We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Attended a wedding there and stayed for two nights. The tea garden was a beautiful setting and the reception was great. The rooms are so comfortable. We had a very good time. The entire staff is exceptional. They are extremely attentive and go out of their way to make guests feel relaxed. It is top of the line service. The Vinoy is centrally located to downtown St. Pete and directly across from the Marina. I recommend the Sunday Brunch, it was delicious. Can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodlover326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review of the Vinoy and for sharing your experience in staying here. Isn't the Tea Garden the perfect spot for a wedding? I'm so glad that all went well and that you enjoyed your time here and hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,165 - 1,171 of 1,836 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Had a nice stay here during the GOP convention in August 2012.
Room was large, very clean, nice view, soft bedding, quiet. and updated.
Resort grounds were nice. I loved the lobby area and sitting area with all the rocking chairs.
Nice bars around the hotels, and the hotel restaurant was great -- though it was pretty expensive.
I remember the pool area being somewhat underwhelming, though I didn't use it (arrived on the tail end of a hurricane).
I'd stay there again if I came to St. Petersburg.
BTW, St. Pete's beach is WAY overrated. I went there to see one of the supposedly top 10 beaches in America and it just wasn't, sorry folks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superfluouschap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

It was great to read your review and that you mentioned the rooms being large, clean and with a nice view. We appreciate that. And of course, who doesn't love the rocking chairs on the veranda where you can people watch and see the beautiful surrounding scenery? Thank you for staying with us and sharing your opinions. Come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The driveway is short and belies the size of the hotel. The valets were quick on arrival and on departure. The hotel lobby is ornate in the style of a Henry Flagler hotel. The reception and registration was very efficient. All the employees we met in the hotel seemed to be happy with their work which makes for a pleasant stay. Our room was large and could have used another piece of furniture but for two of us it was fine. Our room was in a separate building from the main hotel which was not an inconvenience. The entire facility was clean and the services were first rate. We had a very enjoyable stay. We had a little problem finding the hotel but knew it was on the water which helped in us finding it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockhound94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Enjoyed reading your review and appreciated the positive comments. It was so nice to hear that our front office team was quick and responsive to your arrival and that you found the resort to be clean and well maintained. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Vinoy very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the place. Nice indoor and outdoor lounge areas, very attentive and helpful staff. I would recommend a room NOT on 3rd floor, directly above the outdoor bar/lounge with live music at night. We changed rooms after the first night was really noisy since we were over the bar/outdoor lounge. Staff was extremely helpful with the room change and gave us an even nicer room on 7th floor which had a better view too. Very classy place with great staff, perfect location on the water walking distance to downtown. Concierge was great with planning activities in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room on 7th floor! Room 347 was right by elevators and above bar/lounge and was too noisy at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grabthetab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. Our staff will certainly appreciate your kind words. We hope to welcome you back to the Vinoy in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was a points night, so they upgraded us to a top floor room. It was exceptional, high quality mattress, sheets, lovely view of the bay. The lobby is stunning, and the pool area is spacious and relaxing. The hotel is walking distance to the exciting night life in downtown St. Pete's. We would definitely try and stay here again if in the areas.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmarkiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We did not stay here but had drinks and took a your of the historic hotel. There are several dining and areas to have a drink. The lobby is especially lovely with a beautiful Chihuly exhibition in the center. The history of this hotel and the location make it a must see stop on the Downtown your. You can park your car in the underground parking and then walk through the hotel from there to get a great view if the waterfall from the pool!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontanaLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013


We had booked a five night 'special romance package' with the Vinoy which included valet parking. We arrived at 15.30 but were told the room wasn't ready until at least 16.00. We booked in and were given a drinks voucher for $25 which was unexpected and a nice gesture. The room was in the old building and overlooked the Bay. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The website does say this room type has twin vanities (sinks - UK) and doesn't have any communicating doors!! Room 549 had one sink and door! We had dinner in Marchants which was very good. The food was excellent. We would advise not booking this hotel at weekends because it's extremely busy with conferences, weddings, dinner etc. It was quite noisy until late!
Breakfast was included in our package. We ordered cereal and fruit and eggs etc . After a long wait it all arrived together!!! You have to say you want it course by course!! You have to be very patient at breakfast because service is so slow and frustrating!
Our package included a bottle of champagne. We decided to enjoy it on the veranda early one evening. It arrived with some melted chocolate and strawberries.The waiter opened the bottle and we enjoyed a couple of glasses. When my husband looked at the bottle it wasn't Champagne but Cava which was half the price!! When we mentioned this nothing was done. Eventually, when we were paying the bill, two days later, we mentioned it again and the gentleman on reception seemed surprised that we hadn't heard from anyone. He told us to leave it with him and by the time we returned to our room the phone was ringing. It was the restaurant manager and he was extremely apologetic about the mix-up. He knocked the $40 charge off our bill (the cheapest champagne was $80 ) and invited us to have lunch on the hotel. He came down and introduced himself while we were there.
Our room wasn't serviced on our last full day and when I went to the desk at 3pm the guy at reception told me that housekeeping were there until 5pm so not to worry!!!! That's not good enough!
There's piped music everywhere - no peace!
There is a good pool and excellent gym - both can get quite busy.
When the bill arrived it was incorrect. Watch the charges for Wifi. It's free in the lobby, garden and pool area.
All the staff from the car valet boys upwards were very good - thank you.
Would we stay again - I'm not sure. It was too much of a hassle.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Speges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#11 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Address: 501 5th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $231 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing