We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, a bit tired--but fun in an off-beat way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Internet worked well.
Room had a balcony so plenty of fresh air.
Excellent cold AC
Good lighting in room.
If you stay in the tower, do not valet park--the self parking is easy and much closer.
View was not very good--ask for harbor view instead of ocean view (i had ocean view)
The hotel has a sort of old Florida Club feeling to it...affsort of like a somewhat low-rent version of the Breakers in Palm Beach...
The staffers were incredibly friendly and nice...
The front desk attendant got a key and opened up the cafe for me at midnight so i could get some yogurt and cereal...and even soy milk...so that was really nice too.

so, i would say that for this class of hotel it is really a 5 star but in terms of the great great hotels like the One and Only it is really not...but it was fun.

Room Tip: If you stay in the tower, do not valet park--the self parking is easy and much closer. View was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxwell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 1,836 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Vinoy is a classic St. Pete hotel built in the early 1900's that Mariott renovated and brought into today. The rooms are clean and well appointed, including a coffee maker, something many other hotels seem to be doing away with. Comfy robes for lounging, rain fall shower head and of course huge flatscreen. The staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of restaurant and quick food choices with a few nice spots to have drinks. Free wifi in the lobby, but you have to pay in your room. The Pantry coffee shop serves illy coffee, very good and has premade breakfast sandwiches at a reasonable price. The Alfresco restaurant has a fantastic healthy menu with vegan and gluten free selections. It right on the marina and next to Beach Drive, a great little walking district with shops, restaurants, and museums.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Your review definitely made me want to stay here at the Vinoy :) Thank you for highlighting everything that we would want our guests to know about including the history and renovation; clean/well-appointed rooms; comfortable robes; flatscreen TV; free WI-FI in the lobby; excellent food choices; located on the beautiful waters of Tampa Bay overlooking our Marina and walking distance to many local discoveries including museums and boutique shops. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding. The hotel is a lovely older hotel which has been refurbished. It is beautiful and quaint. The hotel was very clean. The personnel were exceptionally responsive and courteous. As such, service throughout the hotel was superb during our stay. The food at the restaurant brunch (private for wedding party) was quite good and the food at the wedding banquet good as well. The room was very nice and very clean. The bed was very very comfortable (better than my own bed at home). One can request a portable refrigerator to be put in the room if one needs it (no extra expense). The television is fine and the coffee is pretty good for hotel in-room coffee. Maid service is spot on. The in-room internet is average (the hotel offers two speeds, regular at $9.95/day and super for $14.95/day). I wonder why the mid-priced hotels such as Springhill Suites have free internet (speed quite good) and the expensive resort hotels feel they can charge extra for it! Self-parking was $14.00 per day and very convenient. I would definitely recommend this hotel/resort for anyone seeking an upscale hotel with great service and doesn't mind paying the prices.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room which is near the pool. Sound carries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband did research on Marriott properties and found this one in St. Petersburg, FL. We had never been to this part of Florida and were looking forward to a new vacation spot. The resort has a lot of history, is a great location on a marina and the staff was fantastic! We would definitely visit here again...

Room Tip: The tower room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhereElseCanWeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Glad to hear that you are now life-time fans after your most recent visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort and Golf Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel cannot be beat for luxury, history, location, or amenities! Located right in the heart of downtown St Petersburg, it overlooks the lovely harbor and tree lined downtown. The boat basin is filled with luxury yachts, and while we were there last, a float plane flew/glided in to pick up hotel guests to fly them to dinner!

The city itself is bustling, back from decline, and the hotel was a big part of that renaissance. It is gorgeous, beautifully restored, and all the rooms are beau fully decorated. The pool is to die for, with the waterfall and outside bar.

The spa is lovely, and the massage therapist was very well trained.

A beautiful place, and one we will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamarston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a top of the line establishment and I found the facilities to be excellent and the staff, regardless of who they were or what capacity they were working in to be just terrific. The location is great too!

However, for such a famous hotel, I did find some minor irritations. The bathroom door was warped on the bottom. No big deal. The iron in the room was an inexpensive lightweight brand, called Voyager. Trying to freshmen up some of my slacks and shirts was a tremendous chore with this cheap plastic toy iron.

I ordered a steak, $36 dollars from room service and it was dry, cool and fairly tasteless.

The "Business Center" is two computers, one printer and one fax. They charge you for everything. About $6 for 15 minutes time on the computer, and $1.38 per pager to print, assuming you can get the printer to print. I was charged for about 6 pages which never printed.

None of these are deal breakers. Just minor irritations.

If it wasn't for these few minor issues I would have awarded five stars.
They do have other computers and printers where you can print your airline boarding pass for free.

Room Tip: I do not think there are any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Long weekend, thought it would be fun to stay overnight at the beautiful Vinoy not far from home and just chill! This building has a fabulous history, major renovations and is a mere stroll from lots of St. Pete eateries, drinkeries, and museums. It is smack dab on the basin and has nearby parks for strolling. What it didn't have was our room ready on time! We waited over an hour, getting a comp drink for our troubles. I'll admit the extra martini made me feel a little better as we moved into the newly refurbished lobby and watched the Rays game in the cozy sitting area that felt like a nicely appointed living room. Our room was ok, but like other parts of the hotel, not meticulously cleaned, a towel was left on the balcony, smudged mirror, and we killed 7 mesquitos in the bathroom. With an extra hour for cleaning a room I expected better. I got a wonderful rate through the Historic Hotel site which prompted this stay as the regular rate is rather high. This was Sunday before Memorial Day-there appeared to be a few weddings going on and the pool was loaded with kids and families. To me this is not really a young family location, the pool is too small accommodate fathers encouraging their kids to jump into the pool right next to others and it felt a bit like a tiny theme park pool. The pool staff was very friendly and appeared to be working hard to keep up with things even as the sky darkened and the wind started picking up and tossing the umbrellas which were taken down quickly! We scampered back to our room to get ready for dinner! All night I heard a TV droning from some other room...could not tell exactly where or I would have called front desk to complain. The views and the balcony rooms are really nice and I still need to get into Marchands as that room is beautiful!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura7Clearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at the Vinoy. We certainly appreciate the positive feedback as well as the constructive criticism. Both help us to learn and grow. Please know that your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments in an effort to focus on the areas that you pointed out. While we certainly tried to prepare in advance for a very busy holiday weekend, it sounds like there were certain circumstances that we might have made improvements to. I do apologize for any frustration and inconvenience you may have been caused. When your travels bring you to this area again, please contact me directly so that I can ensure that we provide a more positive stay for you. Thank you again for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#11 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Address: 501 5th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $231 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing