We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over developed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandestin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2008

This is a classic example of developers gone wild. While they stacked up all the tall buildings right against the beach, if you don't have an ocean view in one of those buildings, you might as well go to New York City and look at the skyline because you'll never know the water is right over there. Frankly, I was deeply disappointed in the whole over-developed property. It's an exercise of seeing just how much developers can stuff into an acreage. The village is far come interesting. The shuttle bus is a long wait to go anywhere. We were told we had a room with a balcony when we made our reservation, and again at checkin time, and guess what, no balcony, only a closed in room with a "panoramic resort view", which consisted of a view of the red tiles that covered the roof of some small, crowded dwellings. I was told the manager would contact me to talk about it -- the manager never did call -- that was an exercise in trying to get me off the phone gracefully at that moment with a promise of a call from the manager. I would not go back to this place if it were the last vacation place on earth. It's disgusting (and expensive). We left one day early due to a death in the family and they still charged us for the last night. Do what you will, but we'll never go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank billsbaitshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,778 - 1,784 of 1,844 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2008

This place is great! The resort is huge and there are numerous places to stay at. We actually stayed at Beachside I, which is on the beach. It appeared to be a private rental, but it was laid out like a hotel, which hotel-like phones and maids. Yet, our unit was around 1700sqf over looking the pool and beach. My wife and 10 year old loved it!

There was a lot to do, including free bike rentals, but most things were a little pricey. The 3 of us could easily spend $100+ a meal in the village. So probably not the best place to go if you are on a budget. However, that's not to say that you had to do things at the resort.

The only negative thing we found was that the free tram didn't seem to like coming to our resort often. We would call and see a bunch pass by, going to other resorts, but sometimes they would never come.

We will definitely go back soon, but we plan to reserve a golf-cart for the week next time and avoid the tram all together.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnAgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Upon arriving the first thing I noticed outside the condo at Beachwalk was the mess of leaf litter and general rundown look. The landscaping is nice but there has not been an attempt to clean the patio's, patio furniture, or walkways in at least 6 months. Moldy exterior in need of a good cleaning.
Once inside the room it had not been cleaned. ( I will cut them some slack on that one because once I told them the room was cleaned within an hour)
Rugs at doorways are disgusting. Room has a smell.
Bring your own towels and bedspread. The bedding supplied is uncomfortable. Pillows are small and beadspread is scratchy. Very few towels but this may be dumb luck.
You will notice the nice whirlpool tub in the master bedroom....don't think about using it though. Tub is for "owners" only and is disabled for guests.
Summary: Overpriced for what you get. Grounds at condo are dirty and everytime you walk inside from out you track in a mess. Pool at beachwalk is small. Tram service is a joke....if you must stay at this resort stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank johnkarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

We rented/stayed in a house, obtained via VRBO. We went for 1 week : my wife & I with 6 teen-agers.

After some of these reviews I was very worried. Maybe the hotels on this resort are troublesome, but the houses & condos all looked perfect. The grounds and landscaping are very nice too. The golf courses are in great shape. The Village was lively each night with loads of restaurants, plenty of live music, and nice shops. “Hammerheads” was our favorite; it’s the most casual and always had live music. The “Funky Blues Shack” restaurant had karaoke where little kids would sing “ABC” and “Twinkle Twinkle” which was very entertaining. ….big kids would sing too.
The beach was mostly clean with typical resort things to do – Chair rentals with umbrellas, Para-sailing, wave runners (at the harbor), volleyball, etc.
At night, the beach empties except for mostly teens – it’s the “cool” place to hang out, and all 6 of our little group went down there every night for at least a little while.

It was a perfect place for a family vacation! It’s much like Hilton Head Island with the bike trails & the comfort of feeling that your kids can go off on their own. And there are plenty of interesting beach restaurants to visit if heading up & down the Gulf coast.

The resort itself is in a great location - Destin is 10 miles west, and Panama City 30 miles east. Both of which are great destinations if you are looking for a change from this Resort for a day. Both Margaritaville in Panama City & the Hard Rock in Destin made it seem like we were in an exotic, far away destination (it did for us because we don’t have them at home). Both are located in nice shopping areas too. Lastly, the 6 kids with us (ages 14 to 16) all absolutely loved “teen night” at the Fudpukkers in Destin. 3 of them didn’t want to go but were talked into going. It’s a must for your teen-agers.

It was such a good trip that we are already talking about going back. The 6 kids said it was their "best ever vacation" and "it's only a 12 hour drive, let's just turn around and go back". ...I have never heard that from these kids before.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvDCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

This was our first trip to the area, so not knowing what to expect, we booked at this hotel. The grounds were gorgeous and the pool beautiful. Our room was super nice with views of the bay. We opted to go to a public beach nearby on 30A versus the resort beach which was way too crowded, We enjoyed Baytowne Wharf and the fireworks overlooking the marina. The staff at the hotel was very helpful with giving directions and helping us with restaurant choices. Since we did go to the beach often, we did not regret not staying directly on the beach. A lot of the condos there that do have a Gulf view are still a ways from the water.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jaimietoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

Tried to book thru the Sandestin website, but ended up making the reservation by phone. Room was just as described, a one-bedroom condo. Nice comfortable queen size bed, and a pull-out sofa, which was fine for the kids. Two full bathrooms was nice to have. Shuttle bus service to the beach was efficient. Location at the Village was great, just out the door to shopping, dining, entertainment. We had a problem our second night. Upon returning to the Inn, our key cards did not work. Security on duty at the parking garage was no help. We had to walk to the Grand Sandestin hotel (it's the central check-in for ALL the properties) to get new key cards made. It was unsettling that they made new cards for us and did not verify our identities. Anyone could have gotten keys. Creepy. The beach was beautiful, and the freeform pool was quite nice, with a small "island" in the center (perfect for the kids to do cannonballs!) We look forward to returning to Sandestin soon!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank threedixiegrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

From the pictures this place looks great but that is not the case. The service is shockingly HORRIBLE. The front desk clerk wasn't trained properly and couldn't find us our requested room with two beds. (*note, the property considers a pull out bed another bed.) The manager on duty was in a suit and shirt that he looked liked he slept in they were so wrinkled. He quickly explained that we were in the wrong by not excepting a pull out bed but tried to find us another room. He also told the front desk trainee how to handle quests when requests aren't met.In front of us he pretty much said, "tell them it is what it is." After check-in, we were hoping for improvement but that didn't happen. Housekeeping was non-responsive, the room was small and cramped, the pool was small, with no shade, the concierge didn't have answers to simple questions about dining and transportation to the airport. We were going to stay for 4 days but left 2 days early. It just wasn't worth it

oh.. only kudos go to the beach staff. They were awesome! The pool by the beach is way too small for all the people trying to use it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Traveler315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandestin
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.1 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
4 mi away
30A Suites
30A Suites
#1 of 1 in Santa Rosa Beach
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Address: 9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550-7226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Sandestin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandestin
Price Range: $149 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Vacatia, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandestin Golf And Beach Hotel Sandestin
Sandestin Hotel And Beach
Sandestin Resort And Beach
Sandestin Golf Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing