We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not cool---No a/c in June” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sandestin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not cool---No a/c in June”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed at the Grand property. Check in was OK, except I had to wait 2 hours for a room and there was no clear direction on where to park. I went to the wrong garage. There are also no bellmen to assist with luggage and limited luggage carts. There is no gift shop for sundries, and no food or drink options except for restaurants in village. I did find one vending machine. There was a bar but was not operational. To top it off, there was a random power outage that messed up air conditioning in common areas and in my room. Even after I called to report there was no sense of apology or urgency on the property's behalf. It is no fun to try to sleep in a so called "resort" with no a/c in June. Sure, they couldn't predict a power outage, but they did not handle the situation well. In fact, I would recommend staying at other properties based on my recent experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geauxsaintsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
geauxsaintsfan,

We appreciate your business and we thank you for staying with us on your most recent visit to our area. We certainly apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. Gulf Power had a transformer that blew during your stay and we apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during this situation. We strive during these events to do all we can to make our guests as informed and comfortable as possible. What you experienced with our staff is certainly unacceptable and has been addressed. Please contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com as we would like to discuss your stay with us in more detail. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    295
    159
    116
    102
See reviews for
558
298
20
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goodlettsville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, Hotel LeCiel.
Very beautiful Resort with lots of amenities and various hotels condos and rentals. The Hotel we stayed in was very nice but needed a few updates. The room was comfortable and clean, although the towels need replacing also. My husband and I were not really in the room much but to sleep and change but the few things can be updated. All in all we did enjoy our stay because it was so close to beach and the area was beautiful.

Room Tip: Always call ahead if there are any events.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaChanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
LaChanda S,

Thank you for your most recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking time to review the Resort and LeCiel. Hope you took in the sunsets over the Choctawhatchee Bay from the balcony of your unit as they are breathtaking this time of year. We are pleased to see you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the resort. We have something for everyone and so much to do. We hope you had a chance to enjoy some of our many free complimentary amenities. The weather has been perfect for all of our outdoor activities. We look forward to your next stay!!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed at the LeCiel, which is a little dated. Rooms were average, but the view was incredable, our room faced the golf course, but at the elevator lobby, it looks out to the intercoastal, what a view.
Check in was a breeze, once there you can park your car and take the tram anywhere on the property, and to the beach. Just remember it comes about every 1/2 hr. Alot of things to do, just down load the app. and stay intouch, tells you everything thats going on.
Out let Mall is just a 5 min. drive and a buch of other restaurants off site if you don't fell like paying resort prices for a burger. Very close to other places too.

Room Tip: Get a room looking over the intercoastal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Damian C,

We are so please to see you enjoyed your stay in LeCiel. The best sunrise and sunset views are from the balconies at LeCiel. Whether a resort.golf course view or a bay view, they are the best. We are so pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us and had a chance to take advantage of our unlimited complimentary transportation. We strive to meet all of our guests needs and we are so pleased you had such a great stay. There is so much to do and see on and off the resort. We look forward to your next arrival!

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed at The Baytown Wharf absolutely one of my favorite places to stay!! Everything is walking distance shopping, restaurants, dancing! Lots to do for kids also!! There is a shuttle that takes you to the beach or the resort has a nice pool!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spoppell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
spoppell,

Thank you for your stay with us here at Sandestin. We appreciate your business and we hope your stay was all you expected it to be. We have had great weather to enjoy all of our complimentary amenities and for the kids to enjoy all of the activities in the Village. We thank you for choosing Sandestin and we look forward to your next Stay & Play date with us!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We love Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. It is the perfect place for a family vacation. My wife and three young boys come every year. We stayed in Westwinds this time. The accommodations were fantastic, the beach view spectacular. The beach is the best in the country. Baytowne Wharf is spectacular with incredible restaurants and tons of things to do for kids. All four golf courses are amazing. I highly recommend Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. Try it once and you'll go back every year, like we do.

Room Tip: We've stayed in multiple buildings at Sandestin. They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Brent D,

Thank you for your review of your most recent stay with us. We appreciate you continuing to choose Sandestin each and every year. There is so much to do and tons of activities from bikes to beach to waterslide and more for the kids. So pleased to see your enjoyed your stay in Westwinds. We look forward your next stay with us!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Beautiful location. Although I took this vacation with some girl friends, this trip could easily be great family vacation. You definitely need a car to enjoy this resort and to travel to the Sandestin strip mall outside the resort . I went to one of the best restaurant on the resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
AnnemarieE,

Thank you for your recent girls trip to Sandestin. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next stay. We have so much to do and see on the resort and in our area and we are pleased to see you enjoyed it all. We look forward to your next stay with us and having a chance to take full advantage of all 2400 acres and all we have to do and see.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed in Grand property on June 10 - June 14th...the following is a summary of my experience:

The bad - check in - the front desk was training a new person. We received no information and didn't provide directions to our property or help with our luggage.

Room was nice and clean but not special. My wife has Menieres disorder which is a inner ear disorder that has left her with extreme sensitivity to noise. I asked for a room that was in a quiet location. The room we received had an a/c that created a noise that was like being placed between two large subwoofers. It was a torture chamber for her. I called and talked to the manager Aaron who was leaving for the evening but agreed to move us the next morning. We toughed it out it out for the night. I had to work through the move with the front desk. They put us in a different room right next to the elevator and ice maker. My wife doesn't want to move again.

Housekeeping - we are in the room getting ready when they came to the door. We asked if they could come back in 15 minutes. They said no and asked if we needed towels and that we needed to sign the form for their supervisor to show that we turned down housekeeping.

Shuttle to the beach - poor service....they needed to see my room key which was at the bottom of the beach bag...I asked do you really need to me to get it....we were getting on at the resort site...the driver said yes I need to see it in a rude tone...she drove crazy too but got us their fast...

Good - beautiful grounds and lot to do

Very commercialized not idea for a quiet unique vacation...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Tom C,

Thank you for choosing Sandestin. We appreciate your business and we do hope you will choose to stay with us again soon. Please know what you experienced is not the standard here at Sandestin. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered regarding your unit location. We strive to meet all of our guest requests and handle all guest concerns and issues to their satisfaction. We are confident we have many accommodations that will meet your needs and requests for your next stay and one of our reservationist will be happy to assist you. We look forward to you choosing Sandestin again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandestin
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
8.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Property: Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
Address: 9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550-7226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Sandestin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sandestin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandestin Golf And Beach Hotel Sandestin
Sandestin Hotel And Beach
Sandestin Resort And Beach
Sandestin Golf Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing