We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We come to St Pertersburg once a year but haven't been here in 2-3 years. We were pleasantly suprised that the hotel has stepped up to the plate. They now have a lobby bar, a nice restaurant, and a concierge level. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful.

The rooms still need remodeling but I would stay here again. Good value.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Florida-Islands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,365 - 1,371 of 1,685 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

Was a short trip to Tampa / St. Pete. Checked in late (11pm) Night Auditor greeted us and made a lone day of travel much easier. The guest room comfortable and had all the items I needed. Love the bowl of fruit on the table.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSHotelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just stayed at the Hilton Bayfront in St Pete and were under-impressed with the hotel itself.

The good: Location. Just a few blocks from the Pier and right smack in the cultural, artsy downtown area near the Beach Drive shopping district, with art galleries and restaurants very close-by. You can literally walk across the street to the Mahaffey Theater and the Dali Museum. There is always something cultural going on during the weekends in this area of St Pete. The hotel also has an outdoor pool and a small bar for drinks at night. This is a dog friendly hotel, so you will see dogs lounging around.. There is also a Starbucks right in the hotel, which is great. And, the room itself was very big and spacious- but now more about this room-

The not so impressive: The hotel had the "stuck in the 90's" feel. The popcorn ceiling in the room screamed "update me!". The carpet was filthy, it had the kind of dirt and stains that can only be cleaned by carpet replacement. The bathroom in the room was by far one of the smallest I've ever seen in a hotel of any kind. It was like a small closet with a sink and shower crammed in. Room for one only in the bathroom. This is surprising, because the room itself is very big and spacious- they really should take some space from the room and enlarge the bathrooms. That would be a very good thing to do.
The air conditioner intake vent in the room was by the curtains and the a/c vent kept sucking in the curtain, restricting air flow. I don't think the a/c worked, even when the curtain wasn't being sucked into the intake vent. It was always warm and muggy even with the a/c set at 65 degrees..
The curtains were old and dusty, especially in the lobby sitting area. You could tell maybe 20 or 30 years ago everything looked nice and elegant, but nothing has been done since to clean or update. I heard someone say "I feel like I'm in a cloud of germs when I came into this hotel", and I have to agree. Even the smell in the lobby was kind of gross- like bathroom cleaner or something. Maybe because of the dogs?
New carpet, curtains and paint- needed now.

There was a restaurant on-site, but very limited and overpriced selections. Why would you eat at the hotel anyway when there are great dining options nearby like Columbia's Restaurant at The Pier? You gotta try this landmark. Seriously -1905 salad-need I say more?

All in all, the hotel is in a great location, but looked neglected.

Room Tip: Try the Hampton Inn just down the street, or splurge on the Vinoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HereHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

It's a decent hotel but the location can't be beat. I've stayed here twice in the last year and a half. As others have said, the rooms could be a little bit updated but they are still very nice. If you are visiting the Dali Museum or have business with USF, USCG or Fla Fish & Wildlife, it is a short pleasant walk. Also, a nice walk to downtown St Pete and the local beach parks.
I had more than 20 colleagues with me and no one had any problems.
Staff is definitely first rate.
The bar is terrible if you are a beer lover. World of Beer is also nearby.
None of us used the restaurant.

Room Tip: 3rd floor that overlooked the roof has HVAC noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blumberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This was by far the worst Hilton I have ever stayed in. Rooms are dated however they are comfort. Staff did a great job making the best of faulty internet and cable tv.

Internet spotty and non existent out side of your room. Tv's although large flat screens spent as much time searching for a signal as they did playing.

If you do not sleep like a log stay away from suites need the elevators very loud all day and night.

Breakfast buffet at 15.00 just ok

Hhonors lounge was the best part of Stay "John" was a real joy to visit with.

Self parking in an open lot at 14.00 no valet available.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipesofstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great location, walking distance to museums, pier, dining. Convenient location to Publix grocery store and drug store as well. Park your car and don't bother with parking meters. Very unique specialty stores along the way. Staff in hotel very attentive and courteous. Starbucks on location to get that morning start. No refrigerator in room when arrived, since I was staying a few days for conference was able to call down to front desk and request a small frig to be brought to room, 1 was available and provided quickly to have some basic items in room. Swimming pool located outside, so if you don't find ask. Beds very comfortable. Trash cans a little too small.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weiss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here three different times this year. The hotel needs a little (and I do mean little) updating in the rooms, but I have seen a lot worse. They do have large tvs and great views from the room. The bathrooms are a little small depending on the room you get, but you are in the city where space is at a premium.

The location is perfect. You can walk to dinner every night for a month and eat somewhere different every time. The ocean is a couple blocks away. The fitness center is about average for this size hotel.

The staff in the honors lounge is top notch. It is obvious they like their jobs and care for their customers.

This hotel can get packed up quick so try to book more then a week or two in advance.

I will be back here for at least 5 or 6 more weeks next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
8.7 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place St. Petersburg / Downtown
Hyatt Place St. Petersburg / Dow...
#13 of 43 in St. Petersburg
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,429 reviews
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront

Address: 333 1st St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-4342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $144 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the downtown St. Petersburg waterfront district from Hilton St. Petersburg Bayfront. This hotel in St. Petersburg, FL, is conveniently located in the heart of downtown St. Pete within walking distance of many cultural attractions. Unwind in the spacious hotel rooms that offer striking city views. Enjoy free Wifi and treat yourself to coffee in the comfort of your room. This hotel offers an on-site Starbucks, a heated outdoor pool, fully equipped fitness center and on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront Hotel St. Petersburg
Hilton Hotel St Petersburg
Hilton Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing