We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveler rating
131
46
7
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
131
46
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews made to order breakfast babe ruth treasure island robert kennedy gluten free pancakes library area butterfly garden historic hotel wellness retreat picked fresh chef prepares a small swimming pool historic bed and breakfast travel sites order omelettes old florida turkey sausage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 188 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

Stayed at Crystal Bay for a golf vacation with a group of friends. The hotel was excellent, staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the Breakfast was fantastic. Hotel had a great, family feel to it, and a very laid back vibe with yoga classes and a wellness retreat going on while we were there.

Conveniently located close to St. Pete beach and restaurants and within easy driving distance to many excellent golf courses. We played three nearby courses—Dunedin, Bardmoor, and Cypress Creek—and all were excellent.

We will come back next year!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank kevinbE2322UO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalBayHotel, Public Relations Manager at Crystal Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Kevin, we enjoyed having you with us and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the positive review and we will see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Nice room but slightly small. Comfortable bed. Very friendly service. Good value. Excellent breakfast in lovely breakfast room. Free parking,good internet. Not on bay but close. St. Petersburg and Tampa not a great vacation spot.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank wino873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalBayHotel, Public Relations Manager at Crystal Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

What a wonderful hotel. It was built in 1915 and has hosted lots of famous people. We had a king room on the third floor. Not too big, but with all the amenities. The big selling point of this property is the included breakfast. My husband had their home made hash every morning. Everything is made to order. Staff is great. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lynnlitchfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalBayHotel, Public Relations Manager at Crystal Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Thank you for choosing Crystal Bay Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the positive feedback and hope to see you again. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019 via mobile

From “Hello” to “Goodbye”, the staff was absolutely wonderful. Kathy was very welcoming and took time out of her busy schedule to get to know us and genuinely inquired about our interests and reason for travel. The hotel is older but don’t let that deter you from visiting. It is well-kept and has been updated/modernized to accommodate their guests all while protecting their historic qualities. Upon entering our spacious room, we found the word “Welcome” neatly drawn into the cozy blanket on the foot of the bed.

The best part about Crystal Bay has to be their full service, made-to-order breakfast which is included in your room rate. The pancakes are delicious!

The area surrounding Crystal Bay is beautiful and you can easily get to the countless beaches (St. Pete Beach, Treasure Island, etc.) if desired.

I would absolutely stay here again!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank HappyTravels1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalBayHotel, Public Relations Manager at Crystal Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, (and our pancakes)! We'll pass along your comments to Kathy and the staff. Thanks for choosing Crystal Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

Lovely restored old property and nearly all the staff were delightful, helpful and cheerful. Breakfast was a feast and the waitresses absolutely charming. However the hotel is situated on a very busy road intersection and in our room (veranda) it was very noisy with a lot of light pollution. The internal sound proofing was also inadequate as our door had a 2" gap below which let in noise from the corridor and reception area and also let in light. Nice small pool but right next to road.

Room tip: avoid Veranda rooms. Might be better on other side of building.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathysThoughts, Guest Relations Manager at Crystal Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Thank you, Christine, for your feedback. We always appreciate every opportunity to improve. We regret that your stay with us we not entirely comfortable. I will pass along your comments to our general manager, to see what steps we can take to improve noise-proofing in the veranda rooms.

As for location, here's a little history on the hotel. When it was built in 1915, it was waterfront property. There was no bridge to Treasure Island (the beach) and our busy road was a dirt road. Of course, once developers built the bridge, traffic increased. March is our busiest month of the year, with 3 different colleges and the public school having spring breaks, which of course leads to more traffic.

We have a white noise machine for guests at the front desk to block out unwanted sounds. We hope you will consider visiting us again during a different season. If you call us direct we can hand-pick a quiet room for you.

We hope your future travels are pleasant. Thank you for staying with us.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews