We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacks consistent quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed February 1, 2014

You will need to ask for many things you need including the basics like glasses. Food served is repetitive and just OK, not terrific. Ordered room service, told it would take 90 minutes - it never even showed up. When I called they had "lost" the order.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Nance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Journey Ambassador at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Nance,
Thank you for the honest review. We will use your comments to better our service in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,121 - 1,127 of 1,658 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

Located close to the water with nice views from many rooms, this hotel is a very good choice for the area. Rooms are nicely decorated and well maintained. The staff was very pleasant. Perhaps the nicest surprise was dinner. Restaurants in hotels are typically so-so and the decor of this restaurant was not impressive, but the food was very good.

Room Tip: Pick one with a good view of the bay in the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stanner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Journey Ambassador at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Stanner57,
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Hilton properties are usually decent to good. This particular property is on par with many other Hilton Hotels with several notable exceptions, as detailed below.

First and utmost, if you seek luxury accommodations in St. Petersburg, FL stay at the Vinoy Renaissance. The Hilton is not of that caliber, yet in terms of pricing, lobby decor, and staff attitude, they're clearly attempting to be something that this hotel is NOT!

The staff are friendly and courteous, but that's as far as it goes.

Housekeeping is not up to par. For four days that I resided here, the same toe nail clippings (not mine) were plainly visible in the room on the carpet from the start of my stay. This tells me that they don't care enough to vacuum and that they do not vacuum between guests. When I asked for Housekeeping to service my room by noon, and returned at 2 PM, I found it just as I had left it in the morning. This happened not once, but twice. I asked for extra tea bags in the room, as I do not drink coffee, and that happened once with one extra bag! Give me a break, how much does a tea bag cost? By management's behavior, you'd think tea was gold here.

The elevators are terrible in this place; they creak and make all sort of noises that they should not. One vibrated early on and several days later actually shook as it travels its route. Up or down, its the same. Numerous guests mentioned this and management did not manage to repair this during my stay. The issue spread from one to all three guest elevators.

If you're here for a meeting, be certain to bring wool clothing, and wear your long johns along with a coat and gloves. The meeting rooms are sickeningly freezing cold. Despite numerous requests to warm the place up, that never happened until the last day when the meeting rooms were boiling. Everyone in attendance commented. This is simply unhealthy. Why they can't strike a middle ground with the HVAC is beyond me. Most hotels get it right, but not here!

Rooms are nicely decorated. The beds are comfortable. The carpeting and wall coverings are contemporary and nicely coordinated. Windows do NOT open. Although rooms are equipped with desks, the desks do not have phones on them as you'd find in a well equipped Marriott and at other flags. This is strange, given that Hiltons usually cater to the business traveler.

The TV channel cards conveniently placed next to the night stand phones list 42 channels. The only problem is that the channel index does not align with the actual stations. About 50% of the card is wrong. Good luck in attempting to find the station that you want. So, what good is this courtesy when the information provided is so inaccurate?

The room temperature controls work well and the HVAC unit is quiet. Unlike the PTAC units used in many hotels these days, the in-room vertical furnace/air conditioner is much more quiet.

Shower water pressure is great, practically blew me across the tub. However, the sink water pressure is so low, you'd think you were in California during a drought.

So, all in all, I can't recommend this hotel for the reasons listed above. Pricing is outrageously high for what is provided. You'd be better off staying at the nearby Hampton Inn (also a Hilton flag) if you're here for a pleasure trip. If your company is paying, you probably don't care. If you're looking for a true luxury experience seek out the Vinoy Renaissance.

Location is so so. Nearby restaurants are o.k., nothing special, a few posers as well. Your trip to Beach Ave where all the really good restaurants are located is about a 5 to 10 block walk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pillsbury1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Journey Ambassador at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Pillsbury,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the honest and thorough review of our property. We will use your review to further our service in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Hotel manager acts like he is managing a cheap motel, not one that should providing services at a very high level. room was nice, but service level was so pathetic that it was not worth the stay!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff30226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Journey Ambassador at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Jeff 30266,
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your honest and very thorough review of our property. We will use your comments to better our service in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

For the rate at which we paid at the time of year, we felt that it was a great value for the this hotel which was very clean and friendly with some nice amenity's. Its downtown bay-front location is perfect for taking a short stroll to restaurants, bars, the arts and a very nice park and pier on the bay-front.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Journey Ambassador at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Roger W,
Thank you for the review! We appreciate the comments and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is not new but is well-maintained. the staff at the front desk is very friendly and helpful. The outdoor pool Looked nice even though the weather was too cold for us to take advantage. Several computers in the business center and accessible printer all for free. Overall a very good experience

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank ItalianTranslations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Journey Ambassador at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

ItalianTranslations,
Thank you so much for the review! We are happy you enjoyed our facility and staff, and look forward to your return visist. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The room was very clean, but the staff were unbelievable. Had a great time went to a concert at Vinoy Park, they shuttled me their and picked me up after the concert. I had to call them of course but, they were their in 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Wait till last minute if you on the cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BASA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Journey Ambassador at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

BASA64,
So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and your time at the show! Come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
8.7 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.6 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtow...
#12 of 43 in St. Petersburg
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront

Address: 333 1st St. S, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-4342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $161 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the downtown St. Petersburg waterfront district from Hilton St. Petersburg Bayfront. This hotel in St. Petersburg, FL, is conveniently located in the heart of downtown St. Pete within walking distance of many cultural attractions. Unwind in the spacious hotel rooms that offer striking city views. Enjoy free Wifi and treat yourself to coffee in the comfort of your room. This hotel offers an on-site Starbucks, a heated outdoor pool, fully equipped fitness center and on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront Hotel St. Petersburg
Hilton Hotel St Petersburg
Hilton Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing