s through the early 1900s which we loved seeing on our strolls. Our location in Sanford also proved to be a good spot to drive to historic and natural areas in the larger region. We highly recommend this great Victorian B & B.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen6998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanford
0.6 mi away
Monroe's On The Lake Hotel & Banquet Hall
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Orlando / Sanford
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Mary at Colonial TownPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orlando North/Sanford
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn - Orlando North/Lake Mary
3.0 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#5 of 6 in Sanford
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higgins House Victorian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higgins House Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Property: Higgins House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Address: 420 S Oak Ave, Sanford, FL 32771-1826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Sanford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't miss our backyard Botanical Garden! Sit on our large comfortable front porch overlooking the park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing