We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to USF, Baseball, The Pier”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Close to USF, Baseball, The Pier”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Several times a year we buy the Rays baseball package from the Hilton. The package offers a good room rate, 20 Rays dollars, a shuttle to and from the ball park (1.5 miles away), and a complementary breakfast buffet.

The hotel is close to the St Pete campus of USF, a small airport, both Al Lang (minor league) and Tropicana (Rays) baseball fields and downtown St Pete. The front desk staff was cheerful but a bit lengthy and complicated in our case. The line for check-in was probably 6 or 7 minutes and the staff took some time to find a room that was clean (we checked in after 4 pm). The room we were given had queen beds and we requested a king bed. A call to the front desk and a trip down the elevator resulted in a room with a king bed.

The original room with queen beds had well-used furniture and a carpet with a lot of stains. The second room with the king bed was in much better condition. The furniture wasn't chipped and the carpet looked good. The bathroom is small but adequate and otherwise attractive. The electric outlet is placed in an unexpected location (on the side of the vanity).

We stopped by the lobby bar after the game for a nightcap. An attractive and casual location for a drink before heading to the room. The breakfast buffet featured the usual selection but it all was very fresh and tasty.

The baseball package is very convenient for a couple just driving in for the game and leaving the next day.

Putting aside the 20 minutes or so of confusion when we first arrived the hotel is very conveniently placed for any number of activities and at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window facing north. Seems to be the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbirds49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Journey Ambassador at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and your continued loyalty to our property. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    478
    299
    152
    109
See reviews for
287
400
76
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Decent location (relative to other options around), fair price, nice rooms, nice pool. I think it's a solid and safe choice in the St. Pete area. Hilton Honors members get complimentary breakfast on the top floor (which is beautiful). Again, a solid, safe, and affordable option for a great stay. Not 5 stars because you still need to cab or drive to Tropicana field or the beach.

Room Tip: Good views of the bay or Dali museum are available - just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Journey Ambassador at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your response! We appreciate your review, and we will use it to continue the improvement of our service. By the way, our hotel shuttle is scheduled to run out to every home Rays game, and it can be taken to any locatio within 3 miles of our facility, based upon availabiltiy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We regularly visit this hotel as our "get out for the night hotel." We only live about 20 minutes away and yet, because of its location and so much to do within walking distance, it's perfect for a nice quite walk thru the town or a night of partying. Either way, it's just so easy to just enjoy yourselves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Journey Ambassador at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your response! We enjoy hearing your feedback, and will use it to continue improving our service standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a large, traditional hotel located a block from the water. The views from higher floors are outstanding. The bath tub did not drain very well and this was a problem when bathing two small granddaughters, but otherwise the room was very nice. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. The only real negative for us was the amount of smoking in and around the pool. With two small children, we spent a lot of time in the pool but would have to go in and out on steps and ladders where adults were sitting and smoking. Every table had an ashtray full of cigarette butts which our smallest child wanted to play with. It is a non-smoking hotel, and this should extend to the pool area.

Room Tip: Go high to have a view of the bay and the marina and the small, private airport nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Journey Ambassador at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. I appologize for the issues you had while staying with us, and we will surely consider your comments as we move forward. Come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I arrived very early, my room was not prepared & was upgraded to a suite, by Nia, the most helpful reservationist I have encountered in many years.
The room, was more than adequate, m/w mini-fridge, top toiletries in the BR, plenty of hot water. The lighting for the mirror could have been better, but the energy efficient bulbs seem not to work well regardless of where I stay.
40" HD TV's in BR/LR. LR had a desk, chair, coach ( a sleeper).

Hotel is off the Bay, I had a great view.

No problems at all, nothing requested.

Great Lavazza Italaian coffe for the maker. Bigelow tea, as well.

I even got to the pool one day, plenty of seating, w/a tiki bar. Pitchers of Bud were $6.

Free business center w/ 4 pc's, rather slow, but free +printer.

Go out the side door going to the pool, into the parking left, turn left and follow it out; there's a CVS, Publix, Subway, other stores.

Room Tip: My suite was not a corner, so no sun came directly in, which was great. A/C worked very well, often...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Journey Ambassador at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thanks for your review! We are so glad to hear about your "marvelous stay", Nai is a great memeber of our team. Please come back and enjoy another great stay with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel located in downtown St. Petersburg. I was traveling alone, so I didn't venture out until looking for an ATM the day before I left. There are lots of places around the hotel to eat and shop. The only negative about the hotel is the parking. You have to pay for parking (14$ a day) and sometimes there are NO parking places! You are better off parking in the parking deck that's beside the parking lot for 5$ a day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Journey Ambassador at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for you review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Yes, like many downtown hotels we do charge a parking fee. Unfortunately parking can be an issue during times of full occupancy and large events, if you are unable to park in our lot, it is always our pleasure to reimburse that fee. Thanks and come see us agsin soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I've stayed here a handful of times for work. The rooms are large. The furnishings & fixtures are a bit worn, but the linens & cleaning are top notch. On my most recent stay the room had a mini-fridge which was great. The breakfast is solid but best experienced when someone else is paying. Location can't be beat - access to all of downtown St. Pete, and nice views if you're on an upper floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank alingelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Journey Ambasador at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoy your stays with us, and look forward to seeing you again soon. We are also in the process of remodeling our rooms, so keep an eye out for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
8.7 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#24 of 42 in St. Petersburg
650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtow...
#12 of 42 in St. Petersburg
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront

Property: Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Address: 333 1st St. S, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-4342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the downtown St. Petersburg waterfront district from Hilton St. Petersburg Bayfront. This hotel in St. Petersburg, FL, is conveniently located in the heart of downtown St. Pete within walking distance of many cultural attractions. Unwind in the spacious hotel rooms that offer striking city views. Enjoy free Wifi and treat yourself to coffee in the comfort of your room. This hotel offers an on-site Starbucks, a heated outdoor pool, fully equipped fitness center and on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront Hotel St. Petersburg
Hilton Hotel St Petersburg
Hilton Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing