We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely but cold!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Lovely historic hotel but difficult to enjoy the lobby area, bar or restaurants due to the extreme cold temperature. Service was adequate but nothing over the top. Restaurants food was average. Great workout room with work out classes offered. Great location..convenient to shopping, museums and local dining.
May try a different resort if ever in St Pete again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for posting your review about your recent stay. I apologize that the temperature was too cold for you in the public areas because we do try to keep it comfortable for everyone. Perhaps it was during the time when the temperatures fluctuated outside (raining, etc.) but either way, it's a shame that you were not able to enjoy the lovely lobby that we have now with the library feel and lots of sitting space to relax. While there are obviously other great choices for you to stay in while visiting St. Petersburg, we would love for you to return to the Vinoy. I'm hopeful that we can provide a more positive experience on your next visit. Feel free to reach out to me so that I may personally assist you. Again, I appreciate your time in sharing your thoughts and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    443
    164
    49
    28
See reviews for
327
600
51
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We recently stayed at the Vinoy and were thoroughly impressed. From the moment we checked in until we left, service was outstanding, staff was very helpful and the facilities were lovely. Our room over looked the tea garden and was oversized with a sitting area and large bathroom. The bathroom had double sinks allowing us to spread out and made getting ready to go out a breeze.

The resort is very family friendly and we spent most of our time at the pool which although was pretty crowded( the hotel sells memberships to use the facilities) still provided plenty of room to swim and float around. Several times during the day staff came around to inform the kids that there were activities for them to do including treasure hunts and trivia. My nine year old daughter really enjoyed playing with other children.

Service at the pool was excellent, if you wanted a drink or something to eat there were little flags attached to the chairs- raise the flag and a server was right over to take your order. Prices were typical of a resort of this caliber and food portions were large and the food was tasty.

Within walking distance there were many restaurants and shops as well as a lovely walking trail that meandered around the water. The marina is across the street from the hotel and during one of our walks we noticed that horse drawn carriages were available to rent for rides.

One of the best features of the hotel was its outdoor bar that featured comfy sofas, fire pits and rocking chairs. It was very busy the night we stayed and even though the temperature was on the chilly side, the heaters and fire pits kept things toasty.

During our stay two weddings were going on and even though they appeared to be fairly large we did not notice any impact on service or noise levels. In fact we all commented on how qiet our room was and how we had a wonderful night of sleep. We hope to return to the Vinoy as it was a perfect blend of family friendly and luxury.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marneyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
What an incredible review - thank you. You highlighted all the items that we would have, if given the chance. From the incredible service you received, to the pool activities offered, to the walking location of museum and other restaurants, to the comfy beds and attractive guest rooms and more. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your time here with your family and that you were able to take full advantage of all that we offer at the Vinoy and in the St. Petersburg area. I am hopeful that you will return as a tradition with the family. We would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again! Your positive feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

The staff really goes above and beyond, especially Leticia that set an example of what true hospitality should be. I explained to her that it was a special occasion and when my wife and I arrived we received more than a smile, we received a gift that far exceeded our expectations. Our room was spectacular to say the least. Leticia genuinely cared, we cannot thank her enough for her kindness and generosity.

The Concierge department, represented by Joanne was polite, gracious and very helpful with recommendations and restaurant reservations. In addition, she sent a beautiful array of delicious chocolates, champagne and wine to make us feel welcome.

In short, what we received was top quality service that sets the bar extremely high for us. We have had opportunities to visit high-rated hotels around the world and The Vinoy is by far, the best experience we’ve had thanks to Leticia and Joanne. 


If you are visiting St. Petersburg, Fl do not think twice about staying here.

Room Tip: Pick the Tower with balcony overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julio722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

So I used to get treated like a king here but today I was told my request was impossible, a request I've had the last two times Ive stayed here. The basic rooms are tiny so I like the upgrade tower room with a balcony, Ive ALWAYS used point to book my favorite room, and today, the premier access line for Silver and Gold member told me they HAVE NEVER ALLOWED THIS. Last year when I stayed, I used points to cover a basic room and the paid the difference of the upgraded room, more than once but now they are oblivious and even refused to look up my prior stay and refused to call the hotel direct. When Ive called them direct they redirect my call to the 800 line, what is going on Marriott? No loyalty for your loyal, high traveled guest. I get asked all the time since Im always traveling, 75% travel at my job, and Ive always told them the Vinoy was my favorite, now, with the full grip of corporate Marriott "policy" (smoke if you ask me) they say they have never allowed this nor will make any attempt to make this simple request happen. The hotel itself is not close to any major attractions unless you count the desolate pier that desperately needs renovating and a golf course that is worse the the cheap public course around the corner (Ive lived close to here for many years growing up and the old Vinoy is long gone), good bye Vinoy, I used to dream about my balcony room and great service, but like anything customer service related these days we are all just a number, a minority, and a burden, I'd rather stay at the Grand Hyatt, at least the food is better and the people are nicer, and they had no problem upgrading my room and taking my points...

Room Tip: Get a high floor not in the main building unless you like small cramped smelly rooms, and make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCBusinessTravelPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for being a Marriott Rewards Member. We certainly appreciate your patronage and loyalty to the Marriott Brand. As you might imagine, however, I was sorry for the frustration you experienced in requesting an upgrade. Obviously we would be happy to provide you with an upgrade whenever it is available. Feel free to contact our property directly and ask for the Rooms Controller or the Front Office Supervisor, and they can assist you. Or feel free to reach out to me directly in the Executive Offices. It is important that we regain your confidence, and we look forward to that opportunity in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Vinoy is our favorite place to stay in St. Petersburg. The property reflects old St. Pete charm and ambiance. The view of the sailboats anchored in the Vinoy basin, from the front porch rocking chairs, is enchanting. A glass of wine in hand and it's impossible to do anything but unwind.

This hotel is not for those seeking a beach experience but instead a relaxing resort experience. I would not recommend this resort for families with small children.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YogaRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Several friends had recommended the Renaissance Vinoy as THE place to stay in St. Petersburg and we are so glad they did. Our experience was perfect--from the greeting by the valets (dressed as a 1920s golfers) who parked our car to the young woman in the gift shop who offered to mail a letter for me at checkout time and everything in between. In fact, from the moment we walked up the steps to the huge veranda spanning the width of the hotel's front facade, we felt as if we were stepping back in time to a more gracious period, the only difference being this hotel offers all the modern amenities.

Our room was spacious and contained a very comfortable king bed from which we could watch the large flat screen TV or the gorgeous view of the harbor through the wall of windows. The bathroom was also large, modern, and equipped with a rain shower along with plenty of towels.

We enjoyed a glass of iced tea on the aforementioned veranda and later on, after a walk around the surrounding area which includes many shops, restaurants and museums, we relaxed there again with a pre-dinner glass of wine. We ate dinner in the main hotel dining room ( there are 4 from which to choose) and it was superb, especially considering that the chef needed to accommodate my husband's dietary requests. Service was flawless. Ditto for breakfast the next morning.

Because we could only stay one night, we didn't get a chance to try many of the hotel's other amenities--gorgeous pool, fitness facility, tennis courts, spa etc. This is a true resort, right in St. Petersburg. The single most outstanding feature of this hotel is the courteous attention to detail provided by the expertly-trained staff. We will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizajane47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We recently spent a weekend at the Renaissance Vinoy Resort - February 28 & March 1, 2014. It was amazing. The hotel has old, classic and classy charm, but has all the "modern" amenities. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms are spacious. The staff is very friendly and always helpful. The grounds are beautiful and the location is great. We parked the car on Friday and did not need it again until we left on Sunday. Some of the near by restaurants are also great. We walked everywhere - which is something we enjoy. Do not miss the pool or the outside bar. We look forward to going again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
0.8 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#8 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing