We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great girlfriend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great girlfriend getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I met a girlfriend for the weekend to relax. We had a spa package. The spa is currently being renovated which was not really a big deal to us. We didn't mind being moved around a little. Massage from Paul was awesome. Pedicure was great. Can't wait to go back when spa is finished. Hotel absolutely beautiful. Sunday brunch was amazing. Pool was nice. Lunch at pool way over priced. Very short walking distance to quaint town with endless amounts of bars and restaurants. Drinks at Tryst. Dinner at Ceviches, excellent. Walk to the pier for drinks at Cha Cha Coconuts. The only complaint I have is the best are too firm for my taste. Other than that I look forward to staying here again. Close to Tropicana Field.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendi1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    452
    167
    54
    30
See reviews for
335
612
51
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This renovated historic gem in downtown St. Petersburg is by far and away the best local choice. Frankly, if you have to stay in the Tampa Bay area, why would you stay in Tampa when this place is just across the bay?

Great restaurants, golf course is challenging, but well kept, clean...but the service sets this hotel apart from the other local options.

Room Tip: get a room in the new tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaJayBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel grounds and lobby are beautiful. As for the rooms, it depends where you're staying. If you are in the original portion of the hotel the rooms are pretty small and without a balcony. The elevator holds no more than four people and is pretty slow. The bed was very comfortable and the decor was nice but that's really all there is to it.
We booked the room on Priceline (paid 250.00) and it included breakfast for two in their main restaurant. The Vinoy is the only four-star hotel in downtown St Pete so if you use "name your price" and pick 4 stars then you're guaranteed to get it.

We ate at the pool bar for lunch and had the best nachos I've ever eaten. For dinner I had the grouper sandwich and my husband had the club. I do not recommend the grouper sandwich ($18) but the club was delicious and huge.

For breakfast, which was included, we were able to pick as many choices as we wanted off the menu. Everything was delicious. My husband had the lobster and hash potatoes, the fruit plate was delicious and I had the vanilla waffles.
Our server Tony was probably the best server I've ever encountered. It definitely was a breakfast to remember! And that means a lot coming for me since I don't usually like a big breakfast.

The pool is quite fun and it has a big waterfall., It was nicely heated as well.

All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktoriatedrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

A great place to relax, never the pressure or confinement one might expect in a stuffier establishment of equal value. Staff were helpful and it felt like there is always just the right spot to settle in and relax. Variety of food and venue makes the Vinoy a wonderful place to get away from the hustle and bustle and yet, if you are ready to plunge into the night life, it's right outside the door.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highstreet_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This historic hotel located on the waterfront in St. Petersburg is lovely with an excellent helpful staff. You have a choice of rooms. There are some in the old building and some in the newly built "towers", your choice. Our room overlooked the waterfront and pool, very nice. The floor plan is a little zig zag but we found that the self park was actually located under our room, very easy to manage. The hotel itself has vaulted ceilings and has recently been re decorated. My only complaint is the double tipping when you drive up. You tip the guy who unloads the luggage, he turns the luggage over to the bellman that you need to tip again. Bit heavy on the tipping. The hotel is located 1/2 block from the Chiluly exhibit, worth the whole trip. Golf and Tennis also available.

Room Tip: We found the whole hotel quiet, question is do you want modern or historic room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judylaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent 2 days at this pretty hotel for a conference. A really nice place, but for that amount of money for a room, you would think they could include internet access without a $15/day charge. Same goes for parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marigolde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in Feb. Large room, Beautiful view from our room of the bay. Beds were very comfortable. Could not ask for better service. Only negative is there is no frig. in the room. For the price of the room per night I did expect a frig. Absolutely Gorgeous old hotel with Wonderful history. Would for sure stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TayTay18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing