We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Upgrade at this Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Upgrade at this Hotel!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have been staying at Vinoy for some time now and have given them good reviews, however, now they are better than ever!! They upgraded and have wonderful outdoor seating .... comfortable chairs, nice bar outside and tv's. They have also upgraded the rooms -- FINALLY BIGGER AND BETTER TOWELS! This was my main complain about Vinoy, but not anymore! Thank you!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynncast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    460
    173
    56
    31
See reviews for
339
624
53
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with a wonderful view of the water. The rooms are comfortable and staff are friendly. The bar is always lively. Good restaurants in walking distance. I enjoy staying here and get to visit a couple of times a year.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doubledeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This lovely old hotel is in a perfect location in st Pete's and you can walk to many restaurants and venues plus the water front. The staff are very helpful and they do not cut any corners on the number of staff working. We had a fire alarm T 2.30am causing a full evacuation but at least it was warm outside and their were plenty of seating areas

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glynandsiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Hmm what can I say. Except where are the drawers for putting clothes in. The room was BIG but the closet was just that hangers, safe, and space. The T.V. was on a center piece and the only drawers were there. A lot of empty space. One thing that was a plus, the aqua fit classes Earl I think his name was AWESOME. loved, loved it. The bar was ok it just seemed a stuffy place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Beautifully renovated property in the perfect downtown location. My husband and I spent 3 nights here as part of the golf package. If you like museums, art galleries and side walk cafés, this is in the perfect location.
My husband is a cigar smoker so we asked yo switch rooms and have a balcony. No one told us we had to switch buildings, FYI, the tower building is a pain to get to. And even though we agreed to pay extra for a balcony! we didn't know we couldn't smoke there. As a matter of fact, we were scolded by security . If I hadn't already unpacked I would have asked for our original room back. I understand that some places choose to be non smoking, but why would we pay extra for a balcony if we can't even sit therein the evening and have a relaxing smoke?

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original building bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berdageorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hotel certainly with some history. Friendly bar and restaurant staff. Suggest upper floor in tower with balcony if available since there is a nice breeze... didn't want AC most of the day in October. Excellent tennis facility onsite. Good location for walking to downtown harbor, parks, and restaurants. Easy self-park. Excellent breakfast choices.

Room Tip: higher-floor in tower if you like Florida breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went to the Renaissance Vinoy for our anniversary trip and let me tell you it was just wonderful. Clinton at the front desk was so friendly and helpful, he provided some of the best customer service I have ever received. He remembered us and addressed us by name every time we walked through the lobby. This was pretty much on par for the rest of the staff. Both the bellman and the in room dining attendant addressed us by name and wished us a happy anniversary. The service in the restaurant was impeccable as was the food.

The resort itself was very close to the downtown St. Pete area. We were able to walk everywhere. We stayed for two nights and there was so much to do we almost didn't have time to fit everything in!

Its been a few months (4) since we stayed but I am still telling everyone how amazing this resort is. This is the only place I will stay from now on in St. Pete

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing