We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel and View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
milwaukee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel and View”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Vinoy Hotel is wonderful! We spent a week at the Hotel . Everything was perfect! 5 star pampering! View from our balcony was breathtaking! We stayed at the hotel in April a great time for Florida!

Room Tip: Make sure if you want the view ask for a room with a balcony on the water side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandymilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    460
    173
    56
    31
See reviews for
339
624
53
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Renaissance Vinoy, St. Petersburg, FL
The Vinoy is in an excellent location in downtown St. Pete. You can walk to good restaurants and the Dali museum and the views of the harbour are so relaxing. It is a beautiful old building and the rooms appear to vary by location. We had a king room and connecting 2 queen bed room. The room with 2 queens was much more spacious. The bathrooms were nice because they have large vanities with 2 sinks and used Aveda bath products.

I have to say the beds are not the most comfortable. We spent the previous 2 nights in the Hotel Indigo in Sarasota and the beds were much better. The sheets did not fit the beds and were not tucked in, so you awoke with a mess of sheets and blankets and uncovered feet. This is a pet peeve of mine.

The front desk and bell/valet staff were attentive, but service in the restaurant was unreasonably slow. We arrived for lunch at 1:30 and just getting water took too long. We finally had to ask about our food 25 min after we ordered. Same story getting our check. At $18 for a burger I expected more.

Our other issue was housekeeping. We called at noon to request service for our room as we were going to be out for several hours. When we arrived back from the beach at 4:30 the rooms still had not been cleaned. We called and they did send a hard working lady who had been there early that morning and was still there when we went to dinner at 7:30. They had record of our request, but didn't know what happened. It seems they are very short staffed.

Overall, the nice building does not make up for the lack of service. We often stay at 5 star properties and we were disappointed by this resort. At the prices charged here, I would have expected better service. I'm not sure we would stay here again. We chose this over the Don Cesar on St. Pete Beach and now regret that decision.

Room Tip: we had 418 and 420 overlooking the Tea Garden. We watched a wedding and the Easter Egg Hunt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Guest feedback is so important to us. We learn from it, we grow from it and it certainly helps us continue to stay focused on our guest satisfaction. This is the priority to us. On behalf of the team here, I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and opinions. I do apologize for the shortcomings that you experienced especially when it came to service. Please know that I will share your constructive criticism with the departments to see where we could improve the shortfalls that you mentioned. On a positive note, while we have had hundreds of compliments on the comfort of our beds, we are happy to tell you that we are in the process of changing out our bedding package here beginning just this week. It will be at least a month-long process but I would encourage you to return to try out the new bed. I would ask that you contact me directly at the resort so that I can discuss your feedback and come to a resolution of regaining your confidence. You are a valued customer, and I look forward to talking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Fist time in St Petersburg, and the Vinoy did not disappoint. The staff was very professional and friendly. The pool and the adult only section was a great place to relax. Had dinner at the bar one night, and a six course tasting meal the second. The food and atmosphere was great. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Try for a bay view room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My husband and I spent a quick two nights here at the end of a late winter vacation. We love historic hotels and are very pleased that the Marriott company is acquiring them for their higher tier properties. The Vinoy itself was beautiful and exceedingly well kept from front door to back. The public spaces were clean and the rooms were spotless and most comfortable.

When we arrived the desk agent offered us an upgrade to a room with a fantastic view that also provided us a complete breakfast each morning. Though the room was slightly more expensive than the one we booked it included breakfast which made it practical for us to agree to. We didn't feel like we were being upsold but rather felt as if she was concerned that our stay be as enjoyable as possible (within our budget of course!).

Again, the upgraded room was large and clean and had a fantastic view from two windows. We always stay in the historic portion of hotels like the Vinoy which have newer modern wings or towers and so our room didn't have a deck but we didn't care. Breakfast was amazing and plentiful each morning. Drinks on the porch with family who came to visit were fantastic and dinner at Alfresco in the hotel was good and our server was most attentive and polite. I wish I remembered his name so we could give him a shout out as he made the meal perfect.

There was no part of this short trip we thought the hotel could have done better on. Kudos to management and the staff. We had an excellent stay and will be back.

Room Tip: The rooms in the historic wing have no original fabric so it doesn't matter if you choose one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Greetings from the legendary Vinoy! Thank you so much for your positive review and your appreciation of historic hotels. We pride ourselves on our valued past but we certainly focus on our "historically hip" present as well, which you obviously recognized. It sounds like you were able to truly enjoy all that we have to offer including the wonderful meals and happy hour on the front veranda - quite the gathering place and definitely the place to "people watch". Please join us again on your next visit to this area. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back. Next time, you may also want to check into our history tours which would give you an even better appreciation of the stories and the beauty that make this resort so wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had a great overall experience, the staff really made it extra special. I am a quality service professional, so it is pretty hard to impress me with service. The staff impressed me! Everyone was very helpful and attentive to our needs. We were in town for the Yankee game and right away we were told about the shuttle service. That was a great benefit for us, no traffic or directions needed! Check in was smooth and my kids were thrilled with the pool. The room service staff was very, very nice. The property is stunning and the rooms are spacious. The balcony was just right and had a good view of the tennis courts and water.
Two suggestions - better service for the vending machines (they weren't working and we had to visit several floors to get some drinks) and having the little cafe/sundries open later. We were looking for something after the game but it was closed. I'll bet after the games you could do very well.
My big complaint? We only stayed one night and didn't get to enjoy the relaxation as much as we would have liked.
We will certainly stay again!

Room Tip: The tower was a bit further, so if you can't manage well, probably should avoid it, but the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mafo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Historic hotel in downtown St. Petersburg located directly on Tampa Bay. Hotel is clean and quiet. Reserved our "standard room" through United Airlines Vacations. Unfortunately, our window view was the roof top of the other sections of the hotel. :(
Restaurants are within walking distance and a safe walk. The marina and public park are across the street.

Helpful?
Thank Frog1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Vinoy was recommended to us by a couple of people and we were blown away by the great service at the hotel and golf course. St. Petersburg was a FL city we had not been to and it too, was an amazing find. so much to do and see there. We have already told many about our stay at the Vinoy and will certainly stay there again. A special shout out to John Gernenza, front desk manager, who we spoke to on the phone, before our visit. He made our stay top notch!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing