We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, needs some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Plantation
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, needs some TLC”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights last week during a conference. At first glane, the property is beautiful and in a great location within walking distance to some fantasitc places to eat along beach road.

We started off by pulling into valet..... and waiting for a valet.... finally what had to be the slowest unenthusiastic valet ever approached our car and asked if we were dropping off. We informed himwe were guest and he said the valte was full from the boat race and blues festival but that he would get us in because we were guest. Nevermind, we parked in the selfparking deck.

Checkin was good and quick. Elevators were a bit outdated and extra small. The elevator we road in even had a violation notice in it. Real comforting to notice!

We had drinks outside on the patio both night where there were plenty of rocking chairs to relax in. Drink service was real slow, they appeared to have several groups hanging outside those nights. Might of been ubderstaffed. The young lady we had on the first night (can't remember her name) seemed to be having a bad night or just needed some customer service training.

Rooms are nice, clean and comfortable.

When we left the parking garage after checking out, the cashier in the booth asked if we were guest and what room we were in. Then she had to look throughseveral sheets to find our name. no thank you, or one moment please.

Overall great location but service levels especialy in the outside bar and parking areas were less then expected for $200 per night.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drewPlantation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    465
    176
    56
    32
See reviews for
342
633
54
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a beautiful, historic hotel. We originally had a king room with a bay view, balcony room. Loved the view but we prefer a suite. None were available with a bayview so we took one with a garden view. It was very spacious and served our needs well. If you go and want a suite, book early and get a bay view room with a balcony. As with any hotel of this caliber, they nickle-and-dime you but all hotels do that anymore, so expect it when you travel. Pros: lovely hotel, veranda with rocking chairs, great location, large swimming pool. Cons: Pricey, no refrigerator in the suite other than the mini-bar, suite in historic part of the bulding was large but not gorgeous.

Room Tip: Room 610--suite but only a garden view. Try to get bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful old hotel in a great location. It was perfect for the conference I attended and the staff was great! Especially the front desk and valet staff! Bar employees seemed a bit overwhelmed. Main ballroom is very classic and unique! We will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

When Traveling to the Saint Petersburg area on Business or if a big golfer, then the Renaissance Vinoy Golf resort is definitely a must stay place! The timeless Historical hotel with its Mediterranean Revival design was the most impressive and expensive in the state of Florida when it opened in the 1920s and has had a long history. Today, almost 87 years later, the Vinoy has been remodeled but retains most of its charm in its location on Tampa Bay, just steps away from Downtown Saint Petersburg.

From the minute you walk into the oversized lobby, one is greeted with grand chandeliers, the original pecky cypress beams have been restored, marble floors and every aspect of the lobby has been redone or refurbished keeping its original grandeur but still attracting today’s modern travelers. The hotel has 2 outdoors pools, a large tennis club with a number of golf courses, a 74 slip marina, a 18-hole golf course, a spa, and a number of restaurants and bar offering fine dining or casual, offering something for everyone.



I had the opportunity to stay in both the classic rooms at the Vinoy located in the original building and on my second stay, I was upgraded to a larger room in the new guest tower. The guest rooms in the original tower are fairly larger in size and are very comfortable. My room had a large king bed, a dresser, a desk and flat screen tv, along with a chair for relaxing. My room overlooked the marina and downtown offering great views day and night. The room was completed with a coffee pot, the standard Renaissance bathrobes, and a minibar.



My second stay at the Vinoy, I was upgraded to larger room with two queen beds and a balcony in the guest tower. This was great because I was traveling with a friend and we both had room to stretch out. This room is by far one of the nicest rooms at the Vinoy and the staff knows it and is happy to share their opinions with you! The room is extremely large for a hotel room and although is just one large grand room, it offers a separate space that functions as a living area that is completed with a large desk, sofa, chair and entertainment center. This room also offers a mini bar area with a mini fridge and separate sink. Despite the size of the room, the true highlight is the view from the two balconies. From one Balcony, A southern view reveals Tampa Bay and the Vinoy Marina is visible and from the second balcony facing north, Downtown Tampa is visible over the bay, tennis players down below on one of the many Vinoy tennis courts, and a sea of green of trees camouflage the old northeast neighborhood of St. Petersburg.



The Vinoy does not have a concierge level or lounge, which is slightly disappointing for a resort of this size. Nonetheless, the Vinoy instead offers Gold Elite a $10 breakfast credit each morning at the hotel’s restaurant and I believe $15 for Platinum Elite. This did not cover the cost of a single item on the menu (I’m Gold Elite), but it did make breakfast less than $5 with a tip each morning, which in my opinion is more than reasonable for a sit down full service restaurant.



Although I did not get to enjoy the golf course or the tennis courts, I did explore them after work each day and they appeared to be of high quality. But let’s be honest, I don’t play either sport so who am I to judge? The Marina was ½ empty and the pool was large and I never saw more than 10 people lounging around it. This provided plenty of room to spread out, sun bath, and relax at the pool while overlooking the city and the bay. I personally did not visit the Spa, but my friend who did said it was well kept and of high quality and she was very satisfied with her Spa mani/pedi.



All in all, the Vinoy Resort is a great place to when away from home. If on vacation to play golf, play tennis, or just looking for a place to relax, then the Vinoy is a great place to spend a few days. The rooms are of good size and quality and the staff are all top notch! Not to mention, the resort is walking distance to almost everything St. Petersburg has to offer making the location superb! This bright pink historic hotel is a must see. Even if not staying in St. Peterburg, I’d highly recommend just stopping by the Vinoy, having a drink at one of its bar and checking out its lobby. The Vinoy is a sight not to miss.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoubleWidesFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at the Vinoy last week and it was positively wonderful! The resort is immaculate, everyone from the front desk, service staff to concierge, were very friendly and helpful! Loved all the history behind this resort. I took the tour and found it very interesting. However, I had read about the resort on their website and much of what was said on the tour, was on the website. The resort historian was very nice and knowledgeable. The front veranda was so relaxing. Coffee shop had great coffee AND pastries. Great location to many (pricey) restaurants. Great place to take walks. Drove to St Pete Beach which was very nice. Rented kayak from Sail Honeymoon Rentals in Dunedin and kayaked (about 20 mins each way) over to Caldesi Island. Very cool!! Like I said, beautiful 3 days!

Room Tip: We stayed with Marriott Reward points. We asked to be upgraded to a high room with a balcony and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Like new inside old place-- very upscale. Plush clean rooms, with some of the best service I have ever had. Employees are apparently well trained on how to make guests feel welcome. Walking distance to the Pier and the Vinoy park..great location. $14/ day to park seemed high....

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeGnsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Loved the live music they had playing in the lobby in the evening. We had a room in the tower overlooking the water, it was definitely worth getting a balcony to enjoy the beautiful Florida weather. Huge rooms too. It was very easy to walk to all the good restaurants St. Pete has to offer. Also even with it being a cooler day, the pool area is in a spot that the wind is blocked so it was still warm enough to lay out and swim.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaTravelingFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,523 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,556 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#5 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing