We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandestin
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This resort is in a great location and the beach it literally a few steps from the back of the resort which I loved. Th room was not what I would call resort style it was a regular room actually the bed the kitchen and sofa was all in a small room together which I hated. The view was awful because there was a huge sand dune blocking my view and the sad part is they would not place us on a higher floor which we requested and was assured that we would get what we asked for. We were on the second floor all the way on an end in the corner. But as we drove around we saw so many other nicer resorts that we will definitely stat in on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPOA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
HPOA,

We appreciate your business and you choosing to stay with us at Sandestin. I was saddened to see you were not satisfied with your accommodations. We do our best to meet our guests reservation requests. We have so much to offer here at Sandestin. When ready to visit us again, please contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com. I will personally oversee care your reservation and see your unit meets your expectation of Sandestin. We look forward to your next stay.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    319
    168
    119
    103
See reviews for
592
325
21
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

ou. Awesome place with amenities. Called to reserve room with King Size Bed and Queen sleeper sofa which was confirmed within Grand Village after web site stated King or Queen. We have a king at home and have already been in Mexico Beach for the past week where we ha a King also. Once room was shown as available on app I called because it showed a Queen bed. The reservation was impressed that the app showed that much, room being on 3rd Floor in Bahia complex but said it was wrong in that it had a King. At check in I again requested clarification in order to make a change if necessary and agai. Was told it was a King. After hauling all our luggage inclusive of a 3 y/o girls household realized it was a Queen. Didn't feel like complaining afterwards because I didn't want to move everything. They probably realized that's what people end up doing. Don't bank on getting your reservation right. They confirmed the wrong reservation 3 times with 3 different staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
David P,

Thank you for choosing Sandestin! We apologize for the miscommunication about your unit accommodations. Please know this is not the Sandestin standard. Your comments have been forwarded to the appropriate departments for review and action. We strive to accommodate all of our guests needs and I am so sorry we failed you during this visit. Please feel free to contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com when you make your next reservations. I will personally review your reservations for you. We look forward to you visiting us again soon!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is our second year staying at the pilot house-last year I was attending a conference at the same time so we didn't get to take full advantage of everything the resort has. We decided to come back and are spending a week here. We have 6 and 4 year old daughters, and they are also having a great time. Our room was one bedroom with 2 bathrooms. Kitchen fairly well stocked although we only had one kitchen towel and no oven mitts etc to remove stuff from the oven. Fold out sofa OK for small kids, and the king bed was very .comfortable. We have shopped in the Village, went kayaking at the marina, and made three trips to the beach. We chose to go to a public access beach close by because the resort beach was pretty crowded the one time we checked it out. The resort is also close to other activities such as boating, outlet shopping, and Gulf Islands National Seashore. We have had a great time here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Sherri S,

Thank you for choosing Sandestin for your most recent visit to our area. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and all we have to offer here at Sandestin. We appreciate your business and we look forward to you coming to Stay & Play with us again soon!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We own a condo in sandestin so it's interesting to read all the reviews of the resort...the good, bad and ugly! I sympathize with those who do not have a pleasant experience while staying here, nothing's worse than feeling like you've wasted your time and money. Here is some inside information which may help future vacationers when choosing Sandestin.

What many reviewers may not know is ALL of sandestin resort accommodations are actually owned by individuals, not by the resort itself, including the Grand sandestin and LeCiel. Sandestin resorts contracts with owners to rent their units and pays a percentage of the rental to the owner. This fact alone can dictact wether your vacational rental is well appointed, well kept or up to your standards. Sandestin does it's best to maintain their rentals but not having exclusiveness of each units can pose issues. This is why when booking you are not told where your unit will be, they don't really know since the owner could decide to use their unit the same days you are booked. If you want to see the actual unit you are renting, try vrbo or some of the other rental agencies doing business in Sandestin. Some accommodations in Sandestin are original to the resort when it opened in the 70's. LeCiel being one, some owners chose to update their units when the common areas were updated and others did not, this is the reason for all the mixed reviews of that facility. When booking through sandestin resorts, get the total cost including any resorts fees UP FRONT so there are no surprises and ask the reservation agent to give you the name of the building you will be staying in if possible, then look it up on the website for location information and even pictures of the property.

Next, if you are looking for a BEACH vacation then book a place on the BEACHSIDE. If you are wanting more options such as biking, fishing, tennis, the marina activities, baytowne wharf then book your stay on the BAYSIDE....it's that simple. Peak summer months the traffic and tram service can make for big headaches so plan accordingly, don't book your stay on the other side of the resort if you are wanting to head to the beach every day.

The beaches are crowded in the summer, not much can be done about that but if possible go early in the day or late in the evening. It's beautiful watching the sunrise when no one is on the beach. Another hidden gem is the marina. Its a Great place to enjoy the bay under a palm tree, have lunch, dinner, drinks in the marina bar while admiring the beautiful boats/yachts and to watch the sunset. The marina has a bait shop and they will even rent fishing poles so you can fish in the bay or in one of the many stocked ponds around the resort.

The Sandestin Hilton has a Starbucks which stays open til 3:00pm during the week, 4:00pm on the weekends. There are 2 Another Broken Eggs in Sandestin, one in baytowne and the other on the bayside but near the conference center. Lumpy's wine bar has a 5 flight wine tasting every night for only $15.00. Bistro Bijoux offers a 3 for 30.00 Sunday thru Thursday if seated before 6:00pm. Grafitti's has a beautiful deck overlooking the bay and hammerheads has live music every night.

I hope those of you who did not have a pleasant experience in sandestin will give it another chance. It's not perfect but tries very hard (with my expensive monthly HOA fees) to be a first rate vacation spot and community. I love owning a home here and know if given a chance, it can be a special place for you as well.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
15 Thank SMUMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
SMUMOM,

Thank you so much for you post and your support of Sandestin! We appreciate your support of the resort and what we are all about. Thank you for your partnership. We have so many exciting things to do here at Sandestin and something for everyone. We look forward to 2014 and all that is in store. Thank you for choosing Sandestin as your home away from home!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have stayed at Sanddestin Golf and Resort several times. This experience was rated poor. In times past I have stayed on the bayside, in the Lasata and Bahia. this time I stayed in the Luau Tower 1. The hallway was dirty, stain spots all over the floor. When you entered the room, there were stain spots on the floor as well. The bathroom was plain, not decorated at all, all of the towels/wash clothes were in a basket on the floor. The room was not indicative of a room that should cost anywhere near 250-300/night. We did not receive housekeeping the day before so we needed towels, we called the front desk it was like begging for towels. We were questioned about getting housekeeping and on top of that they still never brought them, we happen to see housekeeping in the hallway. On top of that we tried to enter our rooms on 2 occasions and the cards would not work. We had to wait over 30 mins for replacements. Our encounter with guest services were poor, their idea of customer service was ridiculous. One representatives name Diamond, "like the jewel" as she kept reminding me, was condescending and lacked customer services skills, not sure how she got a job in the hospitality field. Actually there were a couple that we had encounters with that seemed like they were in the wrong profession. Now don't get me wrong Sanddestin as a whole is great, as mentioned we have stayed here several times. My recommendation is to definitely stay in the village area, at The Grand or one of the towers in that location. The experience at Lasata was great, customer service was good, no issues at all. Maybe staff is trained differently on that side, they were definitely more professional, something that you would expect from that type of resort. Don't stay in the Luau, maybe just go over to swim in the pool.

Room Tip: Stay on the Bayside- do not stay at the Luau
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank res j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
res j,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your feedback. We are saddened to see you were not completely satisfied with your stay this time. We apologize you did not receive the guest service you are accustomed to receiving while you were here. As you know, we strive to meet all of our guests expectations and deliver exceptional guest service. We are sorry we failed you during this stay. Please feel free to contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com when making your next reservation. We appreciate your business and we look forward your next stay with us.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from spending a week at the Sandestin Golf and beach resort! What an incredible place. They have something for everybody in the family. Golf, fishing, pools, beach, bicycles, free tram rides, beautiful grounds, the village was so much fun! Live music for the adults, lotsa fun stuff for kids! Best vacation spot ever!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
tdugas,

We are so pleased to see you had such a great stay with us here at Sandestin! We do have something for everyone of every age. With 2400 acres to play on there is always something to do. We appreciate your business and you choosing Sandestin. We look forward to your next stay.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The pictures on the website made the rooms seem a lot nicer than they are. We got a 1 bedroom at the luau with a pullout sleeper. We were on the 16th floor upon checking into the room we noticed the balcony door lock was broke which was a concern with two small kids. Later on that night when getting the pullout sleeper ready we noticed it was broke as well and couldn't be used so 4 of us had to share a bed that night. The hotel was contacted and it took two days to get any resolution all the while 4 people sharing a bed. The bathroom had mildew everywhere in it. You could tell someone tried to paint over it. The walls were all marked up. They get you with a free bike rental/boogey board/kayak but what they don't tell you is supplies are limited and out of the 4 nights we stayed we were able to get a bike once and were never able to get a boogey board.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Chad S,

Thank you for you most recent stay with us here at Sandestin. We apologize you were not satisfied with your stay. We strive to meet all of our guests needs and I am sorry we failed you. We have so much to offer and saddened to see you were unable to take advantage of some of our complimentary amenities. We do hope you will choose to visit Sandestin again. Please contact me directly at executiveoffice@sandestin.com when making your next reservation and I will assist in seeing you are placed in a unit that that will meet all of your needs.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandestin
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
8.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Property: Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
Address: 9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550-7226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Sandestin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandestin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandestin Golf And Beach Hotel Sandestin
Sandestin Hotel And Beach
Sandestin Resort And Beach
Sandestin Golf Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing