We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tale of 2 Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A tale of 2 Hotels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

Having read the reviews for the Hilton, I was surprised by our experience as it was nothing like what has been recounted- ours was honestly quite perfect. The Hilton is a large hotel with upgraded facilities, a decent pool area with hot tub and a great location across from the Dali. The hotel appeared fairly empty during our visit employing only 1 or 2 valets at the drop-off and one person at the desk typically. Our room was nicely furnished and fully renovated to a high standard- it appeared to be a regular room as we weren’t upgraded-. The corridor was also pleasant- we saw no signs of dated finishes or substandard facilities anywhere. Perhaps we were just fortunate getting a renovated floor or perhaps the renovations have been completed. The fitness room was decent for a hotel albeit heavy on the cardio machines and light on the weights with water and towels everywhere. Plenty of free street parking nearby is you manage to move your car by 9am. Great stay- would definitely return when in St. Pete.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    460
    282
    145
    96
See reviews for
268
381
74
569
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

I arrived after 8 pm, had requested a non-smoking room (why aren't they all non-smoking), and was given a smoking room. I immediately called the desk, and the clerk said, "But you're only staying one night, so surely you can manage." After explaining that the request was health-related and not olfactory-based (not that such should matter), she offered to send someone up with a spray to "air out the room." (Still only able to deal with the smellyfactor, clearly.) And I'm honestly not sure of everything she said; the in-room phones were so static-filled that understanding the voice on the other end was difficult. I called again and said it just not going to work. The manager sent in an ozone machine (didn't help, by the way) and sent me to the bar to wait--I opted for the lobby instead. The towels were dirty and the shower/tub faucet didn't come on at all. Most of the staff were friendly, but being nice doesn't excuse an out-dated hotel guest services practice.

The manager actually said of the smoking rooms, "We just really don't use these much." Really? Then why not remodel them and offer a smoke-free hotel?

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProffyMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

Some negative reports but overall I was very satisfied with my three day stay. Great location, handy for down town & Dali etc.
Only negative was the smell of paint, they are making serious attempts to improve the property there were workers everywhere during my stay. The structure is of an age but they are doing their very best with what they have. Staff v. friendly and some of the flower arrangements are worth a mention.
Business cenre down during my visit, and I had not packed my laptop!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
180 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

When you walk in the place smells musty - They gave me a handicap suite although I am not physcially handicapped -

TV's in both carilton and theis place have no movies - basic channels
They charge $19 for me a hilton honor guy - This is not good practice - Carilton hilton has free internet

Local is good, but so is a tent by the beach
Pool is small and boring

Overal I would avoid this place

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrtimothyCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
providence, RI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

Good hotel, clean, nice location in downtown St. Petersburg. Lots of great stuff within a short walking distance - the new Dali museum is right across the way, lots of great restaurants and bars on Central Street...up and down the street (it goes a long way). A big Publix supermarket is next door and CVS too.

Was very pleased with this hotel. It's not on the beach, but most people with common sense will know that before booking. It's a downtown property, and St Pete's is a pretty neat downtown.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank profriars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

Live and learn. We booked this hotel with a good rate thinking that it was a resort hotel near the beach. It turned out to be a 20 minute drive through the city of St. Petersburg to St. Pete Beach. (our fault for not doing more research) The hotel was well appointed and we were comfortable during our stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torontotraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

I'd like to be able to rate this hotel, as we were very excited for a quick getaway from north Pinellas county. I purchased a Groupon which expired in December of 2010 and made a reservation for late November when my kids were out of school. Our vacation was nixed due to an 11-day stay down the street at All Children's Hospital for one of my daughters. She ended up undergoing 2 surgeries during her stay. I tried to cancel the reservation and was told "too bad, we can't do anything for you". Didn't want a refund, just a rain check for a future stay. I would understand blackouts during the busier season, but this was not an option. Horrible customer service. Obviously not interested in future business or family values. Waste of $70, but at least we now know what Hilton stands for.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank erhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
8.7 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.2 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#19 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#7 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront

Property: Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Address: 333 1ST ST. S, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-4342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the downtown St. Petersburg waterfront district from Hilton St. Petersburg Bayfront. This hotel in St. Petersburg, FL, is conveniently located in the heart of downtown St. Pete within walking distance of many cultural attractions. Unwind in the spacious hotel rooms that offer striking city views. Enjoy free Wifi and treat yourself to coffee in the comfort of your room. This hotel offers an on-site Starbucks, a heated outdoor pool, fully equipped fitness center and on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront Hotel St. Petersburg
Hilton Hotel St Petersburg
Hilton Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing