We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Top Choice in St. Pete!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Top Choice in St. Pete!”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

The Hilton St. Pete Bayfront is in a great location across the street from the Progress Energy baseball field and also Tampa Bay. I had a room on a higher floor and the views are very good. Try to request a bayfront room on a higher floor. I was able to watch baseball in the stadium several floors below and cruise ships steaming into Tampa. I had stayed at this hotel a couple years back and when I checked in they welcomed me back again. I like it when hotels care enough to do their homework. The people at the front desk and around the hotel were all extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are large, clean and quiet. The lobby area is elegantly decorated and comfortable for relaxing, people watching and reading. The restaurant is above average and moderately priced.

If you like to wander on foot in safe cities, this hotel is a top choice. There are some really interesting restaurants and seascapes in the area and the walk out past the city marina and to the end of the pier is a great finish to a Florida day. The hotel is well located near the Dali museum, the Mahaffey concert theatre, beaches and sports. I attended a college baseball game across the street for five bucks.

I really like this hotel. It is moderately priced for the area, has a great staff and there is plenty to do and see in the immediate area. Not many hotels can meet this many different guest criteria.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwebb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    465
    289
    147
    100
See reviews for
273
387
75
581
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

The Positives:
Large room with a comforable bed. Several amenities within walking distance including such essentials as a supermarket (Publix), a liquor store, restaurants, an entertainment/shopping mall, and Tampa Bay. The lobby area is very attractive with a series of small well-designed, cozy seating areas where one can meet friends and have a conversation. The meeting space is also attractive, as is the in-house restaurant. Of special note is the friendliness, and helpfulness of the staff.
The Negatives:
We encountered several problems most of which suggested that there are areas of the property that need up-dating and perhaps modernizing. For example, when we first tried to enter the room we had difficulty. The room locks are different from any I have encountered in the States. They do work with a credit-card type key, but instead of inserting the key horizontally and then removing, one has to swipe the card vertically much like card readers at supermarkets. It took about 6 or 7 swipes to get it to work and that tended to be a problem during our entire stay. Then our TV (admittedly a large screen LCD) quit. We called the front desk but managed to discover before assistance arrived that the power cord at the TV end was not fully inserted. Not a big deal, but the next problem was. We could not get the commode to flush fully. This time our call got someone to the room very quickly. After trying a few things like adjusting the water flow, he told us that we simply needed to hold the flush handle down for about 20 or 30 seconds and all would be fine. That solution did work about two times out of three. So we spent a bit more time flushing than we had anticipated. (The workman did say they hotel was in the process of replacing the commodes with a more modern, compression version, but that was in process and not complete). And, while we are on the subject of the bathroom, it turns out that the door was out a plumb. One could force it closed, but only at the expense of a loud bang which was repeated when one opened the door. Again, no problem generally, except if one needed to use the facilities during the middle of the night and wished not to awaken one’s spouse. And there were other signs of aging. The desk was clearly old and needed replacing or refinishing so badly that the varnish was totally worn off the front ledge. That is, totally except in one corner where a sufficient amount remained to stain my shirt cuff. The desk chair, by the way, though adjustable, was not sufficiently adjustable to reach the appropriate desk height. It was also rather shabby. So, I went to get some ice to make myself a “relaxer” only to discover a sign on the ice machine that it was out of order and suggested I try one on another floor. The room could also use more easily accessible electrical receptacles. The desk lamp does have two, but with a laptop, two cell phones, a digital camera, an IPod and an IPad to charge, we were playing musical power cords. This is the digital age, after all. The view from the room was nice, but marred by dirty exterior class.
I really don’t wish to imply a totally negative experience. To the contrary, we enjoyed our stay and would return should we find ourselves again in St. Pete. But Hilton’s usually don’t have such a plethora of minor irritations. They are minor. Once fixed, this would be a fabulous property.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MemphisProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stayed three nights whilst travelling on business in St Petersburg. This hotel is really well located for the city center with about a 5 min walk to the main street.

Check-in was straight forward and I was given a room on the 9th floor with views of the bay and the baseball field. The room was a good size with a desk area, separate chair with footstool, large kingsize bed, multiple phones, large LCD TV with some cable channels, a Lavazza coffee machine with lavazza coffee and Tazo teas. There was a large wardrobe with hangers, iron, ironing board and safe located in a dressing area. There was a fully functioning hairdryer available in the bathroom.

Wireless was available free for those with Silver Hilton membership (I was inadvertently checked in under this class and was given the free access codes). Those with membership were also invited to cocktail hour and breakfast up on the 11th floor, although I did not get to sample this benefit.

The hotel was well laid out with restaurant, meeting rooms, outdoor pool and gym. I didn't try any of these first hand although others did recommend. There is a Starbucks at the back of the lobby that operates from 6am to 5pm and can be a cheaper alternative for breakfast for those on a budget. The nearest Starbucks of an evening is approx 5 blocks away.

There is a large grocery store along with a Chinese take away and an Italian restaurant across the street. More restaurants are available along the Bay which is 15 - 20 mins walk. Taxi's cannot be easily hailed from the street, although terrain is flat so a walk is enjoyable.

I did order room service for dinner and breakfast. Choice was good and food was delivered within 30 mins from ordering. I had balsamic chicken risotto which came with complementary Focaccia and water. It was very enjoyable. One morning, the room service orders for breakfast were misplaced and food was not delivered on time. The hotel did quickly rectify the issue and no charge was made due to the inconvenience. This happened for all hotel guests that morning, so appears not to be a localized issue but was likely a one-off.

There is no mini bar within the room itself, however a snack machine along with ice is located at the end of end floor. There is also a grab bar which is located in the lobby and is stocked with ice-creams / soda / chips / snacks etc.

The bed was extremely comfortable and afforded a great nights sleep.

The only drawback was that the room could have benefited from a thorough hoovering - the edges of the carpet were dusty all around the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A1TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
Level Contributor
191 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The Hilton in St. Petersburg is a comfortable and well located hotel that gives great access to lot's of restaurants and things to do. The rooms are quite comfortable, and if you are Hilton Honors internet is free. I was pleased that the baths all had "grab bars" for getting in and out (important for slightly older folk). I did find that there is not enough counter space in the bathroom, and no place to hang a hand towel between uses. The bed was very comfortable and there is a good sized desk area, although the chair is a bit low and cannot be raised enough to be really comfortable.

The hotel has a nice restaurant for breakfast and lunch, a really nice pool area, and a Starbucks. This is definitely a hotel to use again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The towel rack at the end of the bath tub had fallen off the wall on my first use of the shower. Two reports to the front desk latter, the rack was still not fixed. I had to use a small Swiss Army Knife to put it back on the wall.

Additionally, I returned to the hotel the evening before my early morning departure to find my room unsecured, huge fans running in the hall way and cords everywhere. No attempt had been made to contact me that the hotel had had a water issue and rooms on several floors were flooded. The front desk had new room keys for me with a free pass to their "Hilton Honors area. By the time I got moved to my new room which was old and had a lamp that looked like they had pulled it out of the dumpster. I took my pass and went to get the free drink the clerk had promised only to find that their "Happy Hour" had ended 30 minutes before and he had removed everything. The free breakfast didn't happen as I was scheduled to head out at 0500 and it didn't start until 0630. I can understand the burst pipe or a leak, stuff happens. But not being informed nor leaving my room (or the five others that were open as well) with all my luggage, laptop etc, unsecured.

I will give the restaurant and more specifically "Maxine" high marks for a nice meal and great service.

Room Tip: If you stay here, as for a room on an upper floor. I was on the third floor and there were huge fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Central Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Loved this hotel... staff so accommodating! Rooms are great; love being a Hilton Honors member for the extra perks including a private lounge, free breakfast, happy hour, and wireless internet.

Great location, very walkable with ALL local restaurants, plus the convenience of a CVS and Publix nearby. right across the street from the Bay and gotta check out the St. Pete Saturday Morning Market also across the street! Also walking distance to museum, playhouse, movie theatre etc. Free shuttle bus can take you anywhere in the area if you're not ready to walk.

Room Tip: Become a Hilton Honors member and get on the top 2 floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTravelinFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

My wife and I decided to stay overnight in St Pete so that we would not have to drive home after attending a Firday night Christmas party. We picked the Hilton so that we could go to the Saturday morning market the next day, right across the street from the hotel.

Service was terrific, the room had been updated and the common areas were clean and fresh-smelling. The AC, plumbing, Wi Fi and TV worked well. NO stinking PTAC unit; real air conditioning and real ventilation! Also, the views from the room were great.

We were treated like visiting royalty by the staff. Everyone we interacted with had a smile and an upbeat attitude. We were very pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
8.7 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.2 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#23 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#6 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront

Property: Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Address: 333 1ST ST. S, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-4342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the downtown St. Petersburg waterfront district from Hilton St. Petersburg Bayfront. This hotel in St. Petersburg, FL, is conveniently located in the heart of downtown St. Pete within walking distance of many cultural attractions. Unwind in the spacious hotel rooms that offer striking city views. Enjoy free Wifi and treat yourself to coffee in the comfort of your room. This hotel offers an on-site Starbucks, a heated outdoor pool, fully equipped fitness center and on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront Hotel St. Petersburg
Hilton Hotel St Petersburg
Hilton Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing