We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zoom Air Experience”

Central Florida Zoo & Botanical Gardens
Ranked #5 of 48 things to do in Sanford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Nestled in a protected natural wetland, the Central Florida Zoo & Botanical Gardens has animals from around the world including, rhinos, giraffes, leopards, monkeys, exotic birds, an Insect Zoo, and much more. Our Reptile House offers the southeast's largest collection of reptiles. We also offer live animal encounters, many educational opportunities and demonstrations, daily Keeper Chats and Shows, a Tropical Splash Playground, and the Little Florida Coastline Railroad and Animal Carousel. For a small fee, you can feed our giraffes, or go behind-the-scenes with our Indian rhinos! With something for everyone, the adventures are endless!
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Lake Mary, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Zoom Air Experience”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The course itself was a lot of fun, however, the briefing beforehand by the monotone, unenergetic and unfriendly staff members nearly ruined the trip. They seemed irritated and annoyed that they actually had to be at work AND demonstrate how to use the course and equipment. Customer relations is NOT where they should be! Thank goodness the course and ziplines were entertaining.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RosieJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    194
    130
    45
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely upset w/ Zip Lining!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We brought our children on a Saturday morning to do the zip line course. We were greeted by employees that were extremely RUDE!! We kept getting yelled at for the smallest things & the (very understaffed) people that we're working we're RUDE & acted like we were an inconvenience. It took an hour & a half from the minute we stood in line to even beginning the zip line course!!! Not only will we NEVER do the zip line again but we will NOT be renewing our annual zoo passes. Very upset!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Crissytimko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A little small”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This zoo was a little small, considering it's proximity to Orlando. There are not as many exhibits as I was expecting. The zoo is large with long wooden walkways, but it is small in the way that there are not many animals. There was an amphibian room, which had a wide variety of snakes and lizards.

There is a large zipline course on site that is well worth a visit. I would have given it higher ratings, but because this was a review for the zoo itself, I found it lacking.

Please note, the zoo is very well maintained. It was very clean, and the animals were well taken care of. I think if it had more funding, and it expanded, it would be wonderful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank AmandaChristion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice zoo!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We went here on vacation and it's a very nice zoo. It's cheaper than most attractions in the area. I like that the animals have large and nice habitats plus there are plenty of them to see. The splash area for kids is nice too and is no extra charge. We spent about 4 hours looking at everything and we really enjoyed it.

Helpful?
3 Thank jeffr925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible experience.”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We've been to many zoos and were very disappointed due to the fact the cost was too much for a basic zoo with very few animals. Also I'm a travel agent with proper ID and was denied a travel agent rate because I didn't have business card to supply staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ajuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Florida Zoo & Botanical Gardens also viewed

Sanford, Central Florida
 
Sanford, Central Florida
 

Been to Central Florida Zoo & Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing