We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but had a few problems!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, Kent UK
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Good stay but had a few problems!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile


We had booked a five night 'special romance package' with the Vinoy which included valet parking. We arrived at 15.30 but were told the room wasn't ready until at least 16.00. We booked in and were given a drinks voucher for $25 which was unexpected and a nice gesture. The room was in the old building and overlooked the Bay. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The website does say this room type has twin vanities (sinks - UK) and doesn't have any communicating doors!! Room 549 had one sink and door! We had dinner in Marchants which was very good. The food was excellent. We would advise not booking this hotel at weekends because it's extremely busy with conferences, weddings, dinner etc. It was quite noisy until late!
Breakfast was included in our package. We ordered cereal and fruit and eggs etc . After a long wait it all arrived together!!! You have to say you want it course by course!! You have to be very patient at breakfast because service is so slow and frustrating!
Our package included a bottle of champagne. We decided to enjoy it on the veranda early one evening. It arrived with some melted chocolate and strawberries.The waiter opened the bottle and we enjoyed a couple of glasses. When my husband looked at the bottle it wasn't Champagne but Cava which was half the price!! When we mentioned this nothing was done. Eventually, when we were paying the bill, two days later, we mentioned it again and the gentleman on reception seemed surprised that we hadn't heard from anyone. He told us to leave it with him and by the time we returned to our room the phone was ringing. It was the restaurant manager and he was extremely apologetic about the mix-up. He knocked the $40 charge off our bill (the cheapest champagne was $80 ) and invited us to have lunch on the hotel. He came down and introduced himself while we were there.
Our room wasn't serviced on our last full day and when I went to the desk at 3pm the guy at reception told me that housekeeping were there until 5pm so not to worry!!!! That's not good enough!
There's piped music everywhere - no peace!
There is a good pool and excellent gym - both can get quite busy.
When the bill arrived it was incorrect. Watch the charges for Wifi. It's free in the lobby, garden and pool area.
All the staff from the car valet boys upwards were very good - thank you.
Would we stay again - I'm not sure. It was too much of a hassle.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Speges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    469
    177
    57
    34
See reviews for
348
638
55
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall,Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel for a FPC event...... The hotel is beautiful and we enjoyed all the restaurants and the service was top notch at all the restaurants ....we enjoyed lounging in the main lobby which had comfortable , beautifully decorated seating areas... Very cozy.....the marina facilities were excellent and so convenient right across the street......Things they need to improve, repair or replace are the elevators and the room card entry locks .... Both our room keys and my brother in laws room keys would were very hit and miss .... We had to do several attempts to get the door open .... The card locks need to be replaced

Room Tip: Rooms 430 and 436 had terrible view from the window ..... Ugly roof is all we saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travelsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I did not give this a 5, because the hotel is dry dated in the way of the rooms. The history of the place is awesome, but I think Marriott could afford to refurbish this historical treasure. Great restaurant near by, so don't waste your money in the hotel restaurants. Great wine in the area:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaylanhendricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed here for a few days in April. The hotel is quite charming, service is very good, as is the location and the gym is fantastic. The rooms are a bit old but seem to have been recently refurnished. There are two towers to the hotel - i have stayed in both. The older tower is more convenient to the lobby (a bit of a walk to the newer and more fancier tower.) One area of improvement would be the coffee shop - needs to have extended hours and better coffee (coffee is terrible - but there is a starbucks about 1/2 a mile away.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDO89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights last week during a conference. At first glane, the property is beautiful and in a great location within walking distance to some fantasitc places to eat along beach road.

We started off by pulling into valet..... and waiting for a valet.... finally what had to be the slowest unenthusiastic valet ever approached our car and asked if we were dropping off. We informed himwe were guest and he said the valte was full from the boat race and blues festival but that he would get us in because we were guest. Nevermind, we parked in the selfparking deck.

Checkin was good and quick. Elevators were a bit outdated and extra small. The elevator we road in even had a violation notice in it. Real comforting to notice!

We had drinks outside on the patio both night where there were plenty of rocking chairs to relax in. Drink service was real slow, they appeared to have several groups hanging outside those nights. Might of been ubderstaffed. The young lady we had on the first night (can't remember her name) seemed to be having a bad night or just needed some customer service training.

Rooms are nice, clean and comfortable.

When we left the parking garage after checking out, the cashier in the booth asked if we were guest and what room we were in. Then she had to look throughseveral sheets to find our name. no thank you, or one moment please.

Overall great location but service levels especialy in the outside bar and parking areas were less then expected for $200 per night.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drewPlantation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a beautiful, historic hotel. We originally had a king room with a bay view, balcony room. Loved the view but we prefer a suite. None were available with a bayview so we took one with a garden view. It was very spacious and served our needs well. If you go and want a suite, book early and get a bay view room with a balcony. As with any hotel of this caliber, they nickle-and-dime you but all hotels do that anymore, so expect it when you travel. Pros: lovely hotel, veranda with rocking chairs, great location, large swimming pool. Cons: Pricey, no refrigerator in the suite other than the mini-bar, suite in historic part of the bulding was large but not gorgeous.

Room Tip: Room 610--suite but only a garden view. Try to get bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful old hotel in a great location. It was perfect for the conference I attended and the staff was great! Especially the front desk and valet staff! Bar employees seemed a bit overwhelmed. Main ballroom is very classic and unique! We will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,574 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,584 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing