We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was huge!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Stayed here to go to a Red Sox/ Rays baseball game. I thought the game would be the highlight of the trip, but the hotel was! Not a cookie-cutter hotel, full of charm and in a great location. The room was clean, and probably the largest non-suite hotel room I have stayed in. They provided complimentary shuttle service to the game, which was a plus. Only downside was some difficulty with room service, but the the food was good!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,628 - 1,634 of 1,811 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2009

Beautiful property with a great detail to the renovation of a property made famous in the early 1900's. The staff is extremely attentive and readilly available. The hotel is located on the bay with easy walking access to restaurants etc.....

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwessig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We just spent three nights at the Vinoy and found it everything a hotel of it's reputed class should be. The room was large and well appointed, the bathroom was large and well tiled. We had a view of the bay, the park and boat marina (beautiful). The pool is large and had plenty of chairs and umbrellas. The biggest plus for this hotel is the staff. On every occassion that we approached them they were friendly, courteous and helpful. I couldn't have asked for a more pleasant place to stay.
One concern was the tv reception, we were there on a big football weekend and 3 of the 4 network stations had digital problems. So we went to a local pub.
As for downtown St Pete, it is walkable with shops and restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel.
The hotel can be pricey so check the Marriott web site for discounts. We got a stay 2 nights get one free offer.
Great place!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKRMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Nice lobby and tiled floor don’t make a top hotel, rooms were very poor! Cheap furniture, old worn bathrooms, town looks like it’s on its knees though, not been for 14yrs beggars everywhere empty buildings and houses. Back to hotel, we were on sixth floor room smelt of cats no idea why, we asked to be moved which we were, then when my children went to bed there was dirty underwear in bed a man’s boxers housekeeping came and changed bedding, when I spoke to duty manager the next day his response was couldn’t care less really thanks for letting us know very poor I’m sure there are better hotels around saint Petersburg.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

this was my 2nd stay at the vinoy...the rooms are just wonderful & spacious, the staff is friendly and extra nice to my to small kids...i have read others comments complaining it was old & musty smelling...whatever... its beautiful & old, this is the florida coast and it is very humid outside, i have no complaints about this place! the staff in the restaurant is accomadating & the breakfast was nice...we stayed during a red sox game & got a free ride to the stadium...also on my last stay i went to the restaurant near the pool at night and asked for milk for my kids and the hostess handed me a couple of milks for free! i read other comments about be nickeled & dimed here...i have not found that to be true! i wish i could have seen some of the red sox player during my stay but oh well it was fun anyway!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beach_mom_leesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Our family stayed here one night last week as part of a four day trip to the Bay area. The resort is very conveniently located adjacent to the Bay and within walking distance of most St. Petersburg attractions such as Baywalk, the Pier and the fine art museum (However, I should note that during our August stay, most of St. Petersburg appeared to be lifeless).

The hotel itself is beautiful. It's historic and still retains so much unique charm and elegance. For example, the tile floors in the lobby are original and appear to be in really good condition. Whatsmore, there is a trapazoidal-shaped elevator! I've never seen anything like it.

The bell staff were very friendly, informative and attentive. The concierge was also pleasant; however, we were surprised to be told that there were no seafood recommendations within walking distance of the resort. Seems kind of odd for a city situated on the coast of a peninsula. The situation just made her appear to be uninformed. All other interactions with the resort staff were fine.

Our standard room on the fifth floor, which had a partial view of the bay, was huge! Lots of space to spread out. Although the room was not in perfect condition, it was very close. Most of the double vanity bathroom had been recently renovated, except for some large off-white tiles. The Aveda toiletries were a bonus. Overall, we were very impressed by the room.

We had a late breakfast in one of the resort's beautiful restaurants. The food was standard Marriott quality, but the service was excellent.

A word of advice if you drive to the hotel - although you have the choice to valet or self-park in a nearby garage, we chose to park overnight for free on the street adjacent to the hotel. We had no issues in the morning.

The only one real negative about the resort is that it's amenities seemed less than other comparable resorts. For example, the pool area appeared to be in desparate need of updating. It was not at all appealing and was not on par with the rest of the resort. On a positive note, my wife enjoyed the fitness center and free yoga classes.

We wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weluv2travel360by360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

eat in the resturant by the pool... the other is too expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwwesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,785 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#11 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,657 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $242 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing